We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Solid Choice if a bit cramped” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Solid Choice if a bit cramped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The rooms here are solid and clean. The beds are pretty comfortable and the front desk staff is very nice. Rooms include a tiny fridge and a microwave. The hotel feels very cramped though. The breakfast station is way too small and while there is a seating area its a bit awkward how the whole thing is set up. The hotel doesn't have any snacks for sale but it is right next to a gas station. The gas station closes at midnight but it has a good amount of stuff. The location for the hotel is right along the highway and it is near whatever stores you probably want to hit in the brainerd area. If I had to stop in Brainerd I would stay here again though I think I would prefer not to stop in Brainerd if I don't have too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bittco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    71
    23
    17
    4
See reviews for
101
56
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We did a quick overnight stay in Baxter at the Country Inn & Suites. The facility if very easy to find, good parking and friendly front staff. The facility appeared clean however the room had a musty, lake cabin type odor and suspect it to be the carpet which appeared to be long overdue for replacement. The pool was relatively small but warm so very comfortable. The breakfast serving area was neat with the normal assortment of cereals, muffins, waffles and hot country style biscuits and gravy. The breakfast seating area was small but adequate. There is no elevator and we were on the second floor which precluded us from using the luggage cart. Would have been nice to have an elevator. Overall the facility was average, clean, welcoming and a fair price.

Room Tip: Starbucks right across the road was a welcome site even with the complimentary breakfast at the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Spent New Years Eve here, and had a very nice stay. The person at the desk when we checked in was very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, and they were quick to get us some non-feather pillows to deal with my allergies (had forgotten to request those before hand). Breakfast in the morning was good--a bit beyond the usual waffles and cereal. Overall, I would definitely recommend this location with no reservations.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonofAslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Ansgar,IA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay it was great! No problems.

The only thing is the computer in the lobby is only for 16 year olds only.

Room Tip: The rooms were nice and they have a shelf of books for kids to read if they get bored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoteladviser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We didn't have a definite destination that night, and stopped off in Baxter. We chose them because they were across the highway from a restaurant we had beeen recommended. The room was good, recommendation for dinner was for the same restaurant and excellent, and the pool and spa were fine. We had accumulated an extra suitcase (no wheels) with 60# of family heirlooms along the trip and needed to box them up to ship home rather than pack them the rest of the time. The staff went above and beyond, getting me extra newspapers to wrap things in, asking if I needed tape or anything, and then taking care of the suitcase and the extra stuff in our room. When I checked out it was like family saying goodbyes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
1.4 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
2.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Days Inn & Suites Baxter Brainerd Area
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
10.0 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Address: 15058 Dellwood Drive North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price range (per night): RM474 - RM634
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baxter
Baxter Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing