We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"only 51 weeks until we return"”
Review of Fair Hills Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Detroit Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fair Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
OK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"only 51 weeks until we return"”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Every week when we leave, our kids say "it is only 51 weeks until we get to come back!" We drive 15 hours to Minnesota. If you want a place where the second you cross the entry arch, your world slows down, and it's all about your family, relaxation, and doing as much or as little as you want to do. You can read a book or go windsurf. Easy golf or challenging golf. In our group, we have an oil man, lawyer, ER doc, dermatologist, dentist, CPA - all love it and find it is the best vacation ever. I have been for 23 of my 31 years, and my husband of 9 years has been there 7! The scheduled activities for kids gives us a great break to relax! We love Fair Hills and the quaint, easy-going, no make-up, fun time we have each summer.

Room Tip: A cabin is a cabin - if our kids didn't nap, we wouldn't ever be in our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windom, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Fair Hills is a very friendly, relaxing getaway with lots of things to do...even if all you want to do is sit in a deck chair and watch the water! We spent just a weekend, but it was so nice and peacefull! The staff is very friendly and accomodating, the food is wonderfull and the view is soothing. We were there as part of a business meeting weekend and the facilities were great for anything we needed. I would love to go back and take my family!

Room Tip: The cabins close to the water have great views and seem a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfb77hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Fair Hills is a very family friendly resort. Many activities through out the day and evening to keep everyone busy. The grass tennis courts,lake activities,games,golf, pool, hot tub you name it ~~ it's all there for you to keep your days active. It is a older camp, for the younger generation it is not wired but you can get on @ the lodge. No TV etc. just a cabin and lots of fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My wife and I have returned to Fair Hills every year since 1984 only missing a couple years due to work. Fair Hills is Summer Camp for the whole family and you are made to feel like family, especially upon your return. You may partake of anything "Summery," whether paddle boating, swimming, canoeing, fishing, sailing, power-boating, water-skiing, golf (on their 9-hole Executive course or across the street at Wildflower - championship prarie course). Or you may just relax with a good book and swing in a hammock.

By the way, my wife and I have lived in Virginia all this time, so it is a bit of a trek for us to get there, but it's always worth the trip.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FHVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

I have been going to Fair Hills since I was a kid. I love everything about this resort. This place is something that I am going to take my own kids to someday. The place is very well managed. The staff is the some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. There are plenty of activities on site and the pool area is great. The individual cabins are very clean. When you book your cabin you have the option of cooking your own meals or having them prepared for you in a dining hall. I would recommend getting a cabin for you to make your own meals. It definitely makes the price of your vacation more affordable. Also visit the pizza restaurant Zorbas which is about 10 minutes away! Wow, good Nachos!

Try Fair Hills once, and you will have memories to last a lifetime!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
Thank EvanBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
16.7 km away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
16.5 km away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
212 reviews
16.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#7 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
23 reviews
31.3 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
35.3 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Hills Resort

Property: Fair Hills Resort
Address: 24270 County Highway 20, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-9411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit Lakes
Price range (per night): RM326 - RM730
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Fair Hills Hotel Detroit Lakes
Fair Hills Resort Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing