We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
18
11
7
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
11
7
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I was so disappointed in this place. We rented Cabin 2 for 2 nights. While the view of the lake was nice and the location good, the paint was peeling off the walls, we had to wait 5 minutes between toilet flushes, and the stovetop was completely rusty. The coffeemaker had a used filter with coffee grounds still in it. The sheets were piled - not comfortable to lay my head on pillow. So disappointed to pay $139 a night - maybe worth $50. I am not high maintenance, but this cabin was not in renting shape. One of the stars I am giving is for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a great location, and what lovely property, dotted with tall pines, right across from Lake Superior. But the cabin we stayed in--No. 11--was like an abandoned house. It smelled moldy and mildwey. The knob fell off the bathroom door. The refrigerator was so loud we had to unplug it so that we could sleep. The carpeting was filthy. The wallpaper was water stained and dirt. We are not picky people, but this place was beyond the pale. We had paid in advance for two nights but left after the first night to stay somewhere else.

I think it was telling that on a July evening we were the ONLY people there. All up and down the Shore, places were full. But we were the only ones staying at the Gardenwood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaurieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We rented a cabin for 3 nights while we were in town to run Grandma's Marathon. The cabin was perfect complete with a nice kitchen, bathroom, table/chairs, and a comfortable bed. Additionally, we found the hospitality provided by the owners to be outstanding. They even held a BBQ after the race to celebrate the day. If you enjoy a comfortable cabin, bon fires, views of Lake Superior, and great hospitality then the Gardenwood Resort may be what you are looking for in Duluth.

Room Tip: We had cabin #10 which had its own fire ring and enough privacy to give us some space. The only catch was the dirt road leading up to the cabin which was rather muddy after the rains of June. 2012 was a record breaking year for the month of June in terms of precipitation so I don't imagine this will be a problem under normal circumstances.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The gardenwood was a nice place to get away, there were families there and couples and everyone seemed to be there for the same reason a decent place to stay for a decent price with that north shore "woodsy" feeling. The cabins are cozy a little dated, but it really didn't matter to us because we weren't looking for fancy....

The owners were awesome and very friendly, the community fire pit was a nice place to hang out and you can't beat the location.

We can't wait to go back! If you want fancy, this isn't your place if you want fun, cozy, and quaint than this is for you. We loved it here and can't say enough about the good times we had!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherzinminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here back in October. The place has a nice location and the owners are also very nice people. The cabins are old and are not very well kept. There was a hole in our ceiling, mold in places, furniture was out of date, took a while to get warm water, etc. Also I am 6 foot and an inch, I had to duck down in the bathroom so I wouldn't hit fixtures. It's a very nice place if the cabins were nicer... if you need a place to stay for a night as just yourself or a couple, I'd stay here, but not for more then a night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews