We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
18
11
7
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
11
7
6
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We came to Gardenwood for a mini family reunion. There were 10 people and 5 dogs. This was one of the few places that would allow pets. The cabins were tiny and needed some updating, but they were cozy and clean. This was the second year we went up there and enjoyed it just as much this year as last.

We spent most of the time around the campfire and exploring the area, so did not mind the smallness of the cabins. It would be nice if they would do a few updating items - fixing the wallpaper that's coming off the walls, making the floors level, replacing carpet in some, but overall we had no major complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

According to the locals, his little resort is under renovation. Our stay in tiny (approx 12 x 14) Cabin 14 was as we expected. Cabin was tiny, warm and clean. We stayed with our dogs and enjoyed it. We could have selected a more expensive place to stay, but this suited us just fine. near the lake, near Duluth, nice for the dogs and warm during the cold evening and night. Tiny and dated- yes. Convenient and clean- yes. Not overpriced for the region. Yes, renovation will help, but it was as advertised- a small family resort with the flavor of the early development of Highway 61.

Room Tip: Tiny cabins are truly tiny. Go for a one bedroom.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisswatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The staff at this resort was very helpful. We had issues with the fridge and the cabin heater in cabin #11 but the staff got over there immediately to give us a back up fridge and got the heater working. The only complaint was that the futon in this cabin smelled moldy and disgusting and had stains on it. The extra bedding they had also smelled very bad and was covered in stains. Would recommend they update their furniture. Otherwise the stay was great, great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I was so disappointed in this place. We rented Cabin 2 for 2 nights. While the view of the lake was nice and the location good, the paint was peeling off the walls, we had to wait 5 minutes between toilet flushes, and the stovetop was completely rusty. The coffeemaker had a used filter with coffee grounds still in it. The sheets were piled - not comfortable to lay my head on pillow. So disappointed to pay $139 a night - maybe worth $50. I am not high maintenance, but this cabin was not in renting shape. One of the stars I am giving is for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a great location, and what lovely property, dotted with tall pines, right across from Lake Superior. But the cabin we stayed in--No. 11--was like an abandoned house. It smelled moldy and mildwey. The knob fell off the bathroom door. The refrigerator was so loud we had to unplug it so that we could sleep. The carpeting was filthy. The wallpaper was water stained and dirt. We are not picky people, but this place was beyond the pale. We had paid in advance for two nights but left after the first night to stay somewhere else.

I think it was telling that on a July evening we were the ONLY people there. All up and down the Shore, places were full. But we were the only ones staying at the Gardenwood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaurieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews