We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic North Shore Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardenwood Resort and Motel
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Quaint cabins just like "back in the day!" Our Daughters gave the playground two thumbs up! The friendly host even made sure our coffee was ready before we woke! We set out to show our girls the simple joys of nature and an unplugged life! Gardenwood was
perfect!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Klzinken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We came to Gardenwood for a mini family reunion. There were 10 people and 5 dogs. This was one of the few places that would allow pets. The cabins were tiny and needed some updating, but they were cozy and clean. This was the second year we went up there and enjoyed it just as much this year as last.

We spent most of the time around the campfire and exploring the area, so did not mind the smallness of the cabins. It would be nice if they would do a few updating items - fixing the wallpaper that's coming off the walls, making the floors level, replacing carpet in some, but overall we had no major complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

According to the locals, his little resort is under renovation. Our stay in tiny (approx 12 x 14) Cabin 14 was as we expected. Cabin was tiny, warm and clean. We stayed with our dogs and enjoyed it. We could have selected a more expensive place to stay, but this suited us just fine. near the lake, near Duluth, nice for the dogs and warm during the cold evening and night. Tiny and dated- yes. Convenient and clean- yes. Not overpriced for the region. Yes, renovation will help, but it was as advertised- a small family resort with the flavor of the early development of Highway 61.

Room Tip: Tiny cabins are truly tiny. Go for a one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisswatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The staff at this resort was very helpful. We had issues with the fridge and the cabin heater in cabin #11 but the staff got over there immediately to give us a back up fridge and got the heater working. The only complaint was that the futon in this cabin smelled moldy and disgusting and had stains on it. The extra bedding they had also smelled very bad and was covered in stains. Would recommend they update their furniture. Otherwise the stay was great, great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I was so disappointed in this place. We rented Cabin 2 for 2 nights. While the view of the lake was nice and the location good, the paint was peeling off the walls, we had to wait 5 minutes between toilet flushes, and the stovetop was completely rusty. The coffeemaker had a used filter with coffee grounds still in it. The sheets were piled - not comfortable to lay my head on pillow. So disappointed to pay $139 a night - maybe worth $50. I am not high maintenance, but this cabin was not in renting shape. One of the stars I am giving is for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
17 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
16.9 km away
The Inn on Lake Superior
16.8 km away
Canal Park Lodge
Canal Park Lodge
#11 of 31 in Duluth
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
17.5 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
17.7 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenwood Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenwood Resort and Motel

Address: 5107 N Shore Dr, Duluth, MN 55804-2924
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Duluth
Price Range: RM313 - RM669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gardenwood Resort & Motel is located 10 miles from Downtown Duluth, MN on the Scenic North Shore Drive. Our comfortable resort accommodations include 13 cabins and a 4-room motel settled into the woods next door to the McQuade Small Craft Harbor on Lake Superior. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing