We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$209
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
18
11
7
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
11
7
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Needed a small cabin, close to Lake Superior. Gardenwood nailed it. A nice little rustic cabin with a microwave, fridge, shower...even DirecTV. Clean, comfortable, convenient, and a great rate. Will definitely look to return here next trip to the North Shore!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here from July 17-22nd for our honeymoon, with our dog. We chose a cabin with a kitchenette, which came in really handy for our cooking needs. The bed was comfortable and we had access to on demand tv if we wanted it. The resort lost power Wednesday night during a huge storm. Staff were accommodating and brought ice and cold packs into our cabin to keep our food cold. Thank you Pam! We were close enough to town that we were able to do a lot of fun activities, but far enough away to have some privacy as well. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

First lets start with the best parts. Keep in mind you are going for a cabin rental. It was an awesome spot right on Superior and a good starting point for venturing the north shore. We didn't know that we were gonna be right on the McQuade marina which was a great bonus. We could walk down and boat watch, shipwatch, walk out the breakwalls, etc. Its just close enough to Two Harbors & Duluth for whatever needs ya have. One bed was a little used up but the other was like new. It gets a little warm inside during the day kinda like a car in the sun and the AC didn't keep up but other than that it was comfy and the heater had to be used at night cuz afterall, its the north shore and it a cabin. The WiFi was kinda weak and worse during daytime for some reason. We rented a pets okay cabin and I was happy it didn't have that pet smell that a ton of pet rooms have. The office isn't consistently staffed but the staff is always available from the lobby phone,, once again, this is a cabin rental, not the regular hotel. There's a few simple things that could be better kept but overall I'd go back !!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Quentin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I've stayed in "rustic" cabins before but Gardenwood is well beyond rustic. We were in cabin 7 and it was falling apart, complete with rusty nails. The bed was in terrible condition and neither of us got any sleep.

We were booked for 3 nights but left after 1.

Room Tip: Cabin 7 has a view of the public restrooms in the parking lot next door. They're only about 20 feet away!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stopped here for the night to break up the drive from the Twin Cities to Grand Marais. Easy to reserve, easy to find, and perfectly serviceable spot to lay our heads. We weren't looking for fancy, just serviceable, and that's what we got.

The cabin included a small refrigerator and microwave, tv, two beds and a bathroom. There was a picnic table and fire pit just outside the door. Everything was clean and tidy. We took a walk through the McQuade Small Craft Harbor across the highway. It was nice to be so close to the Lake.

Our hosts offered fresh coffee in the office in the morning. We filled our cups and were on our way plenty early, with only two hours more to drive.

Room Tip: Cabin #1 was right next to Highway 61. Great view of the Lake, but also close to traffic, which quieted as the sun went down.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews