We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean accommodations with a view of Lake Superior.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Gitche Gumee
Ranked #7 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We had planned to stay somewhere else, but the Inn on Gitche Gumee caught our eye as we drove past. We made a U-turn to check it out. The innkeeper, Julie, was friendly and accommodating, even though we came without reservations two days before Thanksgiving! We decided to stay as soon as we saw the room - the Wolves' Den. It was very clean and creatively decorated with a beautiful view of Lake Superior from our window and a warm fireplace by the couch. The price was reasonable and included a tasty breakfast brought to our room. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

I knew this was going to be a nice room or at least I hoped so. It was above & beyond what I expected. If you like many extra touches & a place that goes above and beyond what is nomally expected this is your place. Very unique, very clean, I am an innkeeper so I look for it. This place is cleaned well. Comfortable bed but the sheets were scratchy. I told her about it so they should be in the rag bag now. These are very friendly people with much pride in their place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyLakeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Completely NOT as advertised. Not as pictured on the website. The grounds were littered with trash and old cars. Room and bedding smelled and we were practically sick from the smell of mold. Broken doors, windows and screens. Free morning instant coffee by the man-made "waterfall" that only worked part of the time sat there all day and overnight. I had hoped for more and we were HUGELY disappointed. Enjoyed the wi-fi and DirectTV but that is all. We will not be staying there ever again. Beware!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccullough727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We were planing to stay near Duluth but not proper in the city ...away from crowd but right on shore....this place was just PERFECT for us.... couple of miles from Duluth...right on the Lake Superior ... accross the street ..beach to play/walk in the shallow clean water, slow tides gave peace of mind. Remarkable stay due to kind/helpfull staff. Suite was cozy, authentic decor, lake view and had a kitchen in it with all neat and niches of simple cooking...plus small dining place. Front deck and flowers arrangement is a beautiful. place, would be peferct for family reunion, small gatherings , parties....Our stay was more than worth to price we paid. Will visit again in summer....thanks

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalita_morey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed with extended family for the weekend. This quiet little haven overlooks lake Superior and part of the Duluth shipyards. We were impressed with the quality of the bedding and that we had a fridge and microwave in the room. The decor was amazing, with actual trees for the 4 corner bed posts, closet racks, and curtain rods! The front of the Inn is an open area where you can have a bonfire, or just sit in front of the nice fountain and look at the scenery. Very friendly hosts, puts this on my list of places to return to, when i'm back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billyp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
29.3 km away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
448 reviews
15.5 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
523 reviews
15.0 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
15.3 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
26.3 km away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Gitche Gumee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Gitche Gumee

Address: 8517 Congdon Blvd, Duluth, MN 55804-2745
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inn On Gitche Gumee Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing