We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn on Gitche Gumee
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Duluth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
30
16
4
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
16
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorelake superiorshort drivebed and breakfastbirchmitchsuitefurnishingskitchenettewinter
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I knew this was going to be a nice room or at least I hoped so. It was above & beyond what I expected. If you like many extra touches & a place that goes above and beyond what is nomally expected this is your place. Very unique, very clean, I am an innkeeper so I look for it. This place is cleaned well. Comfortable bed but the sheets were scratchy. I told her about it so they should be in the rag bag now. These are very friendly people with much pride in their place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyLakeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Completely NOT as advertised. Not as pictured on the website. The grounds were littered with trash and old cars. Room and bedding smelled and we were practically sick from the smell of mold. Broken doors, windows and screens. Free morning instant coffee by the man-made "waterfall" that only worked part of the time sat there all day and overnight. I had hoped for more and we were HUGELY disappointed. Enjoyed the wi-fi and DirectTV but that is all. We will not be staying there ever again. Beware!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccullough727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We were planing to stay near Duluth but not proper in the city ...away from crowd but right on shore....this place was just PERFECT for us.... couple of miles from Duluth...right on the Lake Superior ... accross the street ..beach to play/walk in the shallow clean water, slow tides gave peace of mind. Remarkable stay due to kind/helpfull staff. Suite was cozy, authentic decor, lake view and had a kitchen in it with all neat and niches of simple cooking...plus small dining place. Front deck and flowers arrangement is a beautiful. place, would be peferct for family reunion, small gatherings , parties....Our stay was more than worth to price we paid. Will visit again in summer....thanks

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalita_morey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed with extended family for the weekend. This quiet little haven overlooks lake Superior and part of the Duluth shipyards. We were impressed with the quality of the bedding and that we had a fridge and microwave in the room. The decor was amazing, with actual trees for the 4 corner bed posts, closet racks, and curtain rods! The front of the Inn is an open area where you can have a bonfire, or just sit in front of the nice fountain and look at the scenery. Very friendly hosts, puts this on my list of places to return to, when i'm back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billyp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We were part of a 6 couple booking. We arrived and everything was perfect. The rooms were great , The owners were very accomadating and helpful. The outdoor area was perfect for our large group, great chairs, tables, and grills as we made a couple of dinners ourselves. Everyone agreed that we will be back. All in all it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dwjMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews