We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic lodge with alll the comforts”
Review of Grand Ely Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Ely Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We loved this hotel, and will be back again for sure. This was our first visit to Ely, and we weren't sure where to stay. This hotel has the lodge feel, yet it has all of the amenities of a nice hotel: Good restaurant, large, comfortable rooms, activities such as campfire and marshmallow roast in the summer, excellent pool, whirlpool and kids' pool, fidges, microwaves and real coffeemakers in your room, comfy lobby, nice little gift shop, great wifi (which isn't easy to come by n Ely), free popcorn in the bar, and best of all, the sound of loons out your window.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is perfect (it's actually the main floor). Choose a water view rather than the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pw1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie K, Front Desk Supervisor at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear pw1986,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We really appreciate it.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could hear the loons out your window. It is a beautiful sound here in the north woods.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit with us.

Have a grand day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

This is our 5th stay at the Grand Ely Lodge. We love it here!
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The shower is hot and has awesome water pressure! Yes, the rooms are slightly dated and may need a few paint and other touch ups, but you will not find a nicer place to stay in Ely!
Breakfast in the restaurant is always good and convenient. We have not eaten dinner, but it is always busy. Along with the bar.
This visit we paid to rent a pontoon. We walked down to the marina and walked on the boat. Everything was set for us.
We always take advantage of the free kayaks and other water items at the marina as well. There is a campfire every night with marshmallows too. This year there is a "resort fee" for those amenities. I guess I am ok with it.
The view from the lakeside is beautiful. Especially at sunset. There is easy access to a hiking trail around a lake created from an old mine pit that is across the street. It's paved and is 4 miles in length.
The pool is fun for kids. There is a small hot tub and a small kiddy pool. There is also a room on the third floor called the Bear Den. It has tables, chairs, couches, a TV, and a ping pong table. It's a great space for days when you get rained out!
We are definitely looking forward to our next stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank kimberlystamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie K, Front Desk Supervisor at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear kimberlystamps,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your comments.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found time to use all of the amenities that are available. We do have some major renovations planned for this fall and hope that on your next visit that you will also enjoy the upgrades even more.

We are also glad that have frequented our lodge and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to our area.

Have a grand day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We have stayed at this hotel just about every year, at least once a year, for over 20 years. We have always enjoyed our stay. The rustic north woods style hotel, while starting to show it's age, still offers clean and comfortable rooms, a full service restaurant that serves consistently good food at moderate prices. The staff is always genuine, friendly and helpful. Of course there is the ubiquitous hotel wi-fi, an indoor pool, and various watercraft available, some for rent, down the hill at the lake.

During our last stay, a couple weeks ago, however, we were very disappointed to see the hotel now charges a 10% "resort fee" on-top of the usual room rates and taxes. To be fair, the desk manager refunded the fee to us this stay as we were not told about the resort fee at booking. Management says the resort fee covers the cost of "free wifi, free use of small watercraft, indoor pool, hot tub, sauna." Incidentally, most of these services have always been included in the base room rate and seemed to help justify the already high room prices. Regardless, a "resort fee" is essentially a second room charge often not reflected in the booking price designed to increase top line revenue and profit. I might expect such fees on Maui but not in quaint end-of-the road Ely, MN.

Room Tip: Lake side offers nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Northwoods1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We recently stayed at Grand Ely Lodge with our 3 kids and our dog. We had a wonderful experience at the resort. It's in a great location, right on a beautiful lake and close to town. The staff was extremely kind and welcoming when we arrived. They were more than helpful and accommodating the entire time that we were there. We ate a few times right at the restaurant in the lodge and the food was great! Overall, we had a great time and would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie K, Front Desk Supervisor at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Tricia,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to submit your comments. We appreciate your business.

We are very happy that you had a wonderful experience and that the staff was helpful and accommodating. It is also nice to hear that you had great food while dining here as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to our area.

Have a grand day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Very nice and clean and great staff and the FOOD is great !! I come back every summer, and in fall to see the colors, and winter for winter activities, good for family or couples or even by my self for business to just relax and enjoy the great atmosphere!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rickpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Z, General Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you SO much for your great review! We love hearing from our guests, and especially the wonderful time they have at Grand Ely Lodge and Ely!
We look forward to your return stay as well!
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
9.5 km away
Moose Track Adventures
1.4 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
190 reviews
1.4 km away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#29 of 34 in Ely
108 reviews
1.2 km away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#3 of 3 in Ely
52 reviews
38.4 km away
Northern Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ely Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ely Lodge

Address: 400 N Pioneer Rd, Ely, MN 55731
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: RM700 - RM845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ely Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Ely Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ely Hotel Ely
Grand Ely Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing