We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates
Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Vessel sink from local potter Lu Ommen expertly placed in Amish cabinetry
The perfect anniversary getaway
Homemade bread, Amish eggs, coffee, tea, etc provide breakfast when YOU want it
Sheets, towels and yukata (Japanese bathrobes) are lined dried  on site, most seasons
About us, after teaching for 25 years in Japan we are enjoying sharing our love of Japanese culture
Japanese farmhouse style cabinets made by the Amish master Mr. Yutze of Granger MN
Yes, we have cable television and wifi but also a fireplace  and jigsaw puzzles.
Japanese antique chest and Chinese style chair with
Only 5 minutes from Harmony/Root River Bike Trail, the Loft has an interior and exterior entrance.
The wild flowers are beautiful this year, saw two monarch butterflies in August.
Along the bike trail, stop to see the sinkhole exhibit provided by the Harmony Historical Society
Asahi Beer glasses found at the flea markets in Tokyo will hold your favorite beverage.
Your view from your private deck complete with new Sunsetter awning.
@Hegel photographer overhead view of hibachi
If you see our chortan (pile of rocks) you are at our driveway. Welcome!
Newly opened business Weddings at Asahi.
Repairing shoji doors and window covering
Large closet hidden by shoji doors.
Winter season is also popular with our guests. Doug loves to blow snow  from the driveway.
We have a great connection for cross country ski and snow shoe rental
Although the summer flowers are gone, on a sunny day you can enjoy relaxing in sunshine
Sections of the bike trail only need a small amount of snow to be enjoyed.
We have hosted honeymoons and many anniversary celebrations but Rosie and Vern 'take the cake' 64 yr
New sign marking the interior entrance to the Asahi Loft.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harmony, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tina R
Liberia, Costa Rica
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

If you're looking for a relaxing get away this is the perfect place. It's ambient, peaceful and calming. The owners are easy going and accommodating. The surroundings are quaint. Of all the B&Bs and hotels I've been to in Southern MN this is by far my favorite place. If it were plausible I would go there every weekend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking time to add a wonderful review of your time in the Loft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iggyg85
Iowa City
1 review
“It is absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I had never seen a place with so many (all) excellent reviews that were also so extensive and detailed in their praise. It certainly lived up to it. Our host Cindy was welcoming and non-intrusive. The place itself was absolutely everything that is in the pictures as well as in the reviews. The attention to detail in the decor as well as the experience was outstanding. The design of the loft was ingenious and truly harmonious. It is a gem. The town of Harmony was also wonderful. We had a great time with the owner of The Crunchy Side. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Thank you Iris for taking time to write such a thoughtful review of your time at the Loft and small businesses such as the Loft especially appreciate it. It was also very well written, a mark of person with a strong background in creative writing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West St Paul MN
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Oct 2013
Thank you for finding the Loft and submitting a review. I can imagine the colors along the Upper Iowa River on your canoe trip were stunning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan G
houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Our favorite B&B”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just returned from our 3rd stay this year - so I guess that says it all. An oasis of calm to return to at the end of the day. We have begun to consider it our home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking time to add a review to the website. Your requests for bookings always make me smile with gratitude that you found us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doneyrone...
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“perfect place for relaxation”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Loved, loved, loved the Loft! Has everything you need, plus total and complete privacy. Very comfortable and the hostess is very respectful of leaving you alone, if that's what you want. I cannot wait to go back - maybe in winter so I can snuggle in front of the fire and forget about the world outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The jetted tub!
Liked least: Sleeping with appliances (ice maker cycled on at 5:00 am)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing