We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable relaxing holiday in a unique...”
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Charlotte's Post Office playhouse. A childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving. Have fun. The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Charlotte's Post Office playhouse. A childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving. Have fun.
The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room.
The Norman Guard robe which houses the garden loo, so quirky. You can sit on a throne be King of all
Lovey sunny kitchen has all you need. Great view to Ruth's Cottage & Charlotte's Post Office.
Sitting room with the woodburning stove, dining room beyond. So cosy and comfortable come home to.Ah
Tea in the Gazebo, lovely on a hot sunny day to catch a cool breeze. The water feature is quirky,fun
Tom's Lodge play house was on Shed of the Year. Folks come from miles around when the garden is open
Our garden was featured on BBC2 Open Gardens with Carol Kline what fun we had. Carol was inspiring
Another view of the peaceful garden for you to enjoy and relax. Maybe have a cool pre   dinner drink
Sheep on the our Green in front of Spindle Cottage. They have come for a holiday as well, how nice.
The Barbecue has a Mediterranean feel, with a wonderful table to seat many, next to Ruth's Cottage.
The sunny conservatory from kitchen door. Whatever the weather this is the place to enjoy the view.
Dining room towards the kitchen, lovely pitch pine table, pews & dresser with willow pattern china.
Toms Lodge playhouse & the Gazebo . Find Myrtle the Mermaid she is washing her hair, try the quiz.
Tom's Lodge an Elizabethan playhouse just waiting for children to enjoy and have fun brill. Love it
Inside Toms Lodge playhouse, a little table, stools, even an upstairs. Mind how you go on stairs.Ops
The lovely garden, just relax & enjoy. Lots of places to sit & enjoy lunch with a glass of wine.
View from the twin room balcony, with the Green beyond, we sometimes have sheep visiting the Green.
The Owl and the lovely Cat & the Pea Green Boat in the Post Office garden. The Box Hedge is the sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Binegar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
P L
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable relaxing holiday in a unique property”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our third visit to this cottage which is run by the very friendly owners. Fabulous gardens for adults to relax and children to play in. Children will especially love the unique playhouses constructed by the owner and all the hidden carvings to hunt out - see website for images. Quiet location but with plenty to do and visit nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Hello dear returning guests. Thank you so much for taking time to reply when you have only just arrived home.
It was great to see you again and glad you enjoyed seeing all the extra new parts of the cottage and the garden. Who knows what you will find if/when you return again to Spindle Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a wonderful week at Spindle Cottage at the beginning of August. Our children loved the fabulous playhouses and exploring the cottage which is full of hidden details which enthral and delight both adults and children alike. The Buntings welcome you to their home with open arms and everything has been thought of to provide you with the best holiday possible from quizzes for the children, to suggested tours of the local area. The cottage is a short drive away from many large tourist attractions including Chedder Gorge, Wooky Hole and the beautiful city of Bath.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Hi Helen,
Thank you for your lovely review, Other guests love to read what has been enjoyed and often take inspiration and follow in your footsteps. So thank you, you are helping them and us for all to have a wonderful experience on their holiday with us in beautiful Somerset on the Mendip Hill. See you again we hope. All the best
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selena-Su...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place.”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked Spindle cottage to be near our family and so that our 6-year old grand-daughter could stay overnight and enjoy the garden and sleep in the big bed. she LOVED it all, and so did we. We were sorry to leave as it is such a comfortable place to stay as well as being beautiful. There were lots of nice touches provided by Angela in the cottage, and Alban's handiwork is just so clever. The local pub is good too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything.
Liked least: The cooker (electric with solid 'rings'). Difficult because I'm used to gas.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Isn't it wonderful to watch a child play. Our little playhouses encourages that imaginative play time. So glad to have you all here at Spindle Cottage and now that you have found us we hope to see you again. Do tell your family to come and visit, our garden is open on Sunday 3rd July 2.30pm, we would love to see them. Thank you so much for your lovely review. Best wishes Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suma L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spindle cottage ”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place owned by lovely people. Spindle cottage is a place that both children and adults can enjoy equally. The moment you step into the cottage it's like you have entered a fairytale. But what makes the place even more special are the owners. Angela and Alban both are very kind and extremely helpful. We loved our stay here and children still can't forget the sheds in the garden. We hope to return really soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Dear Suma,
Thank you so much for taking the time in your busy life to write a review for us at Spindle Cottage.
I hope the children and the adults will never forget their holiday here as one of those special places that stays in your memories.
We certainly look forward to your return and hopefully stay a little longer next time. Take care and very best wishes to you all.
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zahra K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beyond amazing!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Living in the spindle cottage was like visiting your grandparents when you're little; they welcome you with such warmth and make sure you've got everything you could possibly need.
The cottage itself was simply lovely! Really gives you a nice cosy and homey feeling. Even if you're not planning on going out much you'll find plenty to do inside. There's a wonderful piano inside, two trunks full for kids to play dress up, chess, board games. I was pleasantly surprised to find a baby monitor as well which is something i always need but have never found in other cottages I've been in. It's a beautiful cottage and a wonderful place to be in with the kids especially. Make sure you meet angela and alban whenever u visit; they are simply delightful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Dear Zarah
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. How lovely for us to have you here at Spindle Cottage and how sweet that it felt like visiting your grandparents. You felt like family to us as well. So come back soon as we would love to see you again and of course you need to visit grandparent often, we shall have a warm welcome here for you always.
With all our love.
Nanny Angela & Granddad Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing