We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely property in quiet village, very friendly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Riviere, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
JJLondon2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely property in quiet village, very friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here so that we could explore the near by WW1 memorials. Jean-Claude and his family were wonderful hosts helping with every query even picking up my parents from the station. The house was more than adequate for us a party of seven adults. Kitchen had everything we needed and jean-Claude even delivered fresh bread every morning. The village is nice and quiet, about 20mins to Arras. We recommend this rental especially if you like us are exploring the surrrounding war history.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Merci de vos encouragements.
Vous serez toujours les bienvenus dans nos hébergements.
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Marie Madeleine et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick B
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just about Perfect”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stopped here recently because we prefer the quiet of a rural setting rather than the bustle of town and city. The cottage is well proportioned, spacious, traditional in style and decor; and amply stocked with modern appliances. Comfortable beds. A real home from home. There is a pleasant garden to sit in, space to park off road. For those who enjoy games - There is a pool table, table football, darts, and table tennis. Great for family spirit and competition. For the more adventurous there are cycles in the garage. The roads and quiet lanes are ideal for cycling along and there are several circular routes that can be enjoyed. The owners Mary Magdalene and Jean-Claude live next door. Their welcome engulfs you. Fresh bread and croissants from the local bakery are left daily for visitors. Jean-Claude can also help out with information if you are there to visit cemeteries and battle sites from the Great War period; which was the reason for our journey to Northern France. This cottage, and its locality, is just about the perfect place to spend some time. A well stocked supermarket is just a couple of miles away; and the vibrant town of Arras not much further. I can usually find a negative but not this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire package
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you and to share our lodging
Marie Madeleine and Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogSuffol...
Suffolk
2 reviews
“Perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The accommodation was used as a base for cycling out to nearby WW1 sites. Rooms were certainly ok and perfectly adequate for our needs. BBQ was used each night for meals in the pleasant garden. The owners were were very friendly and helpful. The early morning delivery from them of warm bread and croissants was an unexpected bonus and was a nice touch.
The surrounding area was perfect for biking and for exploring all the WW1 sites and memorials. Can recommend it highly...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breakfast delivered by the owners
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Merci pour votre joie et votre bonne humeur
C 'est avec un réel plaisir que nous pourrons vous accueillir à nouveau
Marie Madeleien et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Totally perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for three weeks from the 18th July. Before arrival the communication from the owners was excellent and it was clear from the outset that they were warm, kind people.

The house is as lovely as it looks it the pictures and the garden is beautiful to sit and eat in. The house fronts a road but it is very quiet and not busy at any time of the day. The garden is totally secure, this was important as we had two small dogs and two small boys with us. We were able to let the dogs off their leads. The owners have a lovely matlishon dog who is very friendly.

The house can be accessed from the front or the rear, there are a few steps at the front and from the back entrance the property is accessed through a garage and up a flight of stairs. I use 2 crutches but didn't find this problem at all.

At the top of the stairs you go through to a kitchen that has a small table, a full size cooker and oven, fridge, small dishwasher and a microwave There are lots of crockery, cutlery and utensils. There were also many helpful extras...washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, bin bags, coffee, tea, jam, eggs and much more. This is the best equipped property we have ever stayed. Just to add the wifi signal is very strong in the property. There were on occasions 8 of using it without difficulty, it is also perfect in the garden. There is a tv with French channels.

From the kitchen you enter the sitting room, which has a sideboard with additional crockery, a 6 seat table and chairs and full lounge suite which is very comfortable. There is a door off the sitting room up a flight of stairs to two beautiful bedrooms, one has a double, a single and a French cot which would be suitable for a very small baby, a lovely wardrobe, a chest of drawers and some chairs, this is a very large room. The second bedroom has a double and a single bed. Also on this landing is a small playroom with lots of games and books. It's also worth noting that there is an electric fan in here too. Back down the stairs there are 3 or 4 steps up to a toilet with a separate shower room opposite, a washing machine is also housed in the bathroom. On this level there is a double bedroom with a dressing room next door which also doubles up as bedroom using a bed settee. All beds were large doubles and very comfortable. For most of our visit it was just two adults and our 12 year old grandson, however, we were joined by our 2 sons and their partners and two small children for 1 week. There was ample room and equipment for all of us.

Outside there is a games room with lots of equipment and activities and there are also many bikes available to use. There is a barbeque with many tools and also all coal available for guests.

The owners also rent a gypsy caravan that sleeps 5 in their garden, it has it's own private garden and it was nice to meet the different people staying in it whilst we were there. The owners house is adjacent, they were at work during the day but were there on an evening if needed but weren't intrusive in any way. There is private secure parking for 4 cars on the plot. In the garage below the property the is a table and 6 chairs and also a dresser which houses as much information as most tourist information offices! There is also a tumble dryer and an additional fridge which we used for drinks.

I really do have to commend Jean-Claude and his wife for their outstanding hospitality and kindness, they are truly genuine people who have gone the extra mile to ensure their guests are comfortable and well provided for. Every morning during our stay a basket of bread, brioche and croissants were left for us on the kitchen windowsill which were freshly baked prior to them leaving the house, true dedication and kindness! Thank you Jean-Claude and Mary-Magdalene.

I would recommend this holiday home wholeheartedly. It is within a very easy drive of Dunkirk and approximately 6 miles from the very beautiful Arras. We did a number of the first world war memorials and cemeteries (my great-granddad is buried close by at Bac-Du-Sud) and also travelled further afield to Bruges and Ypres for the Menin Gate ceremony at 8pm. (Anyone wanting to see this should be in position by 7pm otherwise you'll hear it but won't see anything).

The village is very quiet but the local people are very friendly, there is a beautiful church here and also a small military cemetery. There isn't a bar very close by but a couple which would be in walking or cycling distance for some people.

This property was excellent quality and amazing value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Au plaisir de vous revoir!
Marie Mdeleine et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawn184
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming house”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This retro looking house was a fantastic value for money. It's spacious, comfortable, well equipped, and in a pleasant small quiet village near Arras. There 3 double beds, and 2 single beds total. The kitchen is fully equipped with a dishwasher and when we got there, there were eggs and yogurt. Each morning the owners left fresh croissants and bread on our windowsill in a basket. There was a dishwasher and a washing machine and in the garage there were brochures and maps available. The wifi was fast and there was a beautiful yard with a hammock, a barbecue, tables, and swings. We would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Merci pour votre joie et votre bonne humeur
C 'est avec un réel plaisir que nous pourrons vous accueillir à nouveau
Marie Madeleien et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing