We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Clayton Plaza Hotel(Clayton)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$139
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria(Richmond Heights)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$139
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
KnightConference
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
220
112
33
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
112
33
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorcontinental breakfastsmall hotelmolly darcyboutique hotelbridal suitefirst floorchocolate chip cookiesmodern amenitiesdowntown claytonflat screencomfortable bedsst louisparkingweddingvaletcheshire
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My wife and I like to stay at Clayton's Seven Gables Inn while we are in town for shopping or for a weekend in St. Louis. We typically do not like the downown scene and this location offers a quiet and quaint view of Clayton. The hotel is clean and we have never had any issues to speak of. The staff is always friendly and make us feel welcome. This place is definitely a cut above the cookie-cutter chain hotels and is unique in it's ambiance.

Pros:

Location - Close to shopping in the business district and is a very short walk from dining establishments like Ruth's Chris

Food/Drinks - On site bar/grill where you can relax and not worry about getting back out

Unique - Seven Gables lives up to the Inn as there are no elevators and the stairs/floors 'creak' as you manuever the hotel. The place seems very authentic throughout and offers a more personal touch that most other hotels.

Cons:

Can get busy - We have stayed at the hotel several times and they always seem to be rather busy. Not that this is bad but be aware that they host parties at the bar/grill so it can get pretty packed and won't be as quiet as you might expect.

Price - I would rate Seven Gables on the moderate to moderately expensive but the room size should make up for this...

Parking - This is my biggest pet peeve as the parking lot is extremely small and it is hit or miss whether you will get a parking place or not. We have been lucky for the most part and have always found a spot in their across-the-street spots. I am sure there are other parking options if you look around but if you do not park in their lot...tell them as they will charge you for valet parking (they charge for use of the parking lot each night).

All in all we will go back so the listed cons should be taken as advice/experience rather than detriment but this is more for a couples destination rather than family as they do not have the pool/hot tub/gym setup that bigger chains will offer.

Room Tip: Ambient heat, in the winter, seems to keep the upper level rooms warm whether you have your heat on or not so warm sleepers might want to request a ground floor room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANR_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests and their feedback and can only grow as a team to provide the customer service that our guests not only deserve but expect.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.

Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Cozy, homey little inn that is listed on the National Register of Historic places. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed with comfortable bed and chair. We enjoyed the room in front of the inn under the gable overlooking the street. The weather was a little cold to enjoy the beautiful patio between the buildings but would love to go back in warmer season. Slight staining and dirt on room carpet was a little distracting and probably should be replaced, but enjoyed the place so we overlooked that issue.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue grow and become a stronger team and continue to provide our guests with not only with what they deserve but what they expect.

Thank you again and have a safe and Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Weekend stay at the Seven Gables Inn was great. The Inn was built in 1920 in the "English Tudor Style" by a well healed businessman with a great fondness of the Nathaniel Hawthorne novel: The House of Seven Gables. We landed a choice room on the second floor with a view of the interior courtyard. Carl met us as we arrived and made us feel immediately welcome. He offered to park our car directly across the street from the front door of the inn (hotel owns the surface lot across the street) Parking with the in/ out access from this street level lot is very convenient and safe. We arrived around 4 with dinner reservations at Charlie Gitos at 6. So, we relaxed in the inn's bath robes while watching tv and reading the various promo magazines found in the hotel lobby. The room was spacious and clean; very comfortable and exactly what we expected for a 90 year old hotel (note: yes the hot water in the shower can be "iffy" but, hey folks the inn is on "The National Register of Historic Places" and was built about the same time Truman had the White House remodeled - I've toured the White House and I was equally impressed with this Inn)

We got up early the next morning and set out for a long walk north and east from the hotel - walking west means down then back up large hill and the wife said "no" - stopped at out-door cafe for StL Bread Co. located 2 block East of hotel. There is a Ruth's Criss Steak house within 2 blocks of the inn. The walk through the historic and well-tended residential neighborhood of Clayton was very interesting. We returned to the inn and enjoyed fresh brewed coffee with muffins and fresh fruit on the front patio outside the inn's front door - great view and very relaxing.

The breakfast in the Molly Darcy irish pub was perfect. Nice mix of fresh fruit, fresh bakery items and some hot ham and cheese croissants - excellent. This was perfect breakfast for us as we headed out for xmas shopping and big lunch with cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory of Chesterfield Mall - hey, we only do this once a year.

So, if you are looking for a great place to enjoy a fun, quiet and memorable weekend stay - try They Seven Gables Inn of Clayton.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor with view of courtyard are great. Parking is very convenient in the street level, hotel-owned lot across street from the inn. Yes, they charge for parking but, it's safe and convenient and well worth it. Open the window before turning in for the night. The fresh morning air from the courtyard was great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will come back and see us again.

We all take such pride in our jobs here at the Seven Gables and ensuring our guests are 100% satisfied with their experience.

We always appreciate our guests feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This older property delivers with great location and service. Rooms are clean, surprisingly large, but not without minor issues (hot water in the AM). Overall, a good choice. Our interior courtyard room was quiet. Some rooms will require taking a number of stairs.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clarkkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Our team takes such pride in their jobs and making guests feel as if they are at their home away from home and from reading your review we have succeeded.

We are pleased you enjoyed every thing from start to finish and we look forward to seeing you again.

Have a wonderful holiday season!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This place is outstanding. It is a historically quaint break from the sometimes bland modernism of chain hotels. It has a bed-and-breakfast meets German cottage feel. It sits perfectly nestled in downtown Clayton, a rather beautiful upscale western St. Louis suburb. So much is within walking distance; a wine bar, nice Main Street-style shops, and restaurants a plenty. Most major St. Louis attractions are within just 20 minutes of a drive. Access to major freeways are within just a couple of miles. If you want to stay put, that's possible too. A gorgeous courtyard is in the center of the inn. Molly Darcy's restaurant is adjoined to the hotel and is a few steps from the registration desk. The food there was AWESOME. Fantastic beer and drink selection with a great bartender. Live bands play here on Fridays. Lovely continental breakfast. Great service with super-friendly staff. I did NOT want to go home because I FELT at home. I will return!

Room Tip: Parking is difficult in this section of town; the inn's valet service is very reasonable with unlimited in/out access. It may be a good idea to stay parked and let a cabbie do the driving since many major places in town are a just a hop and a skip away.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCrossIsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our hotel.

We all take such pride in our jobs and making our guests feel welcome.

Its only with our guests continued feedback that we can continue to grow and improve.

Happy Holidays and we hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews