We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seven Gables Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Clayton Plaza Hotel(Clayton)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$519
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$139
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria(Richmond Heights)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$127
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cheshire(Saint Louis)
US$135
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Moonrise Hotel(Saint Louis)
US$234
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
217
112
32
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
112
32
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorcontinental breakfastsmall hotelmolly darcychain hotelhistoric buildingfirst floorchocolate chip cookiesflat screendowntown claytoncomfortable bedlouis areast louisparkingvaletcheshiredesk
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The most important thing to know about this place is there is no elevator. No problem if you want a room with a king sized bed but the only double queens require one or two long flights of curving stairs. This was not good as my 2 traveling companions both had physical limitations. They need to explain the lack of an elevator to people so they can choose a different place. The rooms were very clean and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom in our room was very spacious. Beds were extremely comfy. The breakfast in the "pub" area was small but very nice. It included fresh fruit and ham and cheese croissants. The desk clerk was very helpful. There is also and extra charge of $17 per night for valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wininmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Seven Gables Inn is listed on the National Historic Registry and to keep with the charm and theme of being an older building we do not have elevators, we do however offer valets/bellman from 630a-10p on a daily basis to assist our guests with their luggage to the upper level rooms and we also offer first floor rooms for our guests needing to stay on the first floor.

Thank you again for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had a great time this past weekend at the Seven Gables. My friend bought us a one-night stay so we could come visit her in St. Louis, and we loved it. The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, and there were cookies and coffee downstairs (all good things in my book!). Everyone was so gracious and nice, we were sad we could only stay the one night on this visit, but we plan on coming back, hopefully when it is warm and we can sit on the patio!

Room Tip: The King Suite was very roomy and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Seven Gables.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

First, the people who work here were phenomenal to my fellow travelers and me. They exude hospitality and are joyful. The check in process was easy, and made easier by the warm and very delicious cookies provided. I love that when I walked into my guestroom I felt like I was staying at my Aunt Mary's house, and not an average hotel room. The property is an historic building which means it feels more like the Bunratty Castle Hotel than a Westin, but the charm and comfort of the place make up for the lack of modernity (i.e. an elevator). The rate was an excellent value. The bathroom was clean-ish and updated with nice finishes. It's not perfect, but its different and I liked the convenience and charm.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for posting a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our guests and their feedback.

Its only with this continued feedback that we can improve and grow as a team and a hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My wife and I like to stay at Clayton's Seven Gables Inn while we are in town for shopping or for a weekend in St. Louis. We typically do not like the downown scene and this location offers a quiet and quaint view of Clayton. The hotel is clean and we have never had any issues to speak of. The staff is always friendly and make us feel welcome. This place is definitely a cut above the cookie-cutter chain hotels and is unique in it's ambiance.

Pros:

Location - Close to shopping in the business district and is a very short walk from dining establishments like Ruth's Chris

Food/Drinks - On site bar/grill where you can relax and not worry about getting back out

Unique - Seven Gables lives up to the Inn as there are no elevators and the stairs/floors 'creak' as you manuever the hotel. The place seems very authentic throughout and offers a more personal touch that most other hotels.

Cons:

Can get busy - We have stayed at the hotel several times and they always seem to be rather busy. Not that this is bad but be aware that they host parties at the bar/grill so it can get pretty packed and won't be as quiet as you might expect.

Price - I would rate Seven Gables on the moderate to moderately expensive but the room size should make up for this...

Parking - This is my biggest pet peeve as the parking lot is extremely small and it is hit or miss whether you will get a parking place or not. We have been lucky for the most part and have always found a spot in their across-the-street spots. I am sure there are other parking options if you look around but if you do not park in their lot...tell them as they will charge you for valet parking (they charge for use of the parking lot each night).

All in all we will go back so the listed cons should be taken as advice/experience rather than detriment but this is more for a couples destination rather than family as they do not have the pool/hot tub/gym setup that bigger chains will offer.

Room Tip: Ambient heat, in the winter, seems to keep the upper level rooms warm whether you have your heat on or not so warm sleepers might want to request a ground floor room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANR_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests and their feedback and can only grow as a team to provide the customer service that our guests not only deserve but expect.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.

Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Cozy, homey little inn that is listed on the National Register of Historic places. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed with comfortable bed and chair. We enjoyed the room in front of the inn under the gable overlooking the street. The weather was a little cold to enjoy the beautiful patio between the buildings but would love to go back in warmer season. Slight staining and dirt on room carpet was a little distracting and probably should be replaced, but enjoyed the place so we overlooked that issue.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue grow and become a stronger team and continue to provide our guests with not only with what they deserve but what they expect.

Thank you again and have a safe and Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews