We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
shawnee mission kansas
2 reviews
“Great hotel, poor experience”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice hotel perfect location. Had a few issues after returning to our room late, had to switch rooms in the middle of the night. New room that was given to use had hair all over in the bathroom.
Front desk was very helpful and made up for the inconvenience with room adjustment and breakfast.
Nice location, hotel is quiet, cleanliness not so great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the cleanliness issues in your guestroom. We greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention while you were here so we could make amends. I'm happy our staff resolved this to your satisfaction. It also allowed us to follow-up with the associate who cleaned your room and provide additional training.

Again, my apologies and we'll look forward to a second opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    363
    161
    99
    65
See reviews for
298
379
54
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days. The person that checked us in did not seem very friendly. Other than that our stay was good. Close to the Plaza. Easy to drive to other destinations. Room was good sized with a sliding door that led out to a balcony. Since is was unseasonably warm when we were there, we opened the door and sat out on the balcony enjoying the sunset. Would have preferred a room that looked out on the Plaza, but figured booking it through Priceline, probably have to take what I get. The walls seemed a little thin in that I could hear the neighbors TV and visiting more than I thought I should. The rooms were starting to look a little dated. There were rust spots on the bathroom sink. Needs a good update. Did not try to restaurant or the lounge, but the lounge/lobby looked very comfortable. All-in-all, a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad to hear you had a good stay, but certainly do apologize for giving you the impression that we didn't seem friendly at check-in. Your feedback will be shared with our front desk team along with a reminder of the expectation our guests have of us. Hospitality starts with a warm smile and a sincere greeting. Anything less is a missed opportunity.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here for a conference.
The hotel location is nice, but you are a three to four blocks from restaurants other than what the hotel can provide.
The hotel food was pretty good. I would stay away from the prime rib as the cut of meat was not the best.
Mini-bar in the room and a large work area.
Room service was nice.
The hotel staff was very nice.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
They were in the process of doing some renovations, but they did so without disturbing my stay at all.

The Plaza was a few blocks away and most of the stores closed by dark. There were numerous restaurants in that area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the five-star review! We appreciate the positive comments. We are especially happy to read that our renovation work did not have a negative impact on your experience in any way. We continue with various efforts to further improve our four-diamond product and have focused on doing it in a way that does not disturb our guests.

We'll look forward to serving you again during your next trip to KC.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We planned a week-end stay at this hotel as this hotel property was where we stayed on our wedding night. We were celebrating the 40th anniversary of our engagement by staying here and visiting Loose Park where we got engaged. We made our reservation several months ahead of time and prepaid for the reservation. When we arrived they told us they were full and would have to go to another hotel that evening and possibly return the next day. They were to call us but never received a call until we started to leave the other hotel we had to call them to find out the status. They still didn't have a room available so we never did get to stay at the hotel. We did finally get a refund of our money but it was an experience that we will not forget and will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the fact we were not able to honor your reservation last October. This happens very rarely and we deeply regret it occurred with you. I know we did pay for your first night at the hotel you were relocated to and refunded your entire advance deposit. If there is more we may do to make amends, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Once again, my apologies.

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Nice view. Big rooms. Beautiful decor. Hallways are hot and stuffy. Grouchy staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We're pleased you enjoyed the view and large guestroom. We're also happy you found our decor to be beautiful. We do regret that you felt our staff was grouchy. I do apologize for giving you this impression. It is extremely unusual to hear this type of feedback. If you would like to share any specifics about this with me, please feel comfortable in contacting me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Thanks for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 km away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,123 reviews
0.1 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.0 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.5 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
1.3 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#24 of 109 in Kansas City
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price range (per night): RM811 - RM1,493
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing