We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$188
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
US$161
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Fontaine(Kansas City)
US$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
US$163
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,724)
Filter reviews
1,724 results
Traveller rating
955
396
178
116
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
396
178
116
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcierge floorcraig walterreubenfront deskchristmas lightsclub levelhappy hourthe entire staffself parkingoakloungeplazaalamedavaletbalconiesbellmanconference
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,724 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The hotel was overall great with wonderful staff. It is very well situated next to shopping and restaurants. I would recommend a dress code in the concierge lounge, because there were people dressed in their bath robes.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Sam C,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City for your Christmas vacation.

We’re very glad you enjoyed your time with us and we’ll look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We were in Kansas City after seeing family for Thanksgiving and then had a memorial service for a long-time friend. We were upgraded to a concierge level service so we could have a complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks.

This turned out to be a wonderful service. The breakfast has a very nice variety including bagels, cream cheese and lox -- my favorite breakfast. Also, very good fruit and yogurt. Selection of cereals, pastries, boiled eggs, etc. We were quite happy.

Evening cocktails also were very nice. There were snacks and premium drinks. Later in the evening, there were liqeurs and desserts. Very nice desserts.

And our room was great. Very comfortable, very clean and great views of either the Country Club Plaza or the fashionable city places near the Plaza.

Staff were helpful and responsive.

We enjoyed our stay and would come back to the InterContinental on the Plaza in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Arthur H,

Please accept our condolences for your loss.

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you letting us know you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. Our team enjoys providing these random acts of kindness whenever possible. As you saw, the InterContinental Concierge Experience is a wonderful way to spoil yourself with the personalized levels of service provided by our concierge team, and all the complimentary food & beverage items served in the 11th floor Concierge’s Lounge. We’re very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Don makes the difference when staying in KC. He has the best music and ambience to make any stressful day go away. The hotel is in the plaza and the rooms are wonderful, staff is great and vey attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Mariana C,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We always value and appreciate a 5-star rating.

Donyel excels in providing a very personalized level of service and making guests feel very welcomed and relaxed in the Concierge’s Lounge. We’ll be sure to share your feedback with him.

Wishing you a very happy holiday season!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I've stayed at this location over the years and the last time came away thinking it needed an update badly. Mission accomplished! The place feels brand new! The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the lobby is really well done.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear James L,

Thank you for sharing that you like the results of the recent renovation finished earlier this summer. The goal was certainly to provide a completely new look in the guestrooms and lobby level areas, all designed to ensure a four-diamond experience for our guests.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

When I’m in KC during holiday season I try to stay on the plaza. The intercontinental went through a makeover to their rooms and public areas and it made an immediate impact. What was looking tired is now new and bright. About the only dark wood is in the bar which really looks good the way it remains since the Ritz Carlton days. The front desk staff of Chris, Samantha and Kyle were all friendly, fun and efficient. As always the guys in the Concierge Lounge were fabulous. Craig during late dessert time after returning from dinner. Rueben and Donyel in the mornings were a pleasure. The Concierge Lounge staff at this hotel exceeds any hotel I’ve been to. It would be appreciated if guests didn’t come in wearing pajamas. I can understand little kids but adults in their 50’s please change. I only had one issue during my stay and mentioned it to the front desk when I was checking out. If you want to know you may contact me.
It’s not enough to keep me from returning.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DoctorRDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear DoctorRDenver_Colorado

Thank you for continuing to stay with us when you are in the area. We appreciate your loyalty.

We’ll add you to the long list of guests who love the new décor and furnishing that resulted from the very extensive renovation completed earlier this year.

Please know your kinds works about Chris, Samantha, Kyle, Craig, Reuben and Donyel will be shared with each of them.

We wish you a very happy holiday season and look forward to the next opportunity to serve you!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews