We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appears to be poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Four negative items to mention about my stay:

1) I was out of my room from noon to 5:00 PM. Upon my return at 5:00, I found my door propped open by the deadbolt. Much like when a housekeeper is in your room. But, no one was in my room. Luckily nothing was taken. My room was at the end of the hall, so it is likely that no one passed by to see the door propped open.

2) I tried calling the operator and front desk, but no one answered the phone. I tried twice with no answer. I had to leave for a business dinner, so I gave up.

3) Upon check out the next morning at approximately 5:45, I informed the front desk person about my door being propped open so that anyone could have walked in. He simply gave a grunt and shrug of his shoulders. I told him that he should inform the housekeeping manager and he agreed. There was no effort to apologize or follow up on this issue.

4) The thermostat was worthless. I put it on auto. The fan never shut down and the desired temperature (72 degrees) was never reached. I did not bother to inform anyone about this.

The rest of the hotel was fine. Clean and orderly. The restaurant was fine. But, given the issues above, I can only conclude that the employees are poorly managed.

I needed to stay at this hotel because my employer has a contract with the hotel. I would never stay here if I had a choice.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macalester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Macalester,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for your experience falling short of your expectations and our standards.

I would appreciate the opportunity to communicate with you directly. This will allow me to personally apologize and obtain additional details so we may follow-up internally. The best way to contact me is dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

The hotel was overall great with wonderful staff. It is very well situated next to shopping and restaurants. I would recommend a dress code in the concierge lounge, because there were people dressed in their bath robes.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Sam C,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City for your Christmas vacation.

We’re very glad you enjoyed your time with us and we’ll look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We were in Kansas City after seeing family for Thanksgiving and then had a memorial service for a long-time friend. We were upgraded to a concierge level service so we could have a complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks.

This turned out to be a wonderful service. The breakfast has a very nice variety including bagels, cream cheese and lox -- my favorite breakfast. Also, very good fruit and yogurt. Selection of cereals, pastries, boiled eggs, etc. We were quite happy.

Evening cocktails also were very nice. There were snacks and premium drinks. Later in the evening, there were liqeurs and desserts. Very nice desserts.

And our room was great. Very comfortable, very clean and great views of either the Country Club Plaza or the fashionable city places near the Plaza.

Staff were helpful and responsive.

We enjoyed our stay and would come back to the InterContinental on the Plaza in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Arthur H,

Please accept our condolences for your loss.

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you letting us know you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. Our team enjoys providing these random acts of kindness whenever possible. As you saw, the InterContinental Concierge Experience is a wonderful way to spoil yourself with the personalized levels of service provided by our concierge team, and all the complimentary food & beverage items served in the 11th floor Concierge’s Lounge. We’re very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Don makes the difference when staying in KC. He has the best music and ambience to make any stressful day go away. The hotel is in the plaza and the rooms are wonderful, staff is great and vey attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Mariana C,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We always value and appreciate a 5-star rating.

Donyel excels in providing a very personalized level of service and making guests feel very welcomed and relaxed in the Concierge’s Lounge. We’ll be sure to share your feedback with him.

Wishing you a very happy holiday season!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I've stayed at this location over the years and the last time came away thinking it needed an update badly. Mission accomplished! The place feels brand new! The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the lobby is really well done.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear James L,

Thank you for sharing that you like the results of the recent renovation finished earlier this summer. The goal was certainly to provide a completely new look in the guestrooms and lobby level areas, all designed to ensure a four-diamond experience for our guests.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 km away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,194 reviews
0.1 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
6.8 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: RM626 - RM1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing