We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world hotel and service right in the heart of Country Club Plaza. What is not to like?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This is a romantic 5-star hotel located right across from Country Club Plaza. The rooms are quiet, the service is exemplary, the accommodations are comfortable, and the valet parking is free. It is also reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DogenJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

DogenJoe,

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate your efforts, and hope to have the opportunity for you to return to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

My wife and I went to the Plaza to celebrate her birthday. We decided to spend the night after dinner and skip the drive home. I had always wanted to try the Raphael. It did not disappoint. As a Platinum Marriott customer they actually treated me like a valued customer, even though it was our first stay with them. The Raphael is a "boutique" hotel but very nicely furnished and the location is perfect for a night out on the Plaza in KC. Highly recommend and will likely return.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the Plaza area. Corner room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Missouri50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Front Office Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Missouri50,

Thank you for celebrating your wife's birthday with us at the Raphael Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum Elite Member and are thrilled you enjoyed your first visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I noticed the Sunday special here and booked it for my husbands birthday. We use to come here when our boys were little for special occasions and loved it. It is a special place in KC. We got a beautiful king suite with a plaza view on the corner. The hotel had a card for my husband with wine and chocolates! When we got to Chaz for dinner they also had a card that the staff had signed. Really appreciate the thoughtfulness! We sat outside for dinner, the weather was perfect and the plaza was beautiful! We felt like we were on a trip but really only 20 minutes from home. We enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Nice place. Classic place. Food was excellent as well. Nice staff. Big shower and tub. Good view. Will return if we can. Complementary umbrellas and we needed it. View is cool. No complaints at all. Ok

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ML-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

ML-papa,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us at the Raphael Hotel. We truly appreciate you efforts, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Being part of the "Autograph Collection", this hotel has a lot of "personality". It isn't your standard Marriott, which is cool, but you still get Marriott perks. The attention to detail and hospitality by all staff members did not go unnoticed. Everyone working there was so friendly and outgoing.
The hotel room was huge and had a great mini-fridge with champagne and awesome choices. The location was perfect and I spent 3 hours walking around Country Club Plaza, just across the street. This meant there was also a beautiful view from my room!

Overall, this was the perfect hotel for my first time in KC!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McKenzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

McKenzie,

Thank you so much for all your very kind words of praise. We appreciate your efforts to share your thoughts! Please plan on returning again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 km away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 110 in Kansas City
1,176 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
6.8 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 110 in Kansas City
2,262 reviews
6.4 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 110 in Kansas City
1,147 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: RM1,048 - RM1,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing