We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great and the not so great”
Review of Kona Grill

Kona Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 1,513 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broadway & Pennsylvania
Description: Kona Grill was built on Exceptional Experiences and meals that create memories. Our global menu features contemporary American favorites, award-winning sushi, and specialty cocktails — all made from scratch using only the freshest ingredients. While the places that inspire our cuisine may be far away, a welcoming place that offers inspiring food, ultimate hospitality, and diverse choices is right around the corner.
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

For food the Kona Grill will not disappoint. This was our second trip to this grill. We always go here right before Christmas. We had a reservation and were seated immediately upon arrival. The server was friendly but much of the order had to be corrected and took a long time to get various things throughout dinner. The restaurant was packed but it didn’t remember it taking nearly so long on our 2016 trip. Having said that I’ll go back next year and hope for more.

Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon K, General Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017

Kona Grill has a great happy hour - good choices on food - the lettuce wraps are incredible and definitely worth ordering.

Thank ssulzberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon K, General Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Thanks for visiting our Kona Grill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Love this restaurant. We had sushi and steak, along with an appetizer and two desserts. Everything was terrific as usual. Quality food, friendly server and good portion size. Atmosphere is also good albeit a little noisy but we sat in the bar area so that was probably why.

Thank SusyChapstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon K, General Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for the great review and hope to see you again at Kona Grill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We have gone to this place for about 5 years now. It is good that they extended the seating for happy hour, but it is still truly a mad house in there during this time. It is tough to find a place to sit because the food and drinks are actually a good deal! Atmosphere is really fun as well! The back side of the restaurant is more quiet and, yes, we frequent Kona, Hawaii and yes, it really does remind us of Kona in a way so although its too dark in there for my taste, I actually still like the atmosphere anyway.

The food is yummy - try the margarita flatbread - my favorite of all the local margarita flatbreads in town. Love the balsamic drizzle and basil garnish!

Tasty chili lime salmon, though it is fatty so I always feel overgreased after eating this, even though its a fish dish...

The sushi is good here. Actually way better than Domo in Brookside!

Its fine for family if you sit in the back. Its great fun for young people and couples anywhere you sit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon K, General Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

I am glad you like the remodel changes that we made. Thanks for your positive review.
Brandon King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Ate here around 2:00 PM on a Monday. Very few people in the place. Was waited on very quickly but the food was slow in getting there. It was good. Rather small portion but good. I had to order another sushi roll to fill me up. To me, the meal was more suited as appetizer sized that entree size. But the food was good.

Thank Kirby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon K, General Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kona Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing