We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
325
255
160
66
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
255
160
66
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country club plaza front desk underground parking hotel bar free shuttle shuttle service within walking distance art museum outdoor pool mile radius breakfast buffet is hotel shuttle checking in convention center union station simone kc
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

It’s in a good location and within walking distance of restaurants and the art museum. (The art museum is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays though.) The staff was friendly. The interior of the building needed updating.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ColoradoTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

We very much appreciate your feedback. We especially enjoy hearing about our friendly staff. We think they make all the difference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I stayed here for four nights. I could see staying here for one night, if the price is right, but this was just not a satisfactory stay.

The property is clean, but for the price, the rooms are severely outdated, muggy even with the AC running full blast, and need some attention. My shower water never got very hot and was slow to warm up, and I had to ask maintenance to come and repair a clogged shower drain.

The gym was small, and I imagine it becomes very crowded in the winter time. The website indicated the largest outdoor hotel pool in the city, and I guess the kids playing in it sure liked it.

Parking is secure and covered (and free, thankfully!). Country Club Plaza is right across the road, and there is a shuttle to take you over as well.

The staff was wonderfully nice. Two nights in a row, I asked for the music at the pool to be turned down because I could not even hear my TV; they turned it down within minutes, and I greatly appreciated this after having long days at work. Other encounters with them suggested that they would do everything within their power to make guests happy. I had a lot of trust in this staff.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arualpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

It is very nice to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful and responsive. It is our goal to do everything possible to make our guests stay as enjoyable as we can.
We have refurnished all of our tower guestrooms and are making plans to finish the remaining rooms. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

An older hotel, will rooms that could use a refresh soon. However, the customer service was very good and the property is well located in the plaza district with shops and restaurants only a short walk away. While downtown is not a walkable distance for most, there is a free shuttle. The fitness room is small and feels crowded with more than 1-2 people in there at a time. All things considered I was satisfied with my stay here.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyAndBernRothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

We appreciate your feedback and we do have plans to refresh the entire hotel- including the fitness center. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza is an old hotel. It's in a good location for shopping and restaurants. There is an outdoor pool which was really nice, and the main reason we stayed there. Most other hotels in KC have indoor pools. Our room was clean but dated. Breakfast isn't included with the room price like most other hotels. The onsite restaurant is a little pricey. We would definitely stay here again just for the pool.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank caweber4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. Actually we have recently refurnished all of our tower guestrooms and are making plans to finish the remainder next year. Our huge pool and courtyard are a great attraction for many of our guests. This is the largest outdoor hotel pool in Kansas City and even comes with all the pool toys and games to keep you entertained for hours! We are happy to hear that you would stay here again when you travels bring you back to KC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I enjoy staying at this hotel for a family or couples weekend. The location is ideal and some room rates include breakfast. The pool is great to use in the summer, had a ton of chairs and 2 basketball hoops in it. The layout of the hotel isn't great as it's so spread out. If you're staying with a group and have multiple rooms ask if they can be close together.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Ellen,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us! Our pool and courtyard are so very popular-especially with the extreme heat we have had this summer. It's a great way to stay cool and enjoy a fun, relaxing afternoon. As you noted we have basketball hoops as well as numerous pool toys and noodles to keep everyone entertained.
We are on of the larger hotels in the city with 240 rooms wrapped around that great courtyard and pool. The only downside of which is that we are not as compact as many limited service hotels. We hope that the great amenities made up for any inconvenience this caused!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews