We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
24
23
14
10
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
23
14
10
32
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We stopped for the night at what was advertised as a "Passport America" campground (50% discount) what we got was 20%. I know that's more than usual but when you advertise something that's not available it's false advertising. Other than that it's a nice facility. It's well maintained and the staff was friendly. Only rated poor for the bait and switch tactics.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bobwD9938QO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for leaving a review, Bob, and for taking the time to leave a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion surrounding the Passport America discount. We do participate in Passport America, but the program itself has different discounts on different days and that may be the issue here. We'll pass along your comments to our management team and make sure we review the issue with Passport America to ensure we are offering the appropriate discounts. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the life guards and the service we received while there. A life guard told a kid not mine that he was a liar. Also life guards were to busy flirting with girls to notice unexceptable behavior going on around him. Over all very disappointed

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
7  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Ashley. We definitely want to make sure our lifeguards are providing the best possible service to our guests and paying attention at all times to the guests who are in the pool or on the slides. We have passed along your feedback to our management team who will address this with the lifeguards directly. We do hope you will reconsider returning to see us again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Upon arrival last night, there was a sign warning guests that the facility is under a boil order (they don't tell you this when you make your reservation), when we asked staff about it they nonchalantly blew it off and stated they don't worry about it. Staff are very abrasive and brash.
We checked into our bungalow to find hairballs on the floor, sticky stuff and dust on the bedroom walls, dirt in the shower, and broken slat in the bedroom blind allowing the street lights to shine in.
Today, we went out for an early morning walk and stopped at one of the community women's bathrooms. Stall 1 had broken toilet, #2 had feces on the seat, in the toilet, and on the floor, and the 3rd stall had dirty toilet paper on the seat. We notified staff around 11 am and at 9:30pm none of it had been fixed.
They say free WiFi but the signal wasn't strong enough to use.

Room Tip: If you get a cabin or bungalow, get one with street light so you aren't blinded by it at night. However, the WiFi has a very weak signal.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. During the boil alert, which has since been resolved, we did our best to reach as many guests as possible prior to their arrival. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to get ahold of you as well. We definitely want to make sure our cabins are clean for all of our guests and will pass along your feedback to our management team so we can ensure future guests have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

This place could be great but is in desperate need of upkeep and staff communication. We were not advised of a boil water warning which we felt was a serious health risk to us! We were hooked up to the contaminated water and are taking a tank home with us unfortunately. Thank goodness we found out by accident before drinking the water and happened to have drinkable water with us. Although we enjoyed the paved roads, cement pad pad and the pool (which needed paint desperately), I would not return to or recommend a campground that has that little regard for my health. There should have been warning signs on all water outlets as well as verbal information when we reserved.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Judy, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. During the period we had a boil alert, we did our best to reach out to as many guests as possible prior to their arrival. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to get ahold of you as well. We did have numerous signs posted around the park and our staff let people know during check-in. We will do our best to improve in the future, should this situation ever occur again. We do hope you will give us another chance and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We camped over the 4th of July weekend. While there was a lot of rain, our campsite held up well. We did not have a fire pit, but our friends did. Part of our group stayed in one of the cabins and had to call the front office due to ants invading the space. But, Mark Twain did come and spray.

We have stayed at this campground for over 10 years for at least one camping trip a year and it is a shame to see what was such a nice facility not being kept up. The paved roads have huge cracks and potholes, making it dangerous to walk in the dark around the campground or to ride bikes. There also used to be a fun family area with go carts, bumper boats, etc. This area is now closed and in shambles. The miniature golf is still there, but even it needs some work.

I am sure we will stay again, but just a shame to watch a place that used to be the highlight of our summer not get the TLC it used to get with the original owners.

Room Tip: We camped and did not have a room.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tbirdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us as a loyal guest for so many years. We definitely want to make sure we are improving the experience of our campers every year and greatly appreciate your feedback. We have passed along your comments to our management team and will do our best to continue improving for future guests. We do hope you will come see us again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews