We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mark Twain Landing
Nearby Hotels
US$69
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel-Air Motel(Monroe City)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$101
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Hannibal)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$65
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
24
23
13
10
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
23
13
10
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

$25 per person for very little to do. Filthy and trash cluttered all over the place. The yellow slide was the second one I went down after being there 15 minutes. It was very fast and at the end it twists you and I landed on my knees and busted them all up. The life guard said the pool wasn't completely filled yet that she was putting more water in it at that time. That's great. All the life guards sat all day long. No interaction with the guests. We won't be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Robin565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

I'm probably not even gonna remember all the terrible things about this place because there are so many to list. There were 3 cabins our family had reserved for 3 nights. 3 married couples in our 30's with children ages 8 & 15-16. For starters checkin was so weird and long and confusing. There seemed to be too many people standing around getting in the middle of things and making it more hectic. The cabin smelled very bad, at first like overkill on the pinesol then later musty, the walls were severely water damaged, I found mouse droppings on the kitchen counter in the morning, the ceiling fan on the porch is gonna fall on someone's head any day now, day 2 we had to go to the front for more trash bags and toilet paper. Day 2! And even then all they had to give us were small bathroom sized trash bags. Also, one of our golf carts broke down and they didn't have a replacement for it, there was a terrible sewage smell around the cabins that are next to the campground, they had to replace a hot water heater in my brothers cabin, the arcade is a joke as most games weren't working and the change machine was broken, don't even bother to ask the women inside the store for change, it's like you're speaking a different language, horrible front desk service. You have to wait 10 minutes just to purchase ice because they have 4 people standing around trying to check people in and out and you have to wait in line behind all that insane paperwork to be filled out and explained and signed and initialed. They really should have one of those people just run a register so you can purchase items in a timely manner. Hello!? Now The waterpark. Ok well since we got in so cheap I didn't think I'd find much to complain about. But when your only adult pool is closed down you should prob come up with a solution if you're not gonna fix the pool. There's a lazy river that would easily work for a place for only adults. Why would kids enjoy that anyway? All the other stuff there is kid friendly. Just a suggestion. Also, you should get to the waterpark before they open and get in line or you won't even have one single chair to place your items on. We ended up using beach towels under a tree for our stuff. The tiki bar and food was very reasonably priced. The tiki bar is another spot for adults but anyone with a screaming kid sat there while they drank and smoked and ate. The small pool at the campground was very busy. No lifeguard on duty which is fine for us responsible parents that go with our children to the pool. But there were several unsupervised kids running and flipping off the edge and just making it miserable for everyone else. Thanks lazy parents for ruining everyone else's time while you relaxed without your heathens! Also if you're taking teenagers that have a drivers license but aren't 18 yet, they will not let them drive a battery powered golf cart! We thought the kids would really enjoy the golf carts and getting to drive themselves around. We had two licensed 16 year olds with us. Nope. I guess they think it's safer for them to drive a real car around a campground where there's kids running and riding bikes everywhere. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but left a day early because nobody was having any fun. We all felt so much better when we made the decision to start packing up. Never been so excited for a vacation to end! We've all been sick and upset and were left feeling extremely disappointed with the waste of time and money spent on this place. I would not recommend to anyone. I will never go back. It's a joke and it kinda felt like we got scammed into this place and then once there it's like haha!! Gotcha! You can't get your money back now! Too late sucka! Maybe update the website to reflect all the crap that doesn't work. They need to really put some money into renovations and management. I hate feeling depressed after a trip.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Sandnsun79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Just returned from our 11th family reunion at Mark Twain Landing. This place works great for our family of 31. We always have a great time staying three days and two nights. Ages range from 70 to 4 months with the majority being teenagers We do the two day stay and play at the campground and waterpark and it is an economical way to spend the time together. We usually rent four cabins and one RV spot and we are able to all be side by side with a campfire in the middle common space. We decided to try the deluxe cabins after 10 years of renting the family cabins but will go back to them next year. The layouts of the deluxe are just not worth the extra cost. With four of the sleeping spaces being in a loft it just does not work for adults to sleep up there. All in all we have a great time and will return again. Kids love the activities such as the kareoke and water wars. Tons of fun!

Room Tip: If your wanting to sleep 8 unless four are kids the deluxe cabins are not adult friendly.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for your great review, Carolyn! We love hearing such positive feedback from our loyal guests. It's good to hear that the kids loved our activities and that your whole family was able to create more memories with us! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We stopped for the night at what was advertised as a "Passport America" campground (50% discount) what we got was 20%. I know that's more than usual but when you advertise something that's not available it's false advertising. Other than that it's a nice facility. It's well maintained and the staff was friendly. Only rated poor for the bait and switch tactics.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for leaving a review, Bob, and for taking the time to leave a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion surrounding the Passport America discount. We do participate in Passport America, but the program itself has different discounts on different days and that may be the issue here. We'll pass along your comments to our management team and make sure we review the issue with Passport America to ensure we are offering the appropriate discounts. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the life guards and the service we received while there. A life guard told a kid not mine that he was a liar. Also life guards were to busy flirting with girls to notice unexceptable behavior going on around him. Over all very disappointed

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Ashley. We definitely want to make sure our lifeguards are providing the best possible service to our guests and paying attention at all times to the guests who are in the pool or on the slides. We have passed along your feedback to our management team who will address this with the lifeguards directly. We do hope you will reconsider returning to see us again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews