We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Area to Stay in Kansas City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Upon arrival after a long day at 12:30am we noted 2 police cars at the entrance of the hotel, where there had been a fight in the parking lot. Should have been my 1st clue. Checking in, I had a reservation and am a Gold Card Rewards member, we were delayed by someone looking for a cheap room and a taxi. The hotel looked clean. Our room smelled strong with urine but the air conditioner was nice and cold and the beds were comfortable and sheets smelled clean. We checked out before dawn and there wasn't anyone at the desk to check us out. When we went out to our car, a man with no shirt popped up between 2 cars wanting something, I feared that he might have a gun. I will be more careful about my next hotel choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't smell like urine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank macbuzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I have a read your recent review.
I apologize that there was a disturbance during your arrival. We have address those issues as soon as they arise to keep your hotel comfortable and relaxing for our guests.
I also apologize for the unpleasant odor.
I am glad to hear the bed was comfy and the air conditioner worked well.
We continue to strive to provide and comfortable and reassuring stay for each and every guest.
Thank you for your feedback.
Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

Convenient and a good value. Close enough to downtown, Close to Cinder Block Brewery. Large outside area for dogs. Very friendly staff. Easy check in and out. There are more upscale and more expensive choices but for traveling on a budget--hard to beat this place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank J9220MSalanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am glad you were able to enjoy the location, pet friendly ammonites and staff.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

LQs are normally pretty good for a night or two. But not this one. The place is fine for an in-and-out kind of stay, but the whole place just feels tired and in need of updating and a refresh. The lights in the room were dim, the shower head is at eye level and it was more like a Motel 6 than a normal LaQuinta.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank noelw385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us.
I am working hard to make each stay great for our guests.

I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Extraordinary amount of mold in old tub. The bath mat was mildewed to tub like it had never been lifted to clean. Water in tub barely ran...TRULY! Had to call management to check. Still no reasonable flow. Room walls and ceiling looked warped and poorly patched. Nasty feel. could not get another room due to no other vacancies.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ArmyGuyFedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

I have read and shared your recent review with my staff.
We are so upset to hear about your stay.
We are working to correct the issues you brought to our attention.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know, it will help us improve.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Stayed at this hotel a number of years ago and found it to be acceptable. Now it has taken on a tired feel and needs serious updating to feel clean, fresh, and safe again. Location is acceptable but not great. Am told they are trying to improve/add businesses in the general location.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank williamsZ1704YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I appreciate the you taking the time to review your recent stay.
I am actively working on several updates to refresh the hotel.
I hope to see you again in the future.

Brandi W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kansas City
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Kansas City
120 reviews
1.3 km away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
2,903 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#47 of 109 in Kansas City
301 reviews
6.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
5.9 km away
Ramada Kansas City
Ramada Kansas City
#76 of 109 in Kansas City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Kansas City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Kansas City North

Address: 2214 Taney St, North Kansas City, MO 64116-3224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > North Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Kansas City
Price Range: RM275 - RM609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Kansas City North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Kansas City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North Hotel North Kansas City
North Kansas City La Quinta
La Quinta Kansas City North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing