We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Baker's Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boars Head Hotel(Draycott in the Clay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Uttoxeter)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound(Barton-under-Needwood)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
60
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee shopb bacross the roadthe pubfamily hometea roomsconeshoar cross hallstayed for one nightcomfortable bedgrand pianohome made cakesbevquintessentialtvbedroomcorridor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

What an amazingly lovely B and B! Stayed following a day spa at the nearby retreat. Amazingly quaint rooms, reasonably priced, very clean and with a great local pub over the road!

Breakfast was lovely and they accommodated our request for a bit earlier than normal without a grumble!

Definitely planning on staying again!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Pusscat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, we are also pleased to hear you had a nice time at Hoar Cross Spa just up the road from us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a wonderful 5* review, take care, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent quality, made to feel at home, perfect stay thank you very much, the breakfast was to die for, will be coming back again, good little gift shop as well, lovely location, quiet and peaceful setting,

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bainbo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad you had a super stay with us and everything was perfect, we hope to see you again when you are next working in the area, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

I'd say the fact that my family and I have travelled from Sutton Coldfield several times just to come here for coffee and cake tells you all you need to know!
The coffee is lovely, with lots of interesting and indulgent versions to try as well as the usual cappuccino etc. The cakes are homemade and delicious. The sofas in front of the log burner are so cosy to sit on, you never want to leave. The owners are super friendly, they even offered to waive the bill until my next visit when I realised I didn't have cash available, although I did get cash in the end. Will continue to return again and again :-)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank ruby385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Coffee Shop, yes we often get visitors who come a little ride out to Newborough to find us. The log burner does make it lovely and cosy in winter and I'm hoping it won't be too long before the Tea Garden can open and you can enjoy the tranquility of the Garden with you coffee and cake for a change. Glad you had a lovely winter visit and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. See you again soon. Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Bev and her husband and father couldn't have been more welcoming. I am cycling long distance and it was good to come to somewhere where a bike and wet kit wasn't a problem. And a bath was the icing on the cake! Pub across the road served great food, and Bevs breakfast set me up for the day. Don't change anything!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Only stayed one night we were made very welcome, nothing was to much trouble. Pub accross the road was friendly and food was excellent. Location was good for us within ten miles of our venue for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews