We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forwards to going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Baker's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Newborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I stayed for one night at the old bakers cottage this week and I will definitely be going back. Bev the owner was excellent getting in touch with me in advance and also ensuring I had all I needed during my stay. Such a lovely idea having a coffee shop and a B&B! Lovely big beautiful bathroom next to the bedroom and you are able to sit on the sofas in the coffee shop in the evening watching TV if you wish too. There is a pub opposite which I didn't visit but my colleagues from the local area say the food is very good! I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Twin room- bathroom is right next door and lovely and big with beautiful roll top bath and an electr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RebeccaSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2016

Found this 'little gem' nestled in the village of Newborough. Lovely friendly welcome, cosy room with log burning stove for cold winter days. Lovely selection of homemade cakes and barista coffee. The scones we had were delicious and had been baked that morning. The Old Bakers Cottage is also a B&B. Now we've found it, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MuncherJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for the lovely review of the Coffee Shop, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our homemade scones, I'm not sure whether you sampled the sultana ones with clotted cream or the savoury cheese & herb ones with chutney and a chunk of cheddar, but either way I am delighted to read you will be back soon and we can add some further stamps to your coffee loyalty card! Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us your kind review, regards, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for a wedding locally and it was beautiful. Friendly owners made us feel like we were at home. English breakfast in the morning was really tasty. Our room was amazing. Very pretty with a piano in the corner! A gorgeous dressing table and a enquire bathroom that was so antique looking it was really beautiful. Words really can't describe how homely it is. We loved every minute of it and definitely visit again. There is also a little coffee shop downstairs that feels like your front room where we plan on cycling to now to drop in for a cuppa and a slice of cake. Seriously if you want a peaceful weekend away in a picturesque village in a quintessential cottage this is the place to go. With the added bonus of a pub across the way. A must visit! Would recommend a visit and go back in time but still with all the modcons. These are a few photos which really don't do it enough justice.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Hayley, thanks for your wonderful review that's very kind, I hope to meet you both again if you arrange the cycle ride another time, take care both, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We arrived on a very wet day but were greeted warmly into the tea room regardless of the fact we were dripping all over the place. We took the family and single rooms which were full of character as expected from a building so old. Clean, warm and well equipped with log effect fire, TV, tea making facilities and all the usual amenities. Bev kindly booked us a table for dinner in the pub located just across the road which was handy as we would have had to search the countryside for somewhere to eat. Breakfast was more than adequate and catered for all tastes. Certainly go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidringshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you and the family had a lovely stay with us and it would be super to welcome you all back another time, take care, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely overnight stay, our family room, for the two of us was absolutely gorgeous and really clean. Wonderful views of the church, even an old red phone box. Our room was large, the bed was very comfy, everything you could wish for was there and anything you had forgotten could be purchased. Our room even had a grand piano in it, which was quite unexpected. The rooms are above the lovely cake/coffee shop, which you are able to make use of In the evening if you wish. The owner Bev is extremely welcoming and makes you feel very at home.
The breakfast was fabulous! I can't recommend this place enough, it's a perfect retreat get away.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank floozy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for your lovely review of our B&B we are glad you had such a wonderful time here and enjoyed your breakfasts, it would be great to see you again if you are in the area, many thanks Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Baker's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Baker's Cottage

Address: Old Bakers Cottage Duffield Lane, Newborough, Burton upon Trent DE13 8SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Newborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newborough
Price Range: RM 359 - RM 546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Baker's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly B&B in the quiet village of Newborough close to Burton upon Trent. We have two rooms, a family en suite and a twin with a large private bathroom. At the Old Bakers Cottage we also have a fabulous coffee shop and tea garden and serve homemade cakes. We often have business guests, families going to Alton Towers or Drayton Manor, visitors for St Georges FA ground and day guests for Hoar Cross stay at our accommodation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and like to ensure all our guests have a most enjoyable stay whether it be for business, pleasure or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Baker's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing