We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boars Head Hotel(Draycott in the Clay)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
White Hart Hotel(Uttoxeter)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Branston)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel(Burton upon Trent)(Great Value!)
US$41
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
61
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee shopacross the roadfamily homethe pubcomfortable bedgrand pianobevtvbedroomcorridor
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Found this 'little gem' nestled in the village of Newborough. Lovely friendly welcome, cosy room with log burning stove for cold winter days. Lovely selection of homemade cakes and barista coffee. The scones we had were delicious and had been baked that morning. The Old Bakers Cottage is also a B&B. Now we've found it, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MuncherJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for the lovely review of the Coffee Shop, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our homemade scones, I'm not sure whether you sampled the sultana ones with clotted cream or the savoury cheese & herb ones with chutney and a chunk of cheddar, but either way I am delighted to read you will be back soon and we can add some further stamps to your coffee loyalty card! Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us your kind review, regards, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for a wedding locally and it was beautiful. Friendly owners made us feel like we were at home. English breakfast in the morning was really tasty. Our room was amazing. Very pretty with a piano in the corner! A gorgeous dressing table and a enquire bathroom that was so antique looking it was really beautiful. Words really can't describe how homely it is. We loved every minute of it and definitely visit again. There is also a little coffee shop downstairs that feels like your front room where we plan on cycling to now to drop in for a cuppa and a slice of cake. Seriously if you want a peaceful weekend away in a picturesque village in a quintessential cottage this is the place to go. With the added bonus of a pub across the way. A must visit! Would recommend a visit and go back in time but still with all the modcons. These are a few photos which really don't do it enough justice.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Hayley, thanks for your wonderful review that's very kind, I hope to meet you both again if you arrange the cycle ride another time, take care both, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We arrived on a very wet day but were greeted warmly into the tea room regardless of the fact we were dripping all over the place. We took the family and single rooms which were full of character as expected from a building so old. Clean, warm and well equipped with log effect fire, TV, tea making facilities and all the usual amenities. Bev kindly booked us a table for dinner in the pub located just across the road which was handy as we would have had to search the countryside for somewhere to eat. Breakfast was more than adequate and catered for all tastes. Certainly go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidringshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you and the family had a lovely stay with us and it would be super to welcome you all back another time, take care, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely overnight stay, our family room, for the two of us was absolutely gorgeous and really clean. Wonderful views of the church, even an old red phone box. Our room was large, the bed was very comfy, everything you could wish for was there and anything you had forgotten could be purchased. Our room even had a grand piano in it, which was quite unexpected. The rooms are above the lovely cake/coffee shop, which you are able to make use of In the evening if you wish. The owner Bev is extremely welcoming and makes you feel very at home.
The breakfast was fabulous! I can't recommend this place enough, it's a perfect retreat get away.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank floozy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for your lovely review of our B&B we are glad you had such a wonderful time here and enjoyed your breakfasts, it would be great to see you again if you are in the area, many thanks Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We had the best welcome from Bev. We walked into the lobely coffee shop in the stunning village. Our room was just briliant. Great TV, tea and coffee, biscuits. Plenty of space in the room and comfortable beds!

Room Tip: Our room was lovely
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Gareth
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you had a super time and a great night's sleep here with us, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our B&B and we hope to see you again soon, take care, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews