We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nice collection of memorabilia

Great little trip back into 1860. The museum tries to name all the people who started and worked... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2021
HEIDIH394
,
SALEM
via mobile
ANOTHER great museum!

We should've been museum'd out by the time we came here, but it wowed us too! Another place that's... read more

Reviewed 4 August 2021
Wanda H
,
Mascoutah, Illinois
Read all 421 reviews
  
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
247
136
31
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
247
136
31
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony express buffalo bill across the street short film all ages american history gift shop self guided tour st joe great for kids step back in time patee house well worth the visit in town couple of hours riders mail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Great little trip back into 1860. The museum tries to name all the people who started and worked for the Pony Express. They had a few artifacts and some recreation covered wagons and interesting pictures of the people

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank HEIDIH394
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

We should've been museum'd out by the time we came here, but it wowed us too! Another place that's great for people of all ages! Give yourself plenty of time to go through, to get a full appreciation.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Wanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

I am so glad I stopped here. I love the pony express and this museum does it right. There is a short informative film, interactive displays, lots to see, and a truly wonderful staff. Parking was easy, and there a neat park across the street. I was there a little under an hour. Well worth it!

Date of experience: July 2021
2  Thank ColinPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

This was one of our favorite places when we visited St Joseph. It's a plain building but not plain inside! Lots to see! People were very welcoming and exhibits very modern, fresh and well presented.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank pwb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

We walked in the door and we were greeted with a very animated welcome. The man at the desk was pleasant and personable. The museum itself was very well organized and gave credit to all the contributors of information and items. There is an actual well in the museum with an old-fashioned pump - you can look down and see how it works and even pump it. The well was excavated by archaeologists and things they found in it are also displayed. There are histories of the pony express riders and newspaper clippings from the time as well as big mural maps. The bathrooms are clean as well. You can get a stamp for your National Park Passport as well.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank angarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews