We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If a GREAT LOCATION and a KITCHEN are your priorities, this is the cabin for you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Don's Hideaway

Don's Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Babb
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Don's Hideaway
Kingston, TN
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“If a GREAT LOCATION and a KITCHEN are your priorities, this is the cabin for you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION: only 30 minutes to the Many Glacier and Swiftcurrent areas of Glacier National Park, 45 minutes to Logan's Pass and 1 hour to the Two Medicine area. Ideal for us since every day by 7:30 a.m. we left to go hiking and did not return till the evening. About the cabin: think old, think rustic, and you won't be disappointed. However, think nice and new for what counted: plush towels, bedding and comforters, and a nice set of dishes. The cabin is near to lots of other small cabins, some for employees of the restaurant. However, it was very quiet every night. We really enjoyed having a large kitchen with full sized refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, and toaster (and a large sink for washing clothing). We had breakfast in our cabin every morning and then packed lunches to take in our backpacks on our hikes. It was so nice after a day of hiking to come back to our own private cabin to take a long hot shower. The bathroom area is very large, with a dressing area, large shower, and private toilet area with small sink. No air-conditioning in the cabin. Some nights were really hot (till it cooled off later in the night) and some nights were really cold. We really needed the ceiling fan above our bed for the warm nights (especially since we are used to A/C at home in TN). The extra bedroom did not have a ceiling fan, but it looked like there used to be one there. If you're going to need more than one bedroom, you should inquire about ceiling fans. John & Susan were great, always checking with us, when we came into the restaurant, to see if we needed anything. It was an ideal rental for us; wouldn't have done it any other way. However, if you're more into sitting on decks and looking at the scenery, or if you're used to a posh cabin, Don's Hideaway may not be right for you. But for our extended stay of 8 nights, with location and a kitchen being priorities, the spacious Don's Hideaway cabin was JUST RIGHT!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TNKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

If you're planning an extended stay at Glacier National Park, Don's Hideaway is the perfect location for coming "home" to at night.
Nestled in an easily-accessible area with about 5-6 other cabins, Don's Hideaway is clean and unbelievably convenient to many of GNP's best hikes/views.
The owners are extremely friendly, but not obtrusive. They kept trying to offer us more towels, kitchen supplies, etc. There was a vase of wildflowers (that were probably just picked from the yard!) to greet us upon our arrival.
The cabin is not a 5-star hotel, but the bathroom is large, there are plenty of sleeping areas, and it is very clean. It could use a bit of updating, but they also run a nearby restaurant (Two Sisters Cafe - which is excellent).
Book early...we had to be a bit flexible with our dates even though we were 8 months away from our visit.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank amsdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We have traveled to the East Glacier Park area several times and have stayed at other lodgings in the area but found Don's Hideaway to be the very best!
The first review tells about the cabin etc but I wanted to add other details. There are several log cabins that sit in this area. These cabins were once a motel....most of the cabins are rented to college students that are working at 2 Sisters or perhaps the park. The owners live in one of the houses. There were several other cabins that have been remodeled and appear to have owners present. One feels safe in this area.

I can't say enough about the cabin....we were allowed to bring our doxie. Most places in the area do not take pets. The cabin is spacious and plenty of sleeping room. The kitchen has all appliances minus a microwave. There is a propane bq on the porch.

2 Sisters is a great place to eat....there are places to eatin St. Mary, Babb as welll as in the park

Be sure to go to Browning the the Indians of the Plains museum...If you wish information about Browning please contact me

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank retiredinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
311 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

If you want air conditioning, a telephone, an internet connection or a television, this place is not for you. If you want a roomy, comfortable log cabin in the middle of nowhere, but close to paradise, this may be for you. This little known hideway is located on the east side of Glacier National Park, north of St. Mary's and south of Babb, Montana.

Don's Hideway is a log cabin gem operated by the Two Sisters of Montana in Babb. The road has potholes and the paint is peeling, but you can look out your kitchen window and almost touch deer grazing. A local crow will land on your shoulder and beg for food, so be ready! The cabin is rustic but roomy and will easily sleep seven, with two bedrooms, a pull-out couch and a day bed on the porch. The kitchen is equipped with a refrigerator, stove and microwave, there is baseboard heat in the main rooms and a nice bath with a hot shower and separate toilet stall. Like I said, there is no television, but if you will look in the cabinet in the living room you will find Monopoly, Yatzee and magazines to pass your time in the quiet splendor of an evening at the top of the world.

If you want to eat out, no problem! Right at the entrance to the road to the cabins is the Two Sisters Restaurant, a brightly colored building that offers great food at reasonable prices. If you want heartier fare in the form of HUGE, delicious steaks, want not, the Cattle Baron Supper Club is just right up the road a ways.

I'm saving the best for the last....location, location, LOCATION. Don's Hideway is located just east of the greatest National Park in the country, Glacier. Just west is Many Glacier and just north is Chief Mountain and Waterton, Canada, perhaps the most beautiful setting in the park.

What else can I say? Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
14 Thank Goatesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babb
37.8 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
37.7 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
9.2 km away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
10.2 km away
Many Glacier Campground
Many Glacier Campground
#4 of 7 in Glacier National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
21.7 km away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 7 in Glacier National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don's Hideaway

Property: Don's Hideaway
Address: U.S. 89, Babb, MT 59411
Region: United States > Montana > Babb
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Babb
Price range (per night): RM616
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing