We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A woodsy getaway close to Flathead Country and Glacier National Park.”
Review of Swan Lake Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bigfork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swan Lake Cabins
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We have stayed at Swan Lake Cabins five years and will be back next year. The owners, Linda and Charley are really nice people and their cabins are very much log construction in a woodsy setting. Amenities are typical of a log cabin, visit their website for more info. If you want a getaway that offers a time to reconnect with nature, read a book, take a walk, this is your place. And, if you are looking for a base to explore Northwestern Montana, this place works for that too. The cabins are very clean, spaced for solitude, and the beds are awesome for a good night sleep. Hope you enjoy as we do.

Room Tip: Cabins are all very nice, we have stayed in them all. We like Cowboy because it is the most seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mtfar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Swan Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

We are delighted to hear that you have been so satisfied with your stays at our cabins over the last 5 summers. We feel that your review perfectly describes the essence of the experience that we strive to provide for our guests. Thank your for taking the time to describe how you have experienced staying at our nature-connected property.We're sure prospective guests will find your review very helpful. We have enjoyed hosting you and look forward to seeing you again next summer. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2016

The Swan Lake Cabins provided a perfect getaway location for our small wedding. The hosts were very accommodating and while they gave us much privacy, they ensured we had everything we needed in order for the entire family to feel at home and welcomed. The cabins were clean and the grounds were beautiful. This property has more than enough space for large groups to spread out and yet is quaint enough to where a couple could have the perfect weekend getaway without the crowds. Enjoy a fire outside your cabin or a cup of coffee on the porch, these cabins beat staying in a motel any day!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brgill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Swan Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for your kind feedback on your experience using our facilities for your May wedding ceremony, reception and lodging. You and your family were a pleasure to get to know as your lovely small wedding unfolded. Thanks for letting us know that we succeeded in our goal of being a quiet, comfortable and nature-connected alternative to a motel stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Hummingbird House was a beautiful, relaxing retreat. Linda & Charley were the perfect hosts and were happy to accomodate our requests. The house was perfect for our family. Our Son and his wife and 2 little girls stayed with us for 4 days. The upstairs was perfect for them with the 2 bedrooms and bathroom and my Husband and I stayed in the downstairs bedroom and had our own bathroom too. We loved the views from the upper and lower outside decks which were also a perfect place to read a good book. The kitchen was very nice and worked well for canning some of the delicious, local flathead cherries. The town of Big Fork is a short distance away and has a nice grocery store, art galleries, shopping and good places to eat. One of our favorite cafe's is the Pocketstone. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: The Hummingbird House is perfect for two couples with 2 or 3 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Berta884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Swan Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

We are so pleased that our Hummingbird House worked well for your family's vacation. How wonderful that you were able to make use of the canner in the kitchen to preserve some delicious Flathead cherries to take back home with you. Thank you for sharing the tip about how the home configuration works for families like yours. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We (3 couples) rented Hummingbird House for two weeks in August to attend our daughter's wedding in Bigfork, and other family members rented cabins onsite. It was the perfect arrangement for a large group that wanted to be together, but not on top of each other.

The house and cabins were immaculately clean, well-appointed, nicely decorated, and provided high quality linens. Beds were very comfortable with good mattresses. The kitchen in Hummingbird House was unusually well-equipped, making it easy to cook several large dinners and host family onsite. The owners Linda and Charlie could not have been more gracious and accommodating, providing extra chairs and dishes for a few large gatherings.

The location is about a 10-minute easy drive from Bigfork, with a beautiful view of Swan Lake. The larger town of Kalispell is about 35 minutes away, and Missoula is about 2 hours south.

We spent time kayaking, canoeing, horseback riding, hiking, fly fishing, lake fishing (great trout!) and touring Glacier National Park (an hour away). Day trips to Whitefish for shopping and riding the gondola to the top of the Whitefish mountain were also fun.

Hummingbird House and the three cabins I visited are exactly as pictured on the website. This is a lovely location with great hosts, and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Swan Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thank you so much for your review and the specific information you provided regarding our location, the suitability of our house and cabins for larger groups, and the quality of the amenities we provide. Your recognition of the things we do to ensure our guests have a quality experience means a lot. It was a pleasure to have you and the others in your party stay with us and we hope to see you again. Thanks also for sharing the bounty of your trout fishing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We loved the cabin and was very happy with our stay there. I would be happy to tell all of my friends what a wonderful place this was to stay.
The grill outside did not light very easily, the ignition switch was not working. The freezer in the refrigerator did not work very well. The shower was not cleaned very well before we got there.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Swan Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are glad that your overall experience was very positive and that you would recommend our cabins to others. We regret that we were not made aware of the problems you experienced with the grill igniter, freezer compartment and cleanliness of the shower during your stay so that we could have taken action to improve your experience. We appreciate that the comments in your review will enable us to take action to benefit future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bigfork hotels
12.0 km away
Bridge Street Cottages
Bridge Street Cottages
#1 of 3 in Bigfork
138 reviews
12.7 km away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
12.2 km away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#3 of 3 in Bigfork
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Flathead Lake Resort
Flathead Lake Resort
#4 of 8 in Bigfork
23 reviews
8.9 km away
Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge
8.1 km away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#2 of 8 in Bigfork
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Lake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Lake Cabins

Address: 27572 Morning Wood Ln, Bigfork, MT 59911-7922
Region: United States > Montana > Bigfork
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Bigfork
Price Range: RM477 - RM685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Montana in a cozy log cabin in a tranquil wilderness setting. Equipped with kitchenettes, private bathrooms, natural log furniture, and porch swings. Each cabin is nestled in the trees with picnic table and fire pit. Gas barbecue, microwave and small refrigerator. Close to Bigfork, Glacier Park and Swan Lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing