We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellowstone Visit”
Review of Soda Butte Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soda Butte Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The hotel was welcoming and clean and the rooms well appointed and spotless. Very very comfortable beds. Late night arrivals were a little noisy but although we were on the front ground floor there was no noise from the street or parking area. Food wasn't cordon bleu but was plentiful, well cooked and served with a load of western charm and enthusiasm. Although no tea/coffee making in the rooms there was free drinks, fresh fruit and selection of muffins available in the lobby. There is free wifi both in the rooms and the communal areas although the lobby area was best for reception, you are asked not to use video or audio access presumably because of poor reception or the fact that it clogs the system however we had no trouble facetiming early in the morning. Great base for exploring Yellowstone National Park and the beautiful state of Montana

Room Tip: Ground floor back rooms will have best views and saves lugging the cases upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeanbW1704ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

I stayed here one evening on a trip to Yellowstone. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quite nice. Good restaurant for dinner and breakfast. WiFi was a bit slow, but in a town that generally has no cell phone service at all, it's nice to have WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank malcolmmanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

As my wife and granddaughter were heading into the Northeast entrance to Yellowstone, we decided to stop in Cooke City for lunch. We chose the Soda Butte Lodge dining room. Krystal, our server, provided excellent service. The food was very good - grilled cheese and hamburger and fries. We had sufficient food to continue our journey into the Park. The staff was all very friendly. Recommend Soda Butte Lodge for lunch!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Prescott2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The room was nice. Unfortunately, my truck took $5000 worth of damage. I was parked in the hotel lot and some idiots on side-by-sides put my truck and other cars in the crossfire of a hail of gravel and rocks. The manager would not answer her phone after hours so we had to wait till morning. There are cameras onsite but I was told they dont record! There is no Police in this town and the only available law enforcement is the county sheriff hours away. I was told by the hotel staff that this is a lawless town but the locals are nice, its the outsiders that cause the problems. Stay away! If you are coming into Yellowstone via the beartooth highway, continue on to Gardiner MT. This place is awful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We booked this room back in January and spoke directly with the front desk. We did not use an online booking. We were travelling with another couple and we were told we would have a "family room" - a room with 2 separate bedrooms with a bath and sitting room. When we got our room we got a larger room with 3 beds. When we went back to the front desk to inquire what happened, the lady just laughed and told us that was all they had - take it or leave it. I even made mention of the name of the person we booked this room with. Again - a laugh. Then we had to ask for more towels - 3 sets of towels for 4 people does not work. Had to ask for and sign out a hair dryer. Hot water? Sometimes. Glad I brought my own shampoo because there wasn't enough to go around! The lights above the sink did not work - at all - none of the 3 light bulbs lit. There was a gap around the door going to the hallway. And we had to park across the street (not a big deal) where there was a falling down abandoned building - that was a big deal. But because it was high time at Yellowstone, we were stuck with what we had.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.2 km away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
40.0 km away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
368 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soda Butte Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soda Butte Lodge

Address: 209 Highwway 212, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Price Range: RM560 - RM651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooke City is situated in the Beartooth Absaroka mountains. Accessible via Montana Hwy 212 Beartooth Scenic Highway, Chief Joseph Scenic Hwy 296 and Yellowstone National Park. Soda Butte Lodge is located on Main Street in the center of town. Our 32 guest rooms are located on two floors of the motel. We are also, the only full service motel in Cooke City with 3-meal restaurant and sports bar full liquor. The large lobby is a great place to relax, by the fireplace or by the windows to "people watch", play cards, read or visit with friends. We are just 3 1/2 miles from the north east entrance to Yellowstone National Park and the infamous Lamar Valley where "wolf watching" is very popular. The area is ideal for wildlife viewing, horseback riding, fishing, hiking, 4 wheeling and many photo-ops. Winter in Cooke City is unlike no other. Extreme snowmobiling, snowboarding and cross country skiing at its' finest. Winter, the lodge, is only accessible through Yellowstone Park (Mammoth) or drive over Chief Joseph to Pilot Creek parking lot and snowmobile in the last 9 miles. Our area is rich in the things money can't buy: history, beauty, wildlife and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Soda Butte Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soda Butte Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing