We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, authentic”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, authentic”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here with our two large dogs in July 2010. (I delayed in writing this review, and my only option was to choose the July 2011 button.) The front desk personnel were very welcoming - we were treated as if we were old friends, not vistors passing through. Livingston has the look and feel of an earlier time and this hotel is one of the main reasons for that authentic experience. Will definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    52
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
117
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana, USA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The rooms are wonderfully decorated and the bed is uber comfortable. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We ended our day exploring Yellowstone and stopping here was a great choice!

Room Tip: Choose a room up a floor or two since there is a bar tucked under one side on the ground floor. Eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTHOTELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I run a guest ranch/event center so I know. Staff was wonderful and as described. Food was good at the Bistro...............off season rates make it attractive, will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRanchVictor_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late September. We chose Livingston as a base camp for exploring the area and chose the Murray because it's a historic hotel and it looked so fantastic from its website. And it certainly lived up to our expectations. We asked for a quiet room because of comments about noise from other reviewers and had a 1-bedroom suite on the 4th floor. As other reviewers have noted, the elevator is vintage and can only be operated by staff, so we took the stairs which was not a problem for us but could pose significant challenges for some folks with mobility issues, especially given the altitude.

The suite had a sitting room with a galley kitchen at one end, and a leather couch and easy chair. The bedroom had a queen bed and ensuite. The WC was quite compact and had a toilet and shower - the sink was in the bedroom. It had all the amenities you'd need to cook, entertain, have a glass of wine, or relax and watch TV in bed. The only noise was from road work on the street (the entire downtown seems to be undergoing a renewal) but it was minimal and the windows blocked out most of it. The hotel also has an outstanding restaurant, the 2nd Street Bistro, where we ate 2 of the three nights. Excellent food and a superb wine list.

Overall, this hotel exceeded its reputation. Livingston is a lovely town - it has at least 3 independent bookstores and several cafes where you can have a great coffee and pastry and read the local paper. We will definitely stay here again and have recommended the Murray to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quiet. Rooms on the second floor are more easily accessible for travelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodland hills, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

sometimes, when you're on the road for a long time, you miss home. you miss the independence and the throw that sits on the end of the bed. after some research on where to stop between mt. rushmore and spokane, i decided upon the murray hotel. we arrive late in the evening and the front desk attendant (later learned he was the owners' son) was nice and helpful. we checked in, ate at the 2nd street bistro downstairs (must-do), and then unloaded our car. he took us up in the elevator, which was helpful.

my only complaints were that it was a little noisy with the bar downstairs...but, i enjoyed the reminiscent feeling of being in a college apartment.

we arrived on a weekend and didn't have any problems with parking, but i suppose i could see it being an issue during the busy season(s).

the room was an old style room with a comfortable bed and no one knocking on your door before check-out time. i enjoyed the ambiance very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offtolookforamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
25.1 km away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Livingston
201 reviews
1.7 km away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#5 of 10 in Livingston
371 reviews
1.9 km away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#6 of 10 in Livingston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
88 reviews
36.9 km away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
217 reviews
37.2 km away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 201 W Park St, (Corner of Second and Park streets), Livingston, MT 59047-2628
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price range (per night): RM905 - RM1,003
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is an authentic Western hotel with modern amenities in the beautiful destination of Livingston, Montana. The Murray Hotel occupies 4 floors with 30 rooms or suites that are tastefully furnished with attention to modern comfort and the hotel’s historic legacy. The entire hotel is a non-smoking facility with a rooftop patio that is available for smoking, or just enjoying the mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing