We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to experience the motels of your childhood stay here.”
Review of Rimrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rimrock Lodge
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I think this place is terrific. It's down home Montana friendly and is exactly like the motels I stayed in as a kid. It is very nostalgia. Exceptionally clean, impeccably clean. Quiet, beautiful view. We checked in late and the bartender in the lounge had our reservation and checked us in with no problems. Good selection of TV stations. Good internet.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Candy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Rimrock Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2016

We loved everything about Rimrock Lodge! We motorcycle and love places where you pull right up to your room door and if there’s a decent restaurant within walking distance, that’s tops! Laurel set us up with a Rimrock Lodge room that was clean, spacious, well-appointed, and offer splendid views of the Clark Fork River. The air-conditioning could have been more aggressive but that’s a minor quibble. A great spot for $70/night!

There’s a knack to good bartending that includes being knowledgeable about what you’re serving and being a great conservationist. Josh is a terrific bartender! He led Laurie through the various MT craft beers he had available and urged me to get the Tanqueray for my gin and tonic instead of the locally produced Lewis and Clark. I had one of each and he was absolutely right! He got us involved in conversation with a local guy and we had a nice prelude to dinner.

Laurel did a great job taking care of us in the woodsy and comfortable dining room with scenic river views. Laurie and I both had steaks (though I wish one of us would have ordered the trout). Man what a great rib eye steak they serve up! Perfectly grilled, locally sourced, aged, and never frozen choice beef sided with a medley of grilled garlicky fresh veggies... The peppery sausage gravy, which Laurel said we HAD to try, was fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

this place is about a mile out of town along a a beautiful river
when we were checking in the air-conditioning had been down for some time staff seemed to be getting a little over-heated
the room's air-conditioner worked fine
we had a great night's rest
the room was very spacious just needed some updating especially the bathroom

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

First off the customer service was a C at best.
The food was ok, another A-.
Cleanliness of the room A.
WI-Fi...F. Two rooms from the router and zero internet.
Sooo...why the 2 stars, the doors don't seal. There is nothing but a handle lock. Very unsafe. On my 4th night stay at approx 12:10 a.m I stepped out to throw some trash in a can that was about 20 ft from my room. The wind caught and slammed the door. The hotel had no emergency contact number, no one man's the desk, I was the ONLY guest, trapped in my pajamas outside in 43° temps. Twice I beat on the owners door who lives in the back of the property. Nothing, drove to the only place open, trying to get a phone #. That was at the police station. She called and called. Since my reservation was through Expedia I called them hoping they had an emergency number, apparently this hotel just came on board and the owner listed the #'s to the restaurant and lounge! Which both close at 9 p.m. Expedia tried everything. Luckily I had a hide-a-key so I could sit in my truck for 7 hours!!!!!! Thank God for the key to my truck, I'd have had an even worse night!!What would have happened if a room flooded, there are any number of other things that could have gone wrong? I can see why the other hotels were booked full and I'm the ONLY one here...never again! If I wanted to camp in my truck I wouldn't have rented a room!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

My wife and I and our grandson called ahead for reservations at Rimrock Lodge. We were given a quote over the phone, but when we got there, the rate was not honored. We arrive too late to change hotels. Room turned out to be dingy and an antiquated. Definitely not worth either the price I paid or was quoted. Don't stop, keep going.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Mushroom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Roussy, General Manager at Rimrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I was told about your situation recently, as the new Manager I apologize for the misunderstanding. I have implemented better training for the staff so this type if issue will not arise again. All discounts must be accompanied by the proper documentation and not guaranteed over the phone. Please give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thompson Falls hotels
253.6 km away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
102 reviews
1.7 km away
Falls Motel
Falls Motel
#2 of 2 in Thompson Falls
183 reviews
15.8 km away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Lodge

Address: 6 Rimrock Lane, Thompson Falls, MT 59873
Region: United States > Montana > Thompson Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thompson Falls
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rimrock Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full service lodge amid the pine and fir trees on the bank of the Clark Fork River with restaurant, motel, RV park & campground, lounge, casino, outside deck & patio, and bowling lanes. Displays of historic mining equipment, rock specimens, numerous photographs, ship models and airplane mementos are dispersed throughout the main lodge. Has served Thompson Falls, Sanders County, and Western Montana for: graduation exercises family and class reunions weddings civic and community meetings award banquets memorial services bicycle and motorcycle clubs fishing contests antique cars pilot meetings forest fire crews distressed family members Parking available for trucks, trailers, boats, and campers in our lot during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rimrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing