We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Rude”
Review of Cafe Kandahar

Cafe Kandahar
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Small, boutique, fine dining establishment specializing in farm-to-table ingredients, creative techniques, wine pairings, and tasting menus.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The RUDEST service I have ever experienced. Our trip had some last minute set backs and we were calling (not to cancel) but to change the date of our reservation and proceeded to get insulted and hung up on. I called back to cancel right away & we will never be eating here. I don’t care what the food tastes like, you should never talk to guests & customers that way.

Date of visit: February 2021
3  Thank leahmK8773SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCB1865, Owner at Cafe Kandahar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

This customer had made a reservation for dinner on January 20 for February 13th. At the time she made the reservation we informed her of our 48 hour cancelation policy. We texted her 48 hours in advance to confirm the reservation but she did not respond. We called her the next day and had to leave a voice mail. She then called back and said she wanted to cancel. We again reminded her of our 48 hour policy, so she then rescheduled to next month. As a result we did not invoke our cancelation policy even though it left us with an open table. She then texted back a few minutes later to cancel her reservation all together stating it was due to our "rudeness". She and her party did not dine with us, so this is an unfortunate review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

We are staying at Kandahar Lodge and ordered the to go menu from Cafe K. Oh so yummy, from the brussel sprouts and shrimp, elk stroganoff and pizza! Definitely will do again.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank YaYaAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

We had a family dinner at this restaurant—nice and cozy interior and atmosphere. The personal was very attentive and super nice. We enjoyed talking to our host. But the main memory is the food. It's really impressive! All courses were truly amazing, and I would even say, exceptional!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Extraordinary498747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2020

I've eaten at all the other eight restaurants listed above Cafe Kandahar, and I suspect that their superior ratings are because they're downtown and frequented by more people who have never been to CK. It's far and away the best dining experience in Whitefish, rivaling five-star restaurants like The Mansion in Dallas Brennan's in New Orleans, not as elegant in atmosphere, but comparable in its culinary quality.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 712halb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2020

Despite the limitations of Covid, this small returant is producing 5 star dining 5 nights a week. Excellent tasting menu with wine pairings. It was the dining highlight of a 3 week visit to Whitefish.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank TexPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Kandahar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Kandahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.