We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome”

Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center is the public face of the Platte River Whooping Crane Maintenance Trust. We are a nonprofit whose mission is the preservation and restoration of Platte River Valley habitat for whooping cranes, sandhill cranes, and other migratory birds. The Nature & Visitor Center has 10 miles of walking trails, an observation tower, a bison herd, art gallery, gift shop, and informational exhibits about cranes. We also offer tourism information for the state of Nebraska. During the spring crane migration, we offer viewing blind tours to see cranes up close on their river roosts, and driving maps of the area so visitors can see the cranes while they are in the fields feeding.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 1 April 2018

It met all my expectations knowlageable guides and plenty of birds. Everyone should experience once in a lifetime if not more. Keep up the good work

Thank jdmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie D, Public Relations Manager at Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review! We will keep up the good work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crane trust"
in 57 reviews
"bison"
in 18 reviews
"sandhill cranes"
in 53 reviews
"the river"
in 43 reviews
"gift shop"
in 15 reviews
"morning tour"
in 6 reviews
"early morning"
in 8 reviews
"next year"
in 7 reviews
"whooping crane"
in 7 reviews
"mid march"
in 5 reviews
"tens of thousands"
in 5 reviews
"bucket list"
in 4 reviews
"cinnamon rolls"
in 4 reviews
"vip experience"
in 4 reviews
"annual migration"
in 4 reviews
"knowledgeable staff"
in 4 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

My 91 year old mother and I did a sunset tour. The Crane Trust visitor center is very nice, both staff and volunteers were outstanding. The blind experience was well worth doing. But I was somewhat disappointed that we only viewed the cranes from a distance. The temps were in the 60's that afternoon, but with the wind coming off the river, it was COLD. Wear hats, gloves and long undies as well as a very warm coat. Bring good binoculars. Still, it was an amazing experience, watching 10-15 thousand cranes come into roost on the river. Harkens back to a time when humans weren't a dominate species on almost every corner of the planet. BTW, we had a closer view of the Sandhill Cranes driving out of Grand Island the next morning. Just drive a few rural roads adjacent to corn fields and you will see them feeding.

Thank cindysundancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie D, Public Relations Manager at Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Cindy. It's unfortunate the cranes didn't land closer to your blind that evening. We had a couple nights where eagles scared them off or caused them to land further away by hijacking a sandbar with their evening meal. Some visitors book two tours for that reason - incase one doesn't work out due to weather or cranes roosting further away. We hope you have an opportunity to come back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This was an amazing experience. I spent the night in an unheated photo blind on the Platte River with at least 100,000 Sandhill Cranes and one Whooping Crane. As the Crane Trust explains, this experience is NOT for everyone. The blind has a straw floor and it was very cold and windy. That being said, I would do it again tomorrow. Being there to see that many birds come in to roost at night and to wake up with them in the morning when they leave to feed in the fields is an experience no one will forget. If you go take a tarp to lay down on the floor and a warm sleeping pad, bag and your warmest clothes. Oh yeah, take toilet paper as the only facility is a bucket with a liner that they give you.

Thank sanders369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie D, Public Relations Manager at Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5-star review of our photo blind. You're right, it isn't for everyone but we're thrilled to hear you loved it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The sight of 50,000 cranes waking up to the morning on the Platte River was an amazing experience. Something to see for all ages.

The only drawback was that the two guides did not pay a lot of attention to the time. The tour started at 6 am, and was supposed to end at 8, and many were ready to head back then, but the guides did not return the group to their cars until 8:30.

Thank Marcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie D, Public Relations Manager at Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your feedback, Marcy. Sometimes if the birds are too close, the guides are advised to wait so the birds aren't disturbed. If that wasn't the case we will make sure to ask the volunteers to pay closer attention to the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

A great way to see Sandhill Cranes roosting in the Platte River! The sights and sounds were amazing!

Thank Kyra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie D, Public Relations Manager at Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We're so happy to hear you had a great experience! Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5-star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Crane Trust Nature & Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing