We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely time”
other travellers have booked this property
Farmhouse, South facing with wonderful views over the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Farmhouse, South facing with wonderful views over the valley
Cosy log burning stove - ideal after a long winter walk View across the valley from the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Farmhouse, South facing with wonderful views over the valley
Cosy log burning stove - ideal after a long winter walk
View across the valley from the property
Sitting room with TV, DVD, Hi-Fi and woodburning stove
Our ancient orchard adjacent the farmhouse
Lake in Front Meadow
The lane to Hallwood and the village
Generously & thoughtfully equipped kitchen
Downstairs double bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom with ensuite & cot
Downstairs Ensuite bathroom with Power Shower
Misty morning
Tilling early carrots at Hallwood
View over Hallwood fields
Downstairs family bathroom with Power Shower & bath
Sunny South facing kitchen
Dining room with seating for 10 - 12
Dining room with woodburner
Upstairs family bathroom with bath with shower over
Upstairs twin bedroom (Lovely views)
Upstairs family room with a double & 2 singles
Plenty to keep little folk entertained
Large drying room
More to keep young & old amused!
A library of tourist information, books & maps centred on Hallwood
It's lovely here - see what our guests have said!
It's lovely here- see what our guests have said!
Lots of beautiful original artwork to be enjoyed
I's lovely here - see what our guests have said!
It's lovely here - see what our guests have said!
Lots of beautiful original artwork to be enjoyed
Woodburner in sitting room
Mrs Pig
Hallwood Farmhouse in early spring
Richard & Ruth
Todler sized piglets
Young Ruby Red Devon x Jersey calves
Richard checking the cattle in Cow Moor field
Lovely fresh seasonal veg grown here on the farm. Stock up from the farm honesty shop
Books,CD's & DVD's for all
Old pine settle with a seat chest full of toys
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Petrockstowe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dawn p
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely time”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I treated the family to a weekend away. We had a wonderful time and nothing was to much trouble. The youngest children liked to see the animals.
It was nice having some basics in the kitchen.
It is worth trying the sausages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Hi Dawn, it was great to meet you all. So glad you had a good time and thank you for your kind comments. Would love to see you all again one day.
Ruth & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicksys
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT FAMILY HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful week at Hallwood Farm over the half term holiday. We were a party of 6 adults and one dog and there was plenty of space for all of us. The weather was very kind for February and we spent every day walking around the farm and surrounding area. We also spent a couple of afternoons sat on the picnic benches drawing and painting the wonderful scenery. The local pub was probably the friendliest pub I have ever been in and everyone in the village was very welcoming. Ruth and Richard were amazing hosts and we cooked every night from food brought from the farm, all of it was delicious. We can't wait for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A fantastic location to spend a relaxing family holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
So glad you enjoyed! Thank you for your kind comments. We will pass your praise on to the pub too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicksy88
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great out of season holiday on this friendly farm - it's a must do”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our extended family party of 6 adults really enjoyed our week in February. Richard and Ruth were really excellent in communicating leading up to the holiday and were very welcoming when we were there. This welcome extended to the local pub where all the locals were very friendly and we had a great time.

The farm is a real working farm and the local meat and veg were excellent. We ordered in advance and it was all in the kitchen for us when we arrived. It tasted fantastic and we definitely came away a few pounds heavier!

The farm is great fun and you can feed the pigs and generally roam. The garden is south facing and this made the nice early spring weather we experienced warm the garden up quickly. We were easily able to exercise the dog and usually had company from the two farm dogs, Fidget and Hartley.

Overall a fantastic week enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of the owners and the whole local community
Liked least: It was muddy when we were there - but it was February after a wet winter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Kind comments indeed. Thank you. Loved meeting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I held my 40th Birthday residency at Hallwood farm. It had to be somewhere for me to bring 8 of my girlfriends to party, a romantic place for me and my boyfriend to enjoy and also a setting for my family to enjoy a break. The farm did all three of these brilliantly. Beautiful setting with a spacious and well equipped house which is lovingly decorated. We had a blast there and are now considering a yearly pilgrimage. The Laurels pub is also a fantastic boozer which treated us liked locals. Can't wait to return to enjoy the piglets and as a girl that don't drive its comforting to have a farm shop on site which stocks fresh veg, cheese and juice amongst lots of other yummy things. It rained all week and we didn't care as the place is so snuggly and cosy. Richard, Ruth and Beth gave us a lovely warm welcome and also just let us get on with it so it felt like home from home. Thanks for having us x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Piglet feeding
Liked least: leaving...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Hi Angie, so glad that you all had such a lovely stay here at Hallwood. Thanks for the nice review you are all welcome back anytime!
Ruth x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful week at Hallwood Farm in the beautiful Devon countryside. Ruth and Richard are very welcoming and we loved hearing about farm life and seeing the animals, especially the piglets. The dogs are a joy, our own dog is missing them terribly! The cottage is perfect and very well equipped. It has plenty of room but still cosy with everything you need for your holiday. The Laurels Inn in the village is within walking distance and has a really friendly atmosphere, great food and real ales. We were made to feel like locals! We loved everything about our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$135
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing