We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal for large families.”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #37 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 March 2012

So I found out about the hotel from searching this site. I found the reviews to be accurate and honest. When we check in, not five minutes into the hotel concierge gave us great info on free shows on the strip and the best way to maneuver from strip to downtown.

If I could change anything it would be the hours of contenital breakfast. That time went so fast and the line so long that I only wanted to grab juice and leave. However, the staff was very accommodating and friendly that more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pb1bicdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,494 of 3,923 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

I am an elite owner with SHELL Vacations Club and this is one of ours. Usually SHELL properties are all GREAT, but this one leaves much to be desired! It was old and run-down, noisy, and had "QUESTIONABLE" employees and other guests! Not at all the nice atmosphere I expected or am used to with SHELL. It is a nice location...close to the strip...walking distance, but the place itself is almost a dive!

Room Tip: top floor away from pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Before heading out to Vegas,for the first time,I checked reviews for this resort and it was rated in the top 10 in Vegas(Tripadvisor).My wife and myself chose this resort over others also because it had a kitchen,so we wouldn't have to buy food all the time,and because it was comprised of a number of 3 story buildings instead of overcrowded,smokey,noise filled towers.It was only a block from the strip and within walking distance to everything.We arrived in Vegas late but the 2 ladies at the reception desk were very helpful and without asking put us in a better,closer room to the front entrance.The service during our whole stay remained this way.There was no noise,everything,including the room, was very clean and breakfast was included everyday.Staff was very friendly and always willing to help.Don't get me wrong,we went to Vegas to see all the lights and glitz and glamor and we explored the strip thouroghly,but at night it was nice to come back to a place that felt more like home instead of always having to walk through a casino to find your elevator tucked away in a back corner.There was also a nice pool area(which we didn't use because it was a little cool)and if we ever go back to Vegas we will definitely be staying here again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRYieldManager, Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for your kind words for Desert Rose Resort! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will share your review with our staff, it is always wonderful to hear that we are doing a great job!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The rooms are spacious, well equipped with lots of utensils, but we couldn't find a pair scissors. We used a pair which we brought along.
It's a walk away from the noise and smoke of the casinos and we could understand why alot of the previous reviews appreciated that. Security is high, key cards not only open your room door but also the external doors to the block you are staying in.
We did a bit of shopping at Las Vegas Town Square and appreciated the fact that Taxi drivers didn't have to go through the stop start traffic to drop us off at our hotel. Our room faced the road, but it didn't bother us as we slept really soundly. There's a free PC terminal with a printer to print your tour bookings and other coupons. We thought that was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet line was long, but it didn't bother us, since we would rather try the breakfast selections on the strip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staycation79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I decided to do a "me" break for a few days before heading to San Diego, and booked this hotel on-line and was pleasantly surprised. The 1 bedroom suite was perfect, and it was set away from all the noise on the strip. Its the perfect location for allowing one to enjoy the strip, but to also get away and tour Las Vegas. The parking is very convenient and its located just off some secondary roads that allow for easy access to the freeways and airport. The staff are very helpful and quite knowledgeable in directing you to the numerous tourist/shopping sites, as well as sharing cost saving tips on booking evening venues. There is a lovely pool and BBQ area, as well as a work out area for those that don't want to walk the strip. It also offered complimentary internet/WIFI access at no charge. The other great benefit of this hotel is the happy hour and great breakfast that was included in the cost....I will definitely be back to this facility...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRYieldManager, Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for choosing Desert Rose Resort! We appreciate our customers and are happy that we made a postitive impact on your vacation. We hope to have another chance to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#20 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,419 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#27 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,587 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#31 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,249 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#67 of 264 in Las Vegas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: RM366 - RM1,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing