We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at A Good Price”

Second Street Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Second Street Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #417 of 5,377 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Casino Center
Description: Enjoy casual fine dining and exquisite cuisine at the Second Street Grill, recognized as one of Las Vegas' best restaurants year after year by the Zagat Survey. We offer a unique array of American cuisine with Pacific Rim influence, including steak, fresh seafood and poultry. With delicious dishes, great value and exceptional service, the Second Street Grill is a dining experience not to be missed the next time you’re Downtown!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

They had some really good food at some of the best prices in Vegas. The breakfast and burgers were both amazing! The service was awesome as well!

Thank Ciara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Manager at Second Street Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully your next visit will be a five-star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

A hidden gem in Fremont. Great prices and delicious food. Some of their wine is just above retail, not the usual 400% markup. Surf and turf was great but their duck was amazing. Good portions too.

Thank Ggomez587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Manager at Second Street Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for visiting us! We’d love to have you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Have always wanted to try their t-bone special. What a deal as this is an all out entree that leaves you stuffed. Other menu items are pan-asian mix like misoyaki butterfish and hunan pork lettuce wraps. There were no bad choices in our group.
Unable to comment on the dessert since everyone was too stuffed on the appetizers and like.
Service was friendly, helpful and prompt. Look forward to going back to try other dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gy820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Manager at Second Street Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully your next visit will be a five-star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Toney was are server his the best I've ever had serve me my boyfriend use to be a server and has been served by many waiters in his day and he feels it was the best food and service he has had in and out of 5 star restaurant's execelent loved it

Thank Raechelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Owner at Second Street Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

We are pleased to learn your experience was excellent! Please come back again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

My husband and I have been staying at the Fremont Hotel since 2008 and we typically visit the week after the NFR and right before Christmas. This time of year finds many of the finer restaurants (and popular shows) to be closed or dark, to do the yearly sprucing up and to give the employees holiday time with their loved ones.

This year, we visited the first full week in February and were beyond excited to find out we could FINALLY visit the Second Street Grill. Every year, we gaze wistfully at their posted menu, and dab a tear from our eyes as we read the sign that says 'we are closed now but will re-open on December XX' which is always the day AFTER we leave town!

This year, things were going to be VERY different! Last year, we had the pleasure of meeting the manager, Leslie, who has over the past year, become a dear friend and we were anxious to connect again in person. We alerted her to our impromptu visit to Vegas and promised to let her know when we'd be stopping by. So, because we knew this evening was going to be awesome, we invited our friends along (we'll call them A and J-O) for dinner. We had reservations for 8pm and arrived on time, to be welcomed with a big hug from our friend Leslie! Yes, this year was going to be VERY different! For once, we were inside, not outside with our noses pressed against the glass, hoping for a whiff of the amazing food inside!

The first thing you notice when you enter the sanctuary that is the bar is the complete lack of noise from the casino. I have no idea how they do this, but if you didn't know you had just come from a land of clinking, clanking, smoking and laughter, you would never know the cacophony that lies beyond the front door!

The decor is understated, with subdued lighting and jewel-toned accents. The restaurant feels very intimate and classy, without being pretentious. Soft music, attentive service and amazing food really makes this place a 'must visit' for everyone.

Now, the main attraction - the food! Our group started with the escargot and scallops, bathed in a garlic butter sauce. Everyone proclaimed it to be quite delish and I can vouch for the garlic butter sauce being perfectly dippable with their amazing bread. The sourdough bread, served warm, had a satisfying crunchy exterior and a dense and flavorful inside. Butter and pesto butter accompanied the bread and the reviews of the pesto butter were mixed.

A and my hubby R both opted for the surf and turf, which consisted of a filet mignon and a lobster tail. The food was artfully presented with the perfectly charred filet resting atop grilled mushrooms and onions and
the lobster tail was shimmering and succulent, imploring for a dip into the drawn butter. A flower garnish completed the artful plating and really took the entire dish over the top. A salad and baked potato accompanied this entree as well.

J-O ordered the bone-in ribeye, which was accompanied by green beans, a baked potato and side salad. Again, the presentation was beautiful - with a flower and a sprig of rosemary rounding out the dish.

I selected the filet mignon, medium rare, which was crowned with a tangle of fried onion straws and accompanied by a baked potato and a salad. The perfectly cooked steak had a char on the outside and was cool red from edge to edge - a skill very few chefs can execute time and time again.

Everyone we encountered added to our overall experience. The staff was professional, personable, attentive without being intrusive and really took great care in anticipating our needs. The manager, Leslie, stopped by each table at least once during the visit and you could tell she takes great pride in her staff, her food and beverage offerings and her establishment. From start to finish, the entire experience was a night to remember. Yes, this year was VERY different indeed! Thanks to everyone at SSG! We will be back!

As a note, we have dined at several downtown steakhouses (Binion’s, Adiamo’s and The Flame) and found Second Street Grill to rival the best of them in every category (food, service, ambiance) - stop by and tell Leslie we said hi!

1  Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Second Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Second Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing