We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Point first timer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #44 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
PHILADELPHIA
1 review
“South Point first timer.”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

While I did not stay at the South Point hotel, I visited the casino for the first time in March 2012. If the rooms are as nice as the casino floor is, then I can imagine they are nice and clean, as well as spacious. For a place that advertises itself as a locals property, you would think you were on the Strip in a fancy resort. The place is beautiful, and very clean. I did not have any problems with it being too smokey. The ceilings are high, the isles wide, and the place feels very open. You can tell that the employees care about the property, because I didn't notice one thing that seemed to need attention. All machines were operable, and clean. The bars were spotless, and the service excellent. They have craft brews on tap, complimentary for video poker players! I also had the impression, that the video poker and slot machines were actually "looser" here. It may have been a lucky streak, but I have heard from other players, that this was a "loose" property, and my experience did bear that out. On my next visit to Las Vegas, I will definately be interested at making the South Point my home base! I highly recommend this casino for your gambling action. Clean, friendly, big but not enormous, easy to navigate and maybe a little more lucky than Strip properties. Don't miss out on the Graveyard Shift specials at the Cafe either! Great food at even better prices. The wait staff will also impress you with fast and courteous service. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Did not stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Wow, thanks for the awesome review of our property and staff. We are happy to hear your first visit with us was a great experience. We want you to know that we really appreciate your feedback and are glad you will be recommending us. It really is our pleasure to have you come and stay with us, and we thank you for making South Point your place to stay.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,185
    2,081
    592
    200
    154
See reviews for
1,217
1,884
346
726
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012 via mobile

I know in Las Vegas people are allowed to smoke in casinos but the South Point Resort was unbearable due to customers smoke. You could not access anywhere without going through the lung cancer filled casino. From your room (which was ok for the price) you would have to pass the casino to get to the parking garage, restaurants, arena, valet, shuttle, movie theater, etc. I guess their ventilation system is incapable of handling the very best the Marlboro men and women patrons could exhale. My 15 year old son said he was "repulsed" from the hotel. We were there for a function but would not go back. If you want to save a few bucks, be isolated from the rest of Vegas, pay $13 a day for Internet, pay to use the gym, pay to use the shuttle, etc then this is your place.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank logger93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are sorry to hear you visit with us was not an enjoyable experience and we appreciate your feedback. Our HVAC filters are changed out on a regular basis and we keep the air circulated continuously. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our hotel guest lobby and we are sorry you were not aware of this. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and hope this will not deter you from a future visit with us.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Great hotel. This was our second stay at South Point and this time we bought their NASCAR package. Absolutley great. Will definitely do it again.

The rooms are large and very clean; great bathroom. The front desk staff are very helpful and knowledgeable; a pleasure to deal with them. Free WiFi in the lobby. Nine really excellent restaurants including a burger cafe and a great deli. Hotel also has a movie theatre screening the latest movies througout the day and night. Hotel also hosts horse shows which are free to the public and has great evening entertainment.

And South Point has the best penny slots!

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wepaktogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We appreciate being rated as an excellent hotel and thank you for the great feedback and compliments on our property and staff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall visit with us and we look forward to seeing you at NASCAR 2013.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
2,108 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,226 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four consecutive nights recently. We were both very disappointed as the lobby/casino area was extremely smoky.

We thought that the employees were unfriendly and inefficient.

This hotel is located far from anywhere else, but since we had a car it was not a problem for us.

South Point Garden Buffet located inside the hotel was also a disappointment for us as we found the food to be just average and quite boring. We tried both dinner and lunch there.

Their coffee shop, Seattle’s best, was terrible. We had the worst coffee we have ever experienced!

The steak & eggs at the Coronado restaurant located inside the hotel were very good. It is a great value at $4.95.

The rooms were large and clean and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were not smoky.

This hotel has a very nice bowling alley upstairs which we enjoyed.

We do not plan on returning here. We do not recommend this hotel for non-smokers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate us and for the information you provided. We are very sorry to hear your visit with us was not an enjoyable experience. We want you to know that our HVAC filters are changed out on a regular basis and we keep the air circulated continuously. We will address your feedback and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We do hope you will reconsider a future visit with us.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Traveled here to reconnect with college friends, and had a excellent time! Great buffet, clean environment. The only drawback was the distance from the Strip, but if you're looking for somewhere to have fun and meet up with friends, South Point is the way to go!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are happy to hear your visit was enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we are approximately 5.94 miles (11 minutes) from Mandalay Bay on the strip, and there is shuttle service for a fee of $8.00 round trip. It really is our pleasure to have you visit with us and we hope to see you on your next trip to Las Vegas.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#45 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,351 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#54 of 262 in Las Vegas
5,710 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#59 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,025 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#60 of 262 in Las Vegas
959 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#78 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): RM365 - RM982
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing