We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fascinating and educational experience.”
Review of Springs Preserve

Springs Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.98*
and up
Springs Preserve Admission
Ranked #71 of 456 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Springs Preserve is a 180-acre cultural institution designed to commemorate Las Vegas’ dynamic history and to provide a vision for a sustainable future. The Preserve features museums, galleries, outdoor concerts and events, colorful botanical gardens and an interpretive trail system that meanders through a scenic wetland habitat.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1978, the Preserve is located approximately 3 miles west of downtown Las Vegas. The Preserve is known as the birthplace of Las Vegas and represents one of the richest and most unique cultural and biological resources in Southern Nevada.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wellton, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fascinating and educational experience.”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

What a relief from the glitz of the strip while still being close to everything. We four adults visited the Preserve intending to spend about 3 hours, and 6 hours later we dragged our exhausted bodies back to our hotel still not having seen everything. This is NOT a just for kids experience. We are four educated, professional adults and we loved it. The new Nevada State Museum is well presented, highly interactive and very interesting. Lunch at the Cafe was a highlight. The menu is interesting and well presented by the culinary students staffing the dining room. Prices were very reasonable for Las Vegas. Prices are a little high for out-of-staters, but much cheaper than gambling!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    124
    40
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Don't miss!”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great variety of things to do. Everyone of all ages will enjoy this place. The gardens, the green design center, the displays and the Nevada History are all worth going to.

Helpful?
Thank hgwixom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Way to Explore the Beginnings of Las Vegas”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had a great time exploring everything the Springs Preserve had to offer. We found the restaurant to be delicious and the staff at the restaurant very accommodating. The Nature Exchange is a place we would like to return to exchange some of the items we have found during our travels. Highly recommend this spot if you have kids - or not!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely go more than once!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After going to a very crowded "free" day at Springs preserve last year (but still enjoying ourselves) I bought the family a year pass. We've been three times since then and have enjoyed it each time! Go early to see the lizards and snakes get fed (fun!) and play outside with the kids in a sand pit (archaeological dig) or turn the wheel on a well or walk through the train! Definitely not to miss: The new Nevada State Museum which is only open a couple of days a week (we saw it on a Saturday) - which houses wonderful things like a cave with bats (behind glass) and dinosaur bones and showgirl outfits! Thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mrsdrshot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite pricey and a little boring without kids”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Springs Preserve is a very attractive area, and some of the information is interesting, but not being from Nevada my husband and I paid $18.95 each which turned out to be somewhat of a rip off. The museum is educational, but everything in it is meant for small children. We were told by another visitor not to even bother visiting the gardens as there was nothing there. Also, the place was deserted, and the cafe/restaurant was closed. Altogether not a good experience for the money we paid. They have obviously spent a lot of money on this place as everything is very expensive-looking so I guess they're just trying to make their money back. Overall we felt it was a lot of fuss over nothing - not much to see or do unless you're 7 years-old or younger.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pinksims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springs Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Springs Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing