We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good services and location, rooms in need for update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Ranked #49 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki
Level Contributor
398 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good services and location, rooms in need for update”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

As one of the most memorable hotels judged from the outside even by Las Vegas standards, the rooms are amazingly basic and old fashioned by room standards of this millennium. You'll miss some basic amenities, like coffee maker! The resort fee of $18 is collected as mandatory, so count that in when making comparisons between hotel room rates. Wifi worked fine. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from right on the premises and a plethora of services within a walking distance. Access to the free guest parking is effortless and smooth. Make sure to get a view to the Strip, there's really not that much to see in any other direction.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,663
    6,293
    2,270
    607
    398
See reviews for
3,444
6,763
556
986
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Arrived at New York New York check in was really quick, the man who checked us in was lovely. Our room was lovely Park Ave room, it was on 31st floor and looked over the strip. I really cant complain about the hotel, the staff were friendly, the food was good and it was just the right size to not get lost. We booked our hotel through lowcostusa.com from the UK and got a good deal with our resort fees included. There is only 3 negatives i could possibly say is it is near the end of the strip, but there is a free shuttle at Monte Carlo which takes you to the bellagio, the pool was closed as it was under construction (it was the beginning of March so understandable) and the cleaner came in our room early 2 mornings which woke us. The check out was easy, the hotel kept our vbags for us on the last day. Loved this hotel, would recommend it.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor, the lifts are quick and theres no waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Check - in was quick, under 15 minutes and we were 20th in line. Room was just fine. Yes there was no closet area like others mentioned, but there was an armoire for you to hang clothes, and there was an iron and ironing board, and a safe in there too. Loved the extra pillows that were stored in the drawers. We had the basic room. The view wasn't great (rooftop, and rollercoaster, which you couldn't hear.) But I am there to see the sights, shows, gamble, etc. Not sit in room and look out the window. The room was of decent size, 2 full beds, a desk, two chairs for lounging, armoire, and dresser, with a large tv, which had plenty of channels to choose from. There was no coffee maker in the room, but what I have been told, you won't find them in any rooms in Vegas, but there is a Starbucks on site. Our only complaint about the room was the water pressure in the shower was very weak. Also had to ask for another bath towel, as only 3 in the room, and we each use 2(hair&body), towel was delivered within 10 min, and never had to ask for another, as 4 were left on each remaining day. We stayed in the New Yorker Towers. Floor 11. Non smoking room which was an actual non smoking room. Beds were super comfy, with also a comfy padded headboard which made it nice to sit up and watch TV.

Vending machines on floors run $2.00 for drinks(pepsi products), and $1-$2 for snacks (chips, candy bars, snack cakes, candy, etc.) 2 Ice machine/Vending locations on each floor. The vending machines are cheaper than buying sodas in the shops($3).

Every restaurant we visited had great food, was not disappointed. We ate at The burger place, America's, Scirros(Pizza), the fish & chips place, Nathan's hot dogs, and chin chins.
Note: we are huge Coca Cola fans, and it was inpossible to find Coca Cola anywhere, and were told you can not find coca-cola at any of the casinos right by NYNY. When you eat at any of the Fast Food Type places in NYNY, note they only have one size softdrinks which is equal to a McDonald's size medium for $2.95. It is the same everywhere. There is no Buffett, but if you are looking for something quick and close, the Excalibur had one that was quite good, great variety, and yummy deserts if you can get past the very outdated decor, which makes it seem dirty, but upon a second look, is quite clean. We went for lunch($16), but they offer an all day pass, which we didn't take, but thought was a great idea if you were going to stay there the whole day, you could come and go as you wish.

There is a little shopping place next to MGM(which is across the street from NYNY). It is a convenient store with a Subway inside which had great Coca Cola fountain sodas. The store had 4/$4 sodas(20oz), Beers, and waters, and cheaper snacks. If you are driving in, do what I saw alot of people do, bring 12 packs of soda, and cases of water, and a cooler for ice. Will save you tons.

The casino floor was very neat and clean, and the smoke wasn't bad at all. But The Casino was much to be desired!!! Very bad payouts, and alot of the Slot mchines were old, very few progressive games. The one table game we liked was open the first day we arrived and then never again, and we stayed 5 days. We gambled at a variety of places, and found the Excalibur to have the best payouts on slots. Ended up playing there strictly on the last 3 days.

Did not frequent any of the nightclubs at NYNY, as that is not or thing, but loved the outdoor seating throughout the casino by all the restaurants. You could sit and people watch, or sit and listen to the entertainment from inside the sports bar. ( They have a singer/saxman at happyhour who is quite entertaining, and dueling pianos in the evening, which is so fun!!!

All the staff was very friendly throughout NYNY. No complaints there, they also recommend using the business center(free and open 24 hours) to check in your flight and print your boarding pass, as we did and when we arrived at the airport, the line to check in with United(6am flight) was over 100 people deep, saw several people miss other flights due to lines.

Saw Cirque du Soleil Love, and Elvis. Love was amazing, very entertaining, and if you are a Beatles fan you will Love it even more. Viva Elvis was good, the acrobats and stunts they did were great, but their basic dancing needed improvement. The NYNY is a quick walk to alot of things, makes it a great location!!! Make sure you realize if it is a windy day, you may not be able to do things like the Stratosphere, and The Eiffel Tower ( Note: Paris had an amazing french pastry shop which was to die for, a must do!!! Highly recommend the Napolean, and the Pistachio Mousse with Strawberries!!!) Loved just checking out all the different hotels, and their themes. But all in all loved the vibe at our hotel, which I would say is 60 and under, lotta younger people, and families(they also have a fun and big arcade on the 2nd floor which is great for the kids( you win tickets to redeem for prizes). They also have an old school diner up there whch was good, along with the rollercoaster entrance.

Make sure you check weather daily(channel 6) as one day it said 78 sunny before bed, and ended up being 58 partly cloudy with 60 MPH winds by morning.

Definetly stay here next time!!!
BTW- we are a 40f & 39M.

Room Tip: If you aren't going to be in your room much, why bother upgrading, the basic room, was just fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christinelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Our room (Rm 1446) had a sewer smell at the entrance and exposed wires in the desk outlet. The rooms were expensive for average value so I will probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen S, Guest Relations Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your unpleasant stay with us recently and would love the opportunity to speak with you. At your convenience, please contact our Guest Relations team at guestservices@nyforme.com.

Best regards,

Guest Relations- New York New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Nyny last week and whilst the casino floor, bars and restaurants are good we would not stay here again. We had a standard room in the century tower when we opened the door all looked fine, or at least it seemed that way. I noticed the room was very dusty, I can live with this. However I went to the bathroom and noticed that someones (maybe the previous occupants) business hadn't been flushed away and, in general, the bathroom was unclean. We called reception who seemed totally unshocked by this and were unable to tell me when someone would come and clean it (immediately is surely the only answer?) Bear in mind we had just arrived from the UK and had hoped to be able to relax after nearly 24 hours travelling. However, we had to go down to the public bathrooms in the casino just to freshen up! As they say, first impressions count. We wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeybradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen S, Guest Relations Manager at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear of you had an unpleasant stay. We would love the opportunity to speak with you and win back your loyalty. Please contact us at your convenience, guestservices@nyforme.com.

Best regards,

Noreen Stewart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#46 of 263 in Las Vegas
17,549 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,082 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,513 reviews
Paris Las Vegas
#57 of 263 in Las Vegas
22,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Property: New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): RM395 - RM1,412
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2024
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing