We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,039)
Filter reviews
13,039 results
Traveller rating
4,380
4,613
2,448
970
628
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,380
4,613
2,448
970
628
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club tower paradise tower beach cafe pool area other hotels south end of the strip new york new york close to the airport long walk food court great pool mandalay bay casino floor self parking slot machines strip view bungalow
Filter
Updating list...
3,722 - 3,727 of 13,039 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Hubby and I stayed at the Tropicana from Aug 31-Sept 5, second time to vegas and to this hotel, second year in a row. we arrived from the airport around 330 and were promptly provided a room, however, the best they could do was a third floor room due to a large convention in town. although they were more than happy to "upgrade" us to the paradise tower for $10 more per night... not worth it. we stayed with our third floor room in the club tower. overall rooms are not super modern, but overall clean and is fine for sleeping. as others have said, bed is good. housekeeping was fine. we were afraid the third floor would be loud, but it wasn't any worse than the 7th floor that we stayed on last year. overlooked the airport and really that is not an issue. as always, the pool is a highlight to this hotel, no issues with seating. Air conditioning in the room and common areas of this hotel were not stellar as compared to some of the other hotels and restaurants we visited. they really need to evaluate the AC in the rooms for sure. we kept ours as low as possible (60f) and it barely felt like it cooled to 70. extra cost for wifi is not worth it's value.. devices would only connect for 24 hours and each time you had to reconnect it was not quick and easy. not worth the cost.

only play slots and those were not very forgiving and we saw "raiding the rock vault" excellent show and highly recommend this!

we visited many places up and down the strip, we bought a 4 day monorail pass, great way to get up and down the strip and have some air conditioned time while getting where you want to go. food at this hotel is ok, but prices are high and definitely drink prices are very high, in my opinion.

overall a fine place to sleep and stay and I think a good location to many things.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekerinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear sunseekerinVT,

Thank you for staying with us again and leaving us a review. We strive to delight our Guests with our service and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you'll be visiting us again! - GuestRelations@TropLV.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We had a lovely room with a balcony which was an added bonus. It was quiet and spotless with great shower. The pool was amazing although why anyone would wish to swim up to a blackjack table is beyond me. The restaurant we used was excellent although the waitress a bit sullen - maybe she was tired but everyone else was smiley. They booked us tickets for The Jersey Boys and it was marvellous. All in all an experience nit to be forgotten.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear OaDog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you found your room accommodations to be enjoyable and the location to be convenient. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit! - GuestRelations@TropLV.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

The hotel itself was refreshing, light and airy compared to many other casino resorts on the Strip. The location, albeit at the end of Las Vegas Blvd, is still in a good position on a major junction with easy access to other hotels either side of the strip.
The rooms were of a decent size and quality and the beds were very comfortable. The main pool area was pleasing and of a good size, however during the week they closed a third of the pool (the shaded areas) as they did not provide enough staff to cover the lifeguard duties. Unless you paid for a day bed or cabana then you were not provided with a parasol and for those with young children this was not acceptable. I enquired about the adult only pool to be told that this was not yet open and would maybe be ready next summer??
The Beach Club restaurant offered nice food and a lovely setting, whereas the food court was small and lacked choice and atmosphere.
We unfortunately had problems with booking in after 4pm (rooms still not ready), mix up with room arrangements (required adjoining room for large family with children) and key cards not working on a regular basis (no we didn't keep them next to our phones).
Overall the accommodation was good, but spoilt by a stream of silly rules and the constant hidden taxes/charges and excessive tipping required.
MONEY, MONEY and more MONEY was the theme and this continued throughout the holiday. This was our 5th time to Vegas in the last 7yrs and its changed for the worse, however this is not the hotels fault/ doing.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms were well located near to pool and casino, ask for one overlooking the pool otherwise you will look at the car park!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Listersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Scaphoid66,

We are terribly sorry to hear we did not exceed your entire expectations during your recent visit. We strive to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make it right, please feel free to reach out to us directly. - GuestRelations@TropLV.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

This hotel is in an ideal position on the strip and good access
We were greeted by a receptionist who was not very friendly really
Our room was on the 16th floor and was nice and spacious, with a fridge
The pool is super and area very nice but I was surprised that people were allowed to drink and smoke in the pool and spilling things in the water.....not nice
However we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 235trevorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Trevor L,


We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided us, our goal is to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us! Please let us know when you will be visiting again! - GuestRelations@TropLV.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

The Tropicana is in a great location with easy access to many great attractions.
The casino within the hotel is great for first time gamblers as well as the more seasoned ones. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful.
Having read some of the other reviews on here, I have to say, Tea and Coffee facilities are available in your room for a nominal daily charge, you only have to ask and it is delivered in no time. I have to sometimes keep meds cold and again, the lovely hotel staff brought me up my very own mini fridge with no charge whatsoever. Great service. If you have any special requirements like this, email in advance and they will be more than happy to accomodate you whwerever possible.
Getting around is really simple too. There is a bus that picks up on the opposite side of the road from the hotel and currently, $8 will buy you a 24 hour pass to get on and off wherever the bus route goes. We went to the fashion mall, Town Square and the outlet (next stop from Town Square) for all of our shopping (inc groceries for in room midnight munchies) and fond this a great way to explore everything we wanted to see.
You can view the bus timetables on line or again, email the hotel and they will send you details.
This may appear to be basic but boy, are the beds comfy??? A definite yes!!!!!
The pool is great with lots of areas to sunbathe and plenty of sun loungers.
There are so many great places to eat (very reasonably) in very close proximity, that you may not venture into the realms of room service but you won't be disappointed if you do as they have a basic but delicious offering.
I've stayed at this hotel half a dozen times now and have had a great experience every time. With regards to the basic toiletries in the bathroom, it is because the hotel are trying to be as eco friendly as possible and most people prefer to bring their own.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms if you want them. Request in advance.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Duchess1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Duchess1989,

Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback! We pride ourselves in the way we take care of our guests and the overall value for our guests experience and we truly look forward to welcoming you back! - GuestRelations@TropLV.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews