We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hate giving bad reviews but” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I hate giving bad reviews but”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Like I said, I hate giving bad reviews and I don't give them often but I want other travelers to know what they can expect. First off, the hotel needs some renovations, including the wooden staircase and corners where the wood is either chipped or deeply neglected. You have sprinkler systems running through the length of the hallways and into the living areas (rooms) which make you feel like you're in a submersible (aka Titanic). The carpets seemed either old or bad choice of quality or both. If you actually stand at the outside wall (wall alongside window area) you notice a slight incline, as if the hotel has sagged on it's foundation. Oh, I almost forgot to mentioned the either peeling or peeled off wallpaper. On the positive side, the staff is friendly, the noise level wasn't an issue and the room was relatively clean (not sure if that's considered a positive side but it is what it is). The furniture was low quality as well. But hey, for $99 beggars can't be choosers right? For a hotel that is listed on Historical Hotel's of North America, it should be noted that it really is historically old and kept that way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Niebo,

I always want guest feedback, good or bad, we can always find ways to improve. Your positive comments on our service and cleanliness are appreciated.

We have plans in the works to renovate and update the Eagle Mountain House while preserving its charm and warmth that it possesses. We will always continue to offer our guests; great service, delicious food all delivered in a clean comfortable setting at a value price.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    168
    95
    44
    28
See reviews for
160
235
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We spent Memorial Day Weekend at Eagle Mountain House. We arrived late Friday night and were greated by a very friendly desk manager who told us of the various attractions in town, to include Mt. Washington, hikes off the Kangamangas Highway, golf courses, etc. The room was large, with a nice living room with pullout couch for our teenage son, and separate bedroom for my husband and me. The hotel is vintage but it's very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was included and was a full hot and cold buffet with waitress service for coffee and other assistance. There's a great front porch that many people flocked to at the end of the day, which was lovely with a cold drink. There's a pool just across the street which was OK, and the little golf course is no great shakes, but the overall ambience and welcoming feeling were terrific.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Mes33,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your visit and had time to take in all of the great sights and activities the area has to offer.

Thank you for mentioning the friendly atmosphere and service you received, the staff takes great pride in being true hosts to our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

The Eagle Mountain House is an OK value if you know what you are getting into. The rooms are a little small, especially for those considered suites. The rooms don't have a microwave, air conditioning or coffee maker, etc. - pretty much what someone might expect if they have gone on vacation to a town larger than 10,000 people. The room was clean, however. The bed was comfortable. The carpets could use a bit of a cleaning as they looked a little dingy. The areas outside of the room are clean and kept in good shape. The bar has good food at reasonable prices. One last note - the website said there is a heated pool. It must be heated during the winter because this might have been the coldest pool I ever stepped into.

I think for couples, this is a good spot. For those with toddlers or newborns who require bringing lots of stuff (pack and play, toys, food to heat up), I would consider a hotel with larger rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigwreck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Eagle Mountain House. It is our hope that if we are missing a few of the modern amenities that newer hotels have we can more than make up for them with warm hospitality, great views and the charm that the hotel possesses.

We begin heating the pool in late June once we enter the summer season and daytime temperatures stay above 70 degrees on a regular basis. I apologize that our printed material was not clear on this. Hopefully you can return to enjoy a clear summer day poolside, in the White Mountains of New Hampshire.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Enjoyed a two-room suite with view and recommend that over traditional room ornape long lot view. Charming, reflecting years past in decor and physical facility. Higher floor preferred because the wooden floors may squeak. We were on the second floor and could hear folks on floor above though it really wasn't a distraction. If returning to the Mt Washington area this will be the hotel where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear FrenchMD,

The staff and I appreciate the nice comments about your recent stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the feel and hospitality that we strive to put forth. When you return please ask for a top floor room, we will be glad to accommodate your request. Looking forward to your return.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is a very late review, but a few months back, (end of February), my husband and I headed up to Jackson, NH in an effort to find snow! We, of course, reviewed what trip advisor had to say about the Eagle Mountain House before booking our reservation. We took the previous reviewers advice and asked for a "quiet" room with a view and not a room in the basement. Our room was on the third floor with a view over looking the ski trails. Our room was cozy and comfortable - only complaint was the heat (a very cold weekend) was too high, so we turned ours off and cracked a window open...then it was perfect. We had a lovely time. We only stayed two nights, but it was very relaxing and the hotel was just what we expected. We were able to cross country ski from the hotel and the trails were extensive and the snow was perfect. Breakfasts were included in the cost of our room and there were many choices to choose from. Service was great too. We had a mid-afternoon snack and drink in the bar area apre ski and had a chance to chat with other travelers. We will definitely go back again. It was like walking back in time.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room and for a room that is not in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.1 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.2 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.7 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.8 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
23.2 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Property: Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price range (per night): RM338 - RM746
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing