We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
118
98
30
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
98
30
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dartmouth college medical center front desk nice hotel rooms are large liquor store definitely stay here again ample parking hot tub business trip breakfast area we've stayed spent one night bed was comfortable hanover lobby sofa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The Courtyard and Element are sister properties -- as an SPG platinum (and frequent visitor to Dartmouth), we always stayed at the Element for the points and to build status. With the merging of the SPG and Marriott Rewards programs, the option of staying at the Courtyard gives us more choices and a some pretty good rewards benefits (see below).

Probably not fair to compare, but if you are like us, I would have liked to have known the following:

1. Rooms at the Courtyard are very pleasant. They do not have the modern touch of the Element (nor the kitchens -- which we didn't really ever need). I was upgraded to a larger room with a sofa. Bathrooms are standard, and lack the open feeling of the Element (e.g. have a bathtub versus a standalone shower -- I personally prefer having a shower when I travel).

2. Lobby is very large and has a pretty complete kitchen for coffee and breakfast -- but to be clear, there is a charge for everything (n.b. as a Platinum Marriott member you can choose a dining credit), whereas the Element has complementary breakfast, coffee/tea and mid-week happy hour (beer, wine, snacks) -- all of which they do a pretty good job.

3. Rates and Award Availability -- this is where things get interesting. To a large extent the rack and negotiated rates are pretty similar and both hotels really up the price during the fall (football, leaf season, alumni and college event -- don't even think of reunion and graduation for a deal). But, the Courtyard seems to have plenty of free night availability at a very reasonable point amount. To illustrate, we switched our homecoming reservation from the Element to the Courtyard and are saving close to $800 for two nights with a very, very modest cost of points.

So, bottom line -- really happy that the Courtyard is now an option. We'll miss the modern elements of the Element on the busiest weekends, but we won't miss paying what the Element gets away with on those restricted dates.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drosen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardH1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hanover Lebanon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for sharing your detailed review of your stay with us. It’s pleasing to hear you appreciated our amenities and many aspects of your stay, including our guestrooms. We loved having you as a guest and hope we may welcome you back in the near future. Have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

This wasn't my favorite Marriott Property, but it wasn't awful. It was a good location to be away from the craziness, but still reasonably close. There is a nice market within walking distance and a fantastic restaurant nearby- Jesse's.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyDivaBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hanover Lebanon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest, and we thank you for taking a moment to share your review. While we were delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed our convenient location near downtown Hanover, we were disappointed to learn that we fell short of exceeding all of your expectations. Our guests’ satisfaction is our utmost priority and we wish we had more detail to understand how we may have better served you during your stay. The next time your travels find you in our area, we hope we will have the opportunity to provide you with an all-around exceptional “Marriott Property” experience and truly win you over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Never fails to please. The pool area especially is well maintained. The water sparkles. The hot tub was absolutely great. The gym area was well maintained. The staff is the best. I had my brother meet us in the lobby and it was so pleasant we stayed and indulged in some of the warm cookies the staff provided. Even provided fruit infused water with plenty of cups. Only thing missing is having a restaurant open for lunch, and of course comp breakfast.

Room tip: We always like the top floor, but you cant go wrong on any level.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hanover Lebanon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Joan, it’s pleasing to learn you appreciated several aspects of your visit, including our relaxing pool, fitness center and top-notch staff. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel and property, and greatly value your feedback. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope we may welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding in July '18. Very welcoming lobby, large area to hang in both inside and outside. Close to a supermarket and liquor store and area sites.

Room was very clean and modern. Glad we stayed there.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jack_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hanover Lebanon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of your stay with us. I am glad you found our location convenient, and that your room was comfortable for a good night’s rest. We loved having you as a guest, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back the next time you are in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Staff was professional but not too friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Ice machine on our floor was out of order. Pretty quiet which was nice. Great location if you have business at the medical center across the street.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TrayBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hanover Lebanon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your review. I am pleased your room was comfortable and quiet for a good night’s sleep, and that you found our location convenient. We loved having you as a guest, and hope we may welcome you back, as we wish to provide you with the first-rate stay you expect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews