We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway”
Review of The Beal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Beal House
Ranked #2 of 4 Littleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2017

My girlfriend and I had a great 2 nights in Mrs. Beal's Suite! The sitting room with the gas stove was really nice, and larger than expected. Everything was very clean, other than an odd stain on the bathroom ceiling (might want to do something about that). The claw foot tub was nice, but there is no place to set your soap and shampoo. We also really liked the food! Especially the Turkey Pot Pie! The small spread they put out in the morning was just right for us, but the atmosphere could be improved a bit with some instrumental music and a fire (if I'm being picky). If for some reason you stay somewhere else, at least get here for dinner!

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollars for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BlazingMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, Owner at The Beal House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback - we really appreciate it! As we are new to the inn business this is very helpful. We will look into the ceiling stain right away and have been on the hunt for a soap dish for a claw foot tub, but haven't found the right solution yet. We will continue to work on that.

So happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and your stay - we hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Adam and Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 65 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had a great experience at the Beal house. We stayed in the Flume room, which was spacious and very cozy. The bed was very comfortable and linnens were high quality. We very much enjoyed it and will be back!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, Owner at The Beal House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Many thanks! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again the future.

Thank you,
Lori and Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The accommodations are charming and historic and our room was clean and comfortable. That said, the B&B could use a bit of tending as the rooms there felt a bit more tired and neglected then other historic inns we've experienced in the East. That said, my impression is that for now, more attention is focused to the restaurant side of the business (which sounds amazing!) and less the B&B bit. But with a bit of love, I think the B&B could be lovely! A few things that may help:
1.) We didn't quite get the type/quality of culinary "breakfast" experience we were expecting (based on the rave reviews of the food and restaurant). The croissants, coffee, juice and yogurt and granola were fine, but I think our expectations were heightened based on what we had read here before about the food. That said, we also booked our room and arrived late at night so it just may be that they didn't have much on hand to make much magic happen since they weren't expecting anyone.
2.) Another unfortunate thing was that the the floor of the room where we ate breakfast inn had a bunch of ants crawling all around. ;-( Again, I think this is a function of the B&B portion not seeming to be as much of a priority.

That all said, I think if/once as much TLC is given to the B&B as it seems is being given to the restaurant, it will be quite the killer combo. I wish the owners the best of luck!

Room Tip: This listed on many sites as "haunted" - so good to be aware of that in the event it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Texiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, Owner at The Beal House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback, it is very helpful for us as new business owners. We do and will work hard to incorporate feedback for future guests. We recently bought the property, in December 2015, and you are correct in that we've focused our efforts on the restaurant. We continue to work on the Inn rooms and are making improvements as we grow.

That said we are an Inn, as opposed to a typical B&B. We aim to be clear in that we offer a light continental self-serve breakfast, with house-made granola, yogurt, fresh-squeezed juices and pastries, not a full B&B style breakfast.

Fear not, we are continuing to incorporate our love into the Inn as much as possible - it is feedback like this that makes our job as we move forward easier - thank you!
Adam and Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

there are many other options in the area and I would avoid this place at all costs ($195 a night????). Its an old place, but as many old places in the area have charm, this does not. Common area rooms are empty and dirty and clearly gives the impression that the owners does not seem to be invested in what they are doing here. Its dark, musty and hot. We were there when the temp outside was in the low 50's and the rooms here hot. We did not eat there, however, the owner is a chef and his breakfast consist of store bought croissants (4), coffee and disgusting orange juice. Not really working to your strengths there and again for the price of a room, this is unexcepable. Owner nowhere to be seen in the morning, charges your room upon check in and then he gone for the remainder of your time there. Not sure how on earth there are folks giving good ratings for this place, it was one of the worst places we have ever stayed in. If you are easily spook, this is also not the place for you, there is just something odd about the place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanmileshal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, Owner at The Beal House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback, it is very helpful for us as new business owners. We do and will work hard to incorporate feedback for future guests.

We typically have rooms open and aired out for guests, but due to your last minute reservation and late evening arrival we were not able to do that in advance. We do hope the in room air conditioner was helpful.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We continue to work on the Inn as much as possible - it is feedback like this that makes our job as we move forward easier - thank you!
Adam and Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

I can't rave about my dining experience at The Beal House enough! The location is a perfect walking distance from all the shops on Main Street. From the moment you step in you are welcomed by the friendly staff into the dining room. The food is absolutely excellent, and goes with the great atmosphere. You can really see the quality and care that goes into your meal. I do not know which was my favorite part... The homemade cheesy biscuits and warm olives for the app, the amazing beet and local goat cheese salad, Prospect farm bbq pork, or the delicious desserts! You can't go wrong! I cannot wait to go back and try everything on the menu!!!!! Don't miss it!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, Owner at The Beal House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thanks so much Lisa! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon. We very much appreciate your feedback!

Thank you,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Littleton hotels
0.6 km away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
256 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
772 reviews
1.7 km away
Exit 41 Travel Inn
Exit 41 Travel Inn
#1 of 4 in Littleton
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Littleton Motel
Littleton Motel
#2 of 5 in Littleton
105 reviews
1.7 km away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#4 of 5 in Littleton
152 reviews
0.5 km away
Country Squire Motel
Country Squire Motel
#3 of 5 in Littleton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beal House

Address: 2 W Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-3502
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Littleton
Price Range: RM322 - RM771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beal House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beal House is a traditional New England Inn located in downtown Littleton, NH. In additional to six quaint inn rooms and suites, there is also a restaurant and bar on site. The restaurant boasts affordable classic American tavern fare. The copper top bar is a wonderful spot to grab a craft cocktail or choose a something off of our wide ranging beer and wine list. We'd be happy to host you in either the restaurant or the Inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beal House Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing