We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fool”
Review of Salt Kitchen & Bar

Salt Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Reviewed 18 July 2018

The restaurant has a varied menu. food well prepared. wait staff excellent. dining room quiet and sophisticated. Breakfast on the porch was nice too.

Thank Richard Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean P, Director of Food & Beverage at Salt Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hello Richard Q,

Thank you for your recent visit to SALT Kitchen and Bar and for taking the time to share your experience with all of us. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,

Dean Pratt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018

We got there, on time, with 7:30 reservations. The place was mobbed. The juvenile hostess said our table would be ready in "5 or 10 minutes," and invited us to wait at the bar--where we remained parked, ordering drinks, for 45 minutes before leaving. At a decent restaurant we would have been offered a drink after a while, but no one even checked in with us; we had to just going back to their rotating staff to offer some pressure--to no avail. They were way in over their heads. Never again.

    • Service
1  Thank Bodhin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean P, Director of Food & Beverage at Salt Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hello Bodhin K,

The Wentworth by the Sea is a very special place and SALT Kitchen & Bar is a wonderful restaurant, so I can certainly understand your frustration. We take reservations with the expectation that you will be seated upon arrival. I truly apologize for your wait. We hope to serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Dean Pratt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We had dinner to celebrate my daughters birthday. Although we neglected to make a reservation they were very accommodating and seated us right away. The food was excellent and the service even better. Our server Chantell anticipated our every need and made some great suggestions. Try the hot nuts. Very different but if you're a nut lover you won't be disappointed

Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean P, Director of Food & Beverage at Salt Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Linda O,

Thank you for choosing SALT Kitchen & Bar to celebrate your daughters birthday! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to New Castle.

Best Regards,

Dean Pratt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We had 11 for breakfast on the porch. Slow and cold food. The chef doesn't like to follow instructions be careful.

Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Salt Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear William S,

Thank you for your recent stay at Wentworth by the Sea, and for your valuable feedback. We apologize for not meeting expectations regarding your breakfast in Salt. We will share your feedback with our Food and Beverage team, as teachable opportunity to improve. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to further discuss your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Castle.

Sincerely,
Jason Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

After the past few years of enjoying this wonderfully redone restaurant that offered delicious food and good service, we were so disappointed to dine recently and find that the service was just awful and frankly incompetent. The food was still quite good, but I felt bad for the servers. Just horribly understaffed and management observing and not helping. Untrained staff walking around not knowing how to help, etc...

Also heard from one of my coworkers dined last week and relayed the same awful service, describing waits of 30 minutes to be greeted at the table, etc.... He said it was the worst service he had experienced in any restaurant anywhere and left angry.

This was a well run restaurant that I would recommend, but at this time must caution to avoid unless you have 3+ hours for your meal. Hopefully the current management team is able to resolve their staffing problem, otherwise I fear that this will become nothing but a restaurant for those "trapped" at the hotel and no longer a destination for those who love in the area and used to enjoy dining here.

Management is aware of the problem as they are in the dining room and see the disaster unfolding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank surfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean P, Director of Food & Beverage at Salt Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hello surfun,

Thank you for your recent visit to SALT Kitchen & Bar. We take every review seriously and I would appreciate some additional information at your convenience. I can be reached at 603-373-6558 or by email at dean.pratt@wentworth.com. I hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,

Dean Pratt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Salt Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing