We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and service”
Review of Twin Lake Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Lake Village
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Please note that while this is a great spot for families and young ones, this is a poor spot for food. The daily fare was so bad that our family reunion group ate only breakfast at the Inn, and prepared all other meals at cottages. The menu aside, the actual problem was with the contents of the food: Canned fruit, (an apricot and oragnge salad--both from the can--on iceberg lettuce, one leaf...?) iceberg lettuce, overcooked vegetables, canned soup, and the like. Crudites are passed--and many come right from the jar! This was a recall of 1950's era food, and such a shame in an area full of farms, with lots of strawberries, rhubarb, fresh vegetables, all in the farmers markets. We cannot recommend this place as a three meal day experience, and we think most of the visitors probably serve and eat better food at home than they possibly can at this Inn. That's a disconnect. We took the family out to another nearby Inn for dinner one night, and had delicious field greens salad, simple fresh main course, wonderful fruit dessert--can the Twin Village Inn try harder?

Room Tip: many cottages are run down, main inn is comfortable. good, linens good. Housekeeping minimal, . No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank abeha2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLVKidder, Owner at Twin Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

We are sorry your stay at TLV was not satisfactory. We take your comments seriously and would be happy to have a conversation with you, at your convenience, to discuss your concerns. We hope everyone in your family had a safe trip home and enjoys the rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I have been going to Twin Lake Village for more than 50 years and there is no place like it. It is like going back to summer camp where I went for 8 summers in nearby Andover, New Hampshire.
Twin Lake has a 9 hole golf course, 3 har-tru tennis courts, a boat house where you can canoe, fish or rent a sail fish. It offers three meals a day. It also has a bingo night and a dance night for children. A highlight is the Tuesday night picnic at the halfway house on nearby Mt. Kearsarge. It is on the outskirts of New London, New Hampshire, a charming college town, (Colby Sawyer College,) with a very old summer stock theater in an old barn, called The Barn Playhouse. There are several nifty restaurants, some even gourmet, and several clothing stores as well.
The prices at Twin Lake defy the imagination as they are very reasonable.
Twin Lake's season is from the last week in June to the 3rd week in August.
It is a truly wonderful operation that has delicious food and daily
maid service.
Do check it out!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Courtney069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This is a hard place to review. It is an old-fashioned full American plan country resort. I have come here for four years as part of a family reunion my sister-in-law hosts. Three meals are served daily in the main dining room, which is pleasant. An example of good and not so -- the room is clean and comfortable, but it is very noisy -- the conversations taking place and the wait servers who have not been taught to be quiet with handfuls of silverware. The food is good. The portions are often too small, especially the entrees. But there is always a nice choice of courses, and there are plenty of courses every meal so you don't leave feeling hungry -- just disappointed sometimes. Other than the noise, the waitstaff is 100% young people (high school or college), and they are unfailingly friendly and courteous and accommodating.
There are activities. Again, good and not so: there is a lake for swimming, but the "beach" is small, the sand is poor quality, mosquitoes abound, and if you go too far to one side in the water there are a lot of leeches waiting for you (no kidding -- we've had to pull them off). But if you stay in the center they're not there.
There's no TV, which is good or not so. You see a lot of young parents and people 60 and over. There are a lot of babies and young children. A 16-or-so teenager seems to be rare -- I guess tis old-fashioned place doesn't appeal to them, yet.
The porches on the man house and the cottages have rockers, and are great for sitting, rocking, and reading. In a word, to slow down.
Asked to give stars, I wanted to give three for in the middle. But three stars meant "Average," and this place is no way average. It is very uncommon. So I went to four stars, although that means "Very Good" and I just couldn't go that far.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage close to the main house with the dining room. Otherwise it can be a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I've been coming to TLV for over 50 years and it's still the same place with golf, tennis, the lake (Little Lake Sunapee) & three meals a day plus a Tuesday night picnic on Mt. Kersarge. TLV is a main lodge with outlying cabins and hotel rooms including daily maid service. The Kidder family has run this very special place since its inception and now the 4th & 5th generation are operating it.
It is an incredible bargain and aamazing destination about an hour north of the Manchester, NH airport.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Courtney069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Great place to bring the family. Very affordable. The cottages are rustic with fireplaces & has house keeping. Food is average and breakfast is the best! The wait staff is great and hard working, very friendly and accommodating . Great Lake, par 3 golf course , tennis , shuffle board tooOur family and friends have been coming to TLV for 60 years

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank Randilathrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New London hotels
3.4 km away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
209 reviews
5.8 km away
King Hill Inn
King Hill Inn
#2 of 6 in New London
44 reviews
3.7 km away
The New London Inn
The New London Inn
#3 of 6 in New London
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lake Village

Address: 164 Twin Lake Villa Rd, New London, NH 03257-6601
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in New London
Price Range: RM334 - RM898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin Lake Village is an all inclusive resort offering rooms in the hotel, two and three bedroom suites and a variety of cottages ranging in size from three to eight bedrooms. We operate on the American Plan so breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily in the hotel dining room. Enjoy swimming in Little Lake Sunapee, golfing on our nine hole par three golf course or a tennis match on one of our three clay courts. If you prefer, you can relax with a book in one of the rocking chairs that adorn all of our large sprawling porches.The Kidder family has been welcoming guests since 1897. From homemade breads and real TLV maple syrup to Monday night bingo and picnics on Mt. Kearsarge little things make a big difference to us. Bring your family to meet our family for an old-fashioned vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing