We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colby-Sawyer reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Cindy and Steve are wonderful hosts! Their small business is run from the heart. This "motel" has the feel of a bed and breakfast, with more privacy! For 4 days, The Lake Inn felt like home.

From our first contact, the Peterson's were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The hotel is quiet and well situated on the lake with views that are amazing! The rooms are very clean, with on site laundry and daily room servicing. Cindy and Steve are on site and available, with a friendly smile, to answer any question about the local area. My husband got into some poison ivy and they even offered us calamine lotion!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank GamerbabeHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience. Our goal is to ensure that guests have an enjoyable time here and it seems we came through with you. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Visited area with my mom for a pre reunion visit to her college, Colby - sawyer! Very quaint motel that feels like B&B. The owners were so nice, rooms clean and the lake views were great. This was a great location for fall leaf drives. Thanks to Steve and family for a great stay!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thank you for your review. My husband, Steve, works very hard at improving the property and maintaining clean, comfortable rooms. Our aim is to have guests feel the hospitality of a B&B with the privacy of a motel. Hopefully you will visit at a future time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The Inn is cozy, quiet and quaint with a spectacular view of Lake Sunapee. The room was small, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the screened in porch with chairs and table. I often sat out there to eat lunch and just relax.I really liked the king size bed with those big, fluffy body pillows. The room also had a small fridge, microwave and satellie TV for patron use. The owners are friendly and kind. My overall experience at the Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee is a very positive one. I will definitely stay here again in my future visits to NH.

Room Tip: The view of Lake Sunapee from the upper level room #1 was spectacular! Especially in the early morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it when guests have a truly enjoyable experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Great view of lake sunapee! There was a nice balcony, but there was a mosquito net which made it a bit hard to take photos from the room. You can go down to the fire pit and see the view as well. Room had a comfy king sized bed, HD tv, microwave and mini fridge. Fridge didn't appear to work but it wasn't a big deal. There was a small breakfast of pastries and hot coffee. Steve was a nice host- we'll come back!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charmaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately we sometimes have guests who unplug the refrigerators; hopefully it wasn't a necessity. We hope you come back for the view and the hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

This is a difficult review I have to deal with. On one hand, its located off the beaten path and driving to it at night could be difficult. Once we reached there, we found five old and unimpressive rooms in a row that will not score anything over 2 stars. My wife simply exploded at the parking lot and questioned my sanity in choosing hotels. On the other hand, as we woke up in the morning and looked out through the window at the back, it was a whole different story. A serene and sweeping view of the beautiful Lake Sunapee was awaiting us, with a thin layer of fog hanging over the water and the foliage near the shore was turning glorious red and golden. I have stayed in many hotels spending a fortune but the views did not even come close apart from few oceanfront hotels. My wife sat in the balcony and asked me to take all the pics she wanted. By the way, there is a hammock in front of the inn as well. The room was just big enough with a small bath, and breakfast items were calorie bomb. However, the view from the room aces everything else.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank csserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thank you for your review. Your wife's reaction is not uncommon; many guests are unsure when first approaching the property. But that old saying "don't judge a book by its cover" is true for our property. Once inside the rooms are clean and comfortable and the view is unbeatable. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.4 km away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
146 reviews
38.2 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
371 reviews
0.3 km away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
10.1 km away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
227 reviews
39.1 km away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee

Address: 1349 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: RM395 - RM516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The hospitality of an Inn, hidden in a Motel." Every room overlooks beautiful Lake Sunapee with a screened porch or patio outside each room. Clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms with private baths, air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, color cable TV, VCR, WiFi, alarm clock and hair dryer. Fire pit and gas grill available. Hot coffee/tea and packaged breakfast snacks offered every morning in the office. During summer we are a short walk or one minute ride to Lake Sunapee State Beach for swimming, canoe/kayak rentals, a shaded picnic area with grills, a children's playground, and a public boat launch, . You may also want to take a cruise on Lake Sunapee on either the MV Mt. Sunapee (afternoon cruise) or the MV Kearsarge (dinner cruise). Mount Sunapee Resort is the site of an Adventure Park with zip line tours, treetop course, Segway tours, disc golf and miniature golf. In the fall, when looking out over the lake from your room, you have a gorgeous view of the colorful foliage from the nearby mountains. In the winter, we are 1/2 mile from the entrance to Mount Sunapee Ski Resort for skiing and riding. Around the corner is the State Beach where snowmobilers gather at the beginning and end of their day. Come visit us for a night or a week. We look forward to meeting you. Weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing