We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This lovely Inn is situated in the most beautiful natural setting and still so conveniently located right off the highway. As a bonus it's within walking distance to a wonderful restaurant serving excellent meals and has 18 different beers on tap!! Cindy and Steve were genuinely hospitable and made our stay with them a memorable one. It's obvious these people love what they do, you see it the minute you step into their modest and extra clean Inn. Our room was clean and smelled fresh. The view of the lake is absolutely beautiful. When back in the area we will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: Every room has a lake view but surely the top floor rooms are he best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank les4perrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We do enjoy our role in making guests feel at home and still have their own privacy. The view of the lake really is beautiful anytime of year. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

I am impressed by the immaculate room and surroundings. Everything is well kept and neat. Our room had a very nice screened in porch with a view of the lake and state beach. A great way to have your morning coffee. This view can be seen from the comfortable king size bed. When we wanted to use the barbecue all we had to do is let Steve know and he called us when it was warmed up and ready. Even though there were dogs and children staying at the same time it was peaceful and relaxing. Great place that I can't wait to stay at again.

Room Tip: all the rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue9361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We enjoy hearing when guests feel comfortable in our rooms. We pride ourselves on clean, comfortable rooms and a memorable stay. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

This gem should not be passed by. The view of Lake Sunapee is priceless. Other hotels in the area do not have this view. Screened in porch with new high boy chairs is very peaceful. The room was very clean and décor has appropriate lake feel. The bathroom is a little tight but functional and clean.The owners are very pleasant and accommodating and take great care of the property . Minutes from Mt Sunapee, Sunapee Harbour and fine local eateries. Room rates are also very reasonable. Will definitely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms have great view. Top floor has screened in porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G8210MLthomasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it when guests recognize the work and effort we put into the Inn every day. Hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

My sister discovered this place while visiting the area based on reviews and price. Our whole family has since stayed here multiple times in multiple rooms and cant tell you what a gem it is. Amazing view to wake up to, cute and immaculate rooms, screened in porch overlooking the lake. coffee, fruit, oatmeal and muffins in the am and prices well below the norm. Cindy and Steve are so helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: Ive been in 3 of the top level rooms and loved them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We love to hear from repeat guests especially when you've stayed in different rooms. It tells us that we are doing something right. Thank again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Wonderful visit with the owners "Cindy and Steve" the rooms where comfortable, clean, and well decorated, right down to the deck chairs to take in the spectacular views of the lake. Definitely not a drive by!!! They owners strive to give you a warm, accommodating and hospitable stay ❤️

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Steve P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you noticed our new "high" deck chairs so guests can get a better view of the lake! We truly do strive to be our motto "The hospitality of an Inn hidden in a Motel"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.3 km away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
145 reviews
0.3 km away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
4.3 km away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
224 reviews
12.7 km away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
206 reviews
21.5 km away
Maples at Warner
Maples at Warner
#1 of 1 in Warner
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee

Address: 1349 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: RM427 - RM545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The hospitality of an Inn, hidden in a Motel." Every room overlooks beautiful Lake Sunapee with a screened porch or patio outside each room. Clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms with private baths, air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, color cable TV, VCR, WiFi, alarm clock and hair dryer. Fire pit and gas grill available. Hot coffee/tea and packaged breakfast snacks offered every morning in the office. During summer we are a short walk or one minute ride to Lake Sunapee State Beach for swimming, canoe/kayak rentals, a shaded picnic area with grills, a children's playground, and a public boat launch, . You may also want to take a cruise on Lake Sunapee on either the MV Mt. Sunapee (afternoon cruise) or the MV Kearsarge (dinner cruise). Mount Sunapee Resort is the site of an Adventure Park with zip line tours, treetop course, Segway tours, disc golf and miniature golf. In the fall, when looking out over the lake from your room, you have a gorgeous view of the colorful foliage from the nearby mountains. In the winter, we are 1/2 mile from the entrance to Mount Sunapee Ski Resort for skiing and riding. Around the corner is the State Beach where snowmobilers gather at the beginning and end of their day. Come visit us for a night or a week. We look forward to meeting you. Weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing