We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected...not in a good way!”
Review of 1785 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1785 Inn
Ranked #15 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I want to start by saying that I booked this Bed and Breakfast via Expedia. Me and my husband arrived at the Inn around 3 o'clock on a very hot June afternoon, and we were taken for a tour by the Male Innkeeper ( I don't remember his name) the Inn looked like it needed a fresh coat of paint and a good cleaning, seems like it has been redecorated in years. We were shown to our very tiny room with which seemed to be the tiniest ceiling fan I have ever seen! I assumed that the ceiling fan was on because they hadn't yet started the Air Conditioning. The walls had chipped paint and the soap dish in the bathroom was falling off. I noticed after a few minutes that there wasn't an A.C in the room. I found the female Innkeeper ( can't remember her name either) and I told her that I had a heart condition and I didn't realize there wouldn't be an A.C. in the room, she then said " Well there's a ceiling fan!" I told her that wasn't exactly the same as an A.C.I asked her why it was advertised on the sign out front that they have A.C. and she said 2 out of the 17 rooms don't have A.C. I asked if we could switch rooms she said we couldn't because they were completely booked. I asked her if we could get a refund and try to find another room and she said we couldn't because we booked thru Expedia.She just didn't seem to care about the problem. I tried to get in touch with Expedia and since the Inn had such horrible wi fi I couldn't get through to them so we had to either stay the night or lose $150 if we left. Me and my husband stayed in the " living room" as long as we could because the A.C. was on there ( barely) and it was better then having to sit in our 80 degree room.. The only saving grace of this whole nightmare was the waitress Jenny that served us breakfast in the morning. We will never go back. the female Innkeeper couldn't care less about my heart condition or the fact that me and my husband spend a very uncomfortable night in their outdated and somewhat unclean Inn. With all the wonderful Bed and Breakfast in North Conway do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: None see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bluedaisy1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Visited the inn as part of a "bike the Whites" package biking program. The drinks were tasty and original and at the time, the vat of vodka soaked-fruit by the bar provided a very fun way to cap off a day of biking. Very charming. Upscale. Better suited for couples than families.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliverHolidayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The inn keepers are great. The rooms are good. Ours was a little cold due to where it was located. The day we were there they got over 8 inches of fresh snow. We went out and cross country skied right outside there door. Your stay comes with free cross country ski passes for the trails outside there door. The breakfast is fabulous. We had a waffle with strawberries with fresh whipped cream and local syrup. Another great perk is they do have a bar on site where they can serve, beer, wine and some spirits. Defiently would stay here again. Common areas were still decorated for the Holidays and were so cute.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djkaitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We have been visiting the 1785 Inn since we moved from there in 1992.
First we enjoyed our wedding reception in 1987 and have been returning once or twice a year.
Becky's inimitable baking, Charlie's expertise in wine and hosting, all within its beautiful decor are legendary with all their visitors.
Also, xc skiing can be enjoyed on its property!
It is a treasure and one that should be experienced by all!

Katheryn and Denis
Chester, Vt

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katherynchasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I stayed at the inn for one night as part of a New Jersey tour. I don't usually stay in B&Bs, so I don't have a lot of comparables. I enjoyed my stay. The the room was comfortable, if a bit dated (there was a tanning lamp in the bathroom! How cool.)

What made this stay charming was the warm welcome of Charlie, the inn keeper (and owner, I think?). He made a fire in the cozy living room and brought us glasses red wine to enjoy while doing some work. Now that's some good New England hospitality for you! The location is great. We had an amazing mountain view while enjoying fresh apple turnovers and eggs Benedict for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pushplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
6 km away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,435 reviews
4.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
4 km away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
2.7 km away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
563 reviews
2.4 km away
Eastern Slope Inn
Eastern Slope Inn
#11 of 25 in North Conway
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1785 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1785 Inn

Address: 3582 White Mountain Hwy, At the Scenic Vista Overlook, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5114
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: RM433 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1785 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1785 Inn is located in an historic building (built by Revolutionary War veteran) at a famous scenic overlook in the White Mountains (the 7th most photographed nature scene in the US). A travel guide newsletter recently called it "One of the top 15 views in the world from a hotel or inn." The 1785 Inn provides comfortable lodging in a clean/homey atmosphere with friendly service. A delicious full breakfast is provided to overnight guests and the inn also has a friendly pub open every night for lodging guests and their friends. On six acres with plenty of space and trails to enjoy the scenery & outdoors, or go swimming or skiing, depending on the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your 1785 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1785 Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing