We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kearsarge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kearsarge Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“As good as it gets.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stay at small town inns often and I have to say, the Kearsage Inn is about as good as it gets. BEAUTIFUL property, completely redone and updated to very high standards. Our room had beautiful casegoods, high-end bedding & rugs, modern tile bathroom with double sink, tile tub and shower, etc. etc. We had a couple hours of downtime and found ourselves spending it relaxing in padded wicker chairs on the large porch--wonderful! The inn does not have the personal touch of a B&B with on-premise owners, but there was someone on duty all day so we never felt abandoned. Location is excellent...about a block off North Conway's main street. If you're a traveler that likes having breakfast at the inn, then there's one downside: the morning offerings are limited to coffee and tea. But given everything else that the Kearsage had to offer, I was more than willing to walk a half block to get a scone and a latte.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    80
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
176
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Found this one by pure chance. I needed a convenient, comfortable and reasonable accommodation for a 4 night stay. I found it here.
The upside: Very charming inn, with large rooms (deluxe or Luxury) and bathrooms. Mine had a patio deck. Tucked away on a side street, it is only half a block from the main drag. Only seconds to restaurants and main attractions. Very private. While this Inn has 16 rooms, I rarely saw anyone.
Downsides:
The only notable downside is that while this Inn bills itself as a "B&B," they don't provide the second "B." For breakfast, you are on your own. They provide coffee, tea and OJ...that's it. For the price they charge, its a little off-putting not to have a modest breakfast at least included in the price, but the comfortable room, convince to the center of town and privacy made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World53Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at Kearsarge in Fall 2010 while visiting Story Land.

First the positives - It has very good location, room and bath are big and clean.

Now the negatives -

- We made the reservation over the phone. The lady offered us the room with a view for $99 ($89 + $10 for child). First off there was no view from the room; unless you stepped on a chair and poked your head out. Second, she charged my credit card for $119. I called her to ask her for the difference. Her response - "We never ever give that room for $89".

- The fireplace in the room was on and there was no way to turn it off. Again we told the lady but she said they are having trouble turning it off and we could set it to minimum setting and just crank the AC up. Now that would have been fine if the AC wasn't pointed right where your head would be. So while sleeping your head would be freezing and your feet would be warm.

- Lastly the fridge is located in their storage room, it is not fun to step inside that room. Other reviewers have already talked about non-existent juice and breakfast. A tiny microwave is in the office which is closed after 7pm.

Not recommended especially families.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler06074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

It was pouring rain when we were lead to our refuge for the night... one half of a large cabin in the back of the main building. Huge well-maintained room, electric fireplace, very comfy queen bed, nice bathroom with deep bathtub, far from the street and very quiet, and with a full-size horse replica next to the bed (!!!): we truly felt spoiled and we only paid $69 (weekday rate) for the night. Coffee and juice available in the morning. There is an easy-to-miss bakery next door (in a small mall in the back of the nursing home) which offers great complements at a very reasonable price, including huge muffins and three kinds of croissants. Any future visit to North Conway will include the Kearsarge Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at the Inn for one night passing through on our New England Adventure. The room was absolutely beautiful, very clean, the bathroom was huge. I loved how the room was decorated. The staff was wonderful and very helpful on places to visit in the town which was a short walking distance away. Waking up in the morning sitting on the beautiful covered porch drinking our delicious coffee was a perfect way to start our day the following morning. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.1 km away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 km away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 km away
Eastern Slope Inn
Eastern Slope Inn
#10 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearsarge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearsarge Inn

Property: Kearsarge Inn
Address: 42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price range (per night): RM323 - RM850
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kearsarge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kearsarge Inn is a modern rendition of one of the regions first grand hotels. Antique furnishings, luxurious bedding, fireplaces and private baths distinguish each of the Inn's suites. Nestled in the heart of North Conway village, the Inn is within walking distance of site seeing, shopping, fine dining and a variety of outdoor activities. Our location and size make the Kearsarge Inn the perfect place for weddings, special groups, rehearsal dinners or reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kearsarge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kearsarge Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing