We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Strawbery Banke
Ranked #3 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely inn”
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We spent a night here in late September. The Inn is lovely and our room (room 4) was great with sofa and 4 poster bed. Good location close to town, no need to drive anywhere. Excellent location for visiting Strawbery Banke itself. The owner was helpful. Only downside was no choice over breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NLD28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    16
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

The Inn at Strawbery Banke is in an excellent position, close to the center of town and close to the Strawbery Banke museum, which has to be the main attraction of Portsmouth.

The Inn is very pleasant - clean and tidy, with a nice sitting room and great breakfasts.

For the price paid, the rooms are a little small, especially the bathrooms, where the shower was one of the poorest I've come across in the USA, with a very weedy supply of water.

  • Liked — Location, breakfasts
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

It's a nice inn. The room was comfortable and the breakfast good.... but we had a problem and it wasn't really resolved with much of a view to customer service. The problem was that because of a family issue, the owner had several family members staying at the inn and the family group were up late, making a lot of noise, well within earshot of our room. When we commented on this the next day, there wasn't a great deal of sympathy... in fact I got the feeling that we were supposed to feel sympathetic about the family issue they were having. The owner knocked a little off the bill, but the general attitude left an unsavory taste in the mouth and we won't go back to this inn.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Excellent location: Right next to the "mini-Williamsburg" of Strawbery Banke, and in an "old enough" house that we really felt a part of it all. Close enough to restaurants and the rest of Portsmouth that you don't need to drive, yet far enough from the "center of the action" for peace and quiet.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

My husband I stayed at the Inn this past weekend and truly enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect if you enjoy walking. We didn't need to get in the car at all during the course of the weekend. Restaurants, coffee shops, and little stores are all close by. Sally was a wonderful host. Breakfast was amazing. Her homemade bread was delicious.

Our room was a nice size although there was very limited closet space. There was a stall shower which can be annoying but the room and the entire Inn were extremely clean. My only complaint was the location of our room which was right next to the front door. When other guests were coming and going it was a bit noisy when the old door was being shut but we didn't spend much time in our room and didn't feel the need to ask for a room change.

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again at the Inn at Strawberry Banke.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noisy room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank momtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.4 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
478 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.0 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Strawbery Banke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Strawbery Banke

Property: The Inn at Strawbery Banke
Address: 314 Court St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4642
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): RM429 - RM643
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast in an early 1800s sea captain's house in historic Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Strawbery Banke Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing