We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$259
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Residence Inn
US$259
US$249
View deal
SAVE US$10
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$259
US$249
View deal
SAVE US$10
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Expedia.comUS$249
Hotels.comUS$249
FindHotelUS$249
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
366
172
47
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
366
172
47
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk within walking distance full kitchen valet parking portsmouth downtown free breakfast street parking location is great king suite upon check new hampshire inns ri wentworth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2020

We spent 3 nights during Christmas time. We were lucky to find street parking (Free after 8PM)
Fantastic location, clean and spacious room. Gina ( Front desk) was a gem. Very friendly and welcoming.
Great amenities, no housekeeping service (Only per request due to covid) which was fine.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frenchsisters87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

We are Marriott Bonvoy card holders and didn’t want our “free nights” to go to waste so we choose to do a two night stay in Portsmouth. Being from Connecticut, there’s not many places we can go without major concern from employers during this time but New Hampshire, no questions asked :-) and we can see why their numbers have maintained relatively low. Masks are required pretty much everywhere and people seemed very respectful of that. The hotel was clean and nicely updated. The common areas on the main level would be wonderful for family gathering, although we did not do that this time for the obvious reasons. I will say that the rooms are smaller than most Residence Inns that we stay in, but well appointed and the bathroom is a good size. We had no problem with noise like I read from other reviews but I’m also afraid that we may have been the ones making the most noise with our 2.5 year old who doesn’t know how to walk without stomping feet and plays rough with his trucks. We made dinner our first night here and had everything we needed. We had a 1 bedroom King room. No oven, but that’s fine. The fridge was nice and modern and set to a good temperature when we arrived. As people that run hot, we enjoyed that we could actually open the windows. We ordered breakfast from The Friendly Toast on a recommendation from a friend (which we pass on to reader’s here, especially the Some like it Tot) but my husband got coffee here and said they were making breakfast sandwiches to order, nice touch from the regular breakfast bar and keeps down on exposure. We felt COVID precautions were handled nicely and felt safe the whole time and I’m 7 months pregnant. Kudos to the staff here!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank thisbjessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

My family and I were here for one night to have a quick getaway. Check in was easy and our two rooms, which I requested ahead of time to be on the same floor, was accommodated. Rooms were very clean and updated. My only two issues are the sensors that control ac and heat. When sleeping and you’re not moving around the room everything shuts off creating a stuffy uncomfortable sleeping environment. This definitely impacted our quality of sleep. Also the walls are paper thin. I could hear the guest next door entire speaker phone conversation at 8am clear as day. You’d swear she was in the same room. This would prove troublesome if someone had young children staying here. Your neighbors will hear everything!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020

We stayed here several years ago and had a great experience. This trip we decided to try something else. We checked into the AC which was filthy...checked out. The Sheraton is outdated and the staff was nasty. The Residence Inn was fabulous. Amazing location, VERY clean, very safe with covid. The rooms are spacious and clean and for the price, it is the very best in downtown Portsmouth.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank spin4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2020 via mobile

We read all the good reviews so did not mind to spend 35000 points for the night. What a disappointment. Arrived at about 1:30PM. The guy at the front desk was quiet arrogant and not helpful at all. Asked about the parking options around the hotel. He did only point out the hotel parking which we took ( later saw plenty of public options very close by... ). Despite my gold membership level he did not offer check in at that time. Asked how long the wait would be and he only referred to the 4pm check in time. Asked if he could text or call when the room is ready and he referred to the mobile check in on the app. After nothing showed up on the mobile app we decided to return around 3:30. Lots of guest were checking in and our room was ready. No apology just “we were probably busy and did not check the computer “ ( different staff).
Happy that the room was facing the parking lot in the back ( front is a very busy street with many construction trucks passing by ). Room was spacious and modern with a huge bathroom.
Except the bedroom there are hardwood floors installed. Looks good but a mistake. There were kids constantly running around in the room above us and the dishes in our kitchen were constantly clanking until early night and then from about 7:00am next morning. When we entered we noticed that the room was very dusty and not clean. Stains all over tables ,doors, mirrors... after the front desk experience we decided to stay and use our Clorox wipes for everything we might touch. Sorry but in Covid-19 times the rooms should be especially clean.
Bed was uncomfortable and the AC noisy. Coffee was missing ( front desk suggested to pick up rather than wait to be delivered to room ) and in the morning we realized that there was no body lotion as well. Breakfast bag useless. Go to friendly toast close by. We got a great breakfast there and the staff was super friendly ( they have a patio in the.back if you don’t want to sit inside). Bottom line we had a terrible stay. At least the lady at the checkout desk apologized and promised to return some points ( turned out to be 1000 which is a joke for the 35000 stay).
If you would like to stay in this area of Portsmouth there is a AC hotel across the street which we would try next time.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank db08cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews