We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Roll!”
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Ranked #24 of 215 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Restaurant details
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Reviewed 17 July 2018

First stop on our New England tour and our first Lobster Roll. What a great first pick. The food was delicious and the lobster roll was stuffed! Great atmosphere with picnic tables inside and out. It was busy but our wait was short. Would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 137JenniferB137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachPlum, Manager at The Beach Plum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thanks for the review for our award-winning lobster rolls and the rest of our menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018

Four of us had an informal supper here and were very pleased with the freshness, flavor, and quality of the fish. The Salmon sandwich contained a large fillet that was quite tasty and cooked just right. We ate outside at a picnic table and enjoyed the informal vibe. We were somewhat surprised by the location. The Beach Plum is not at the beach and the outdoor area overlooks a parking lot. However , the quality of the food made up for the lack of a view. The place was packed and we know why.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachPlum, Manager at The Beach Plum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thanks for visiting and the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff who are customer service focused.
I always order the strawberry feta salad, yum! And lunch/dinner is topped off with a delicious ice cream.
I love this place!

Thank tdrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachPlum, Manager at The Beach Plum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Glad you love our delicious salads and 78 flavors of ice cream!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

My girlfriend and I have dined at the Beach Plum more than a dozen times since last summer. Each and every visit has proven to be well worth our 90 mile round trip drive to get the best lobster roll and fried clams anywhere. The restaurant is clean, bright and airy and has a nice outdoor seating area. Dining-in is at large picnic tables in the dining room surrounded by large windows. The staff are friendly, knowledgable and always answer any questions you may have about your selections. They ask you how you want your selections prepared and in the case of lobster rolls, you can have it any way you want, with/without mayo, with/without hot butter, cold or warm. I have never found a restaurant that considers the customer’s choice most important in the selection process. The lobster rolls come in 3 different sizes accompanied by fries, sweet potato fries or chips. And each size is generously proportioned with tail and claw meat (mostly tail meat). The fried clams are incredible. Generous portions of tender clams lightly battered and deep fried to a golden tan color that taste amazing. Of course, if you have room left for dessert they also have a large selection of amazing ice cream, which we have tried on more than one occasion. It’s delicious and a great way to finish a fantastic meal.

If you’re in the mood for some great lobster and clams, other seafood and non-seafood selections, than get in your car, hop on your motorcycle, Uber or Lyft your way as soon as possible to the Beach Plum in Portsmouth NH as soon as possible to enjoy the best seafood you’ll ever taste. I guarantee you will be happy and well satisfied that you did. I hope to see you there on our next visit, which I guarantee will be very soon.

Regards,
MBR

1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachPlum, Manager at The Beach Plum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate you coming to visit us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Their menu is extensive and extremely reasonably priced with large portions. The lobster bisque is loaded with meat and was the best we had on our stay in the area. We also got the fried pickles (pictured) which were a massive portion and served with a creamy dill sauce. I recommend you stop in!

1  Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachPlum, Manager at The Beach Plum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for visiting and reviewing! Glad you loved your meal! Try our homemade onion rings and 78 flavors of ice cream as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing