We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$179
AscendUS$179
Hotels.comUS$179
eDreamsUS$179
Expedia.comUS$179
StayForLongUS$200
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
755
312
81
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
755
312
81
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast downtown portsmouth yogurt new england hard boiled eggs off the highway nice pool minute drive motel lobby microwave kittery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2020

This is a 1970’s motel, it has been upgraded and is clean, but make no mistake, it’s a roadside motel. The bed was comfortable and the room had an efficiency kitchen, I assume that made it a suite. The breakfast was not available b/c of Covid, so you just picked from the little shop they have in the foyer. I don’t stay in motels, so I would not stay here again. The price was $183/night which was WAY high for the room. It should have rented for about $100.

Room tip: Chose a hotel downtown Portsmouth.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

We appreciate that you took the time to tell us how you feel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

The room was nice and well maintained. With a great location not too far from the heart of Portsmouth. The staff was kind and helpful. We had a nice chit chat with them about the area upon check in. Breakfast was the small staples but they had a waffle machine with fresh fruit, so it was tasty.
I was very pleasantly surprised for an Inn. We will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shannonouellette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time in the Portsmouth area, please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

Ron and the staff are great people. Very helpful and make you feel like you are at home. Room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. It was nice having both a refrigerator and a microwave in your room. Nice little market in the office.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rleary1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you for your feedback. I will share your comments with the team as this will serve as great encouragement. I am happy to see you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

First, this a MOTEL not a hotel. It is not the place that's pictured on the website AT ALL. The room we had was tiny and very very dark. The bathroom was literally the size of closet. From the window in our room if you could stretch and look over the cement wall, you were looking at the car dealership across the street.

The lobby does not always have someone there so some days if you check in after 4pm you have to call someone (I think some evenings are 8pm).

We paid full rate for our room which is priced like a nice hotel in that area. I would have been better at Quality Inn that costs less and doesn't pretend it something its not.

The "free breakfast" was coffee, juice, fruit and various muffins wrapped up. We didn't partake in it but that isn't want most hotels, that charges these prices, call breakfast, even during COVID.

The only reason this isn't a 1 is that the receptionist gentleman when we check in was nice and told us they didn't have any other rooms. It seemed clean too.

We heard people walking over us at 3am and different times.

Unless you're active walkers, which we are, this is not walking distance to the center of Portsmouth.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shields_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

Do not fool your selves folks this is nothing more than a road side motel, right off the high way. They have a great photographer, because nothing is nearly as nice as it looks in the picture. The lobby is the nicest part of the motel. It is a 10 minute drive into Portsmouth, not a walk, like we were led to believe. Also beware, they only clean your room on the day you arrive and the day you check out. The office closes at 4pm-so if you need extra towels for your uncleaned room-you will have to do without. We paid extra for a room with a kitchen, which we did not get. The man at the front matter of factly told me they didn’t have any available. My advice—RUN-DON’T WALK AWAY FROM THIS MOTEL!!!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 393celestew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews